Layers of Cake #1: Happy Anniversary Cake

August 17, 2008 at 10:17 pm 13 comments

I am “this” close to saying alot of curse words. %^$&*#@$

I spent all morning looking for my cake pictures so that I could blog about it for a new blog event, Layers of Cake. I found some of them but for some reason I can’t find the “final product” pictures. I don’t know if I erased them off my camera before I uploaded them or what? AAARRRGGHHHH!

When Laurie (Yes, the same Laurie who runs my Tuesdays with Dorie baking group) announced her new event I thought she was crazy was excited for it. I am more of a cupcake girl but ever since making Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake for a previous Daring Bakers Challenge, I’ve been more intrigued about layer cakes.

T and I celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary exactly 3 weeks ago. We saved our top tier for about… 2 days. LOL. T ate all of it except for 1 slice that we eventually wrapped up and saved for our 1 year anniversary.


Since I had no expectations that our 1 year slice would be anything but yucky I decided to make a red velvet cake for our anniversary instead.

Side note: The slice was actually still really good after 1 year in our freezer. Go figure! Ziplock rules!

Recipe and more pictures after the cut.

Red Velvet Anniversary Cake
w/ Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting

(Recipe adapted from Terri Wahl & PioneerWoman | photos from me!)

Makes 1- 8inch round cake (split in half for 2 layers)

INGREDIENTS

For cake
1-1/2 cups AP flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
3 tsp cocoa
1 cup sugar
4 tbsp butter
1/2 cup oil
2 eggs
3 tbsp red food coloring (I used 2 tbsp)
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp vinegar
2/3 cup buttermilk

For VB cream cheese frosting
8oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 vanilla bean, scraped
1 lb (~4 cups) powdered sugar, sifted

For chocolate curls
3oz semi-sweet chocolate
1 tbsp shortening

INSTRUCTIONS
To make cake—
Preheat oven to 350F.

Butter cake pan and line bottom with parchment paper. Flour pan. Shake off the excess flour. Sift dry ingredients together.

Cream the butter and oil together with the sugar, about 2 minutes. Add the eggs, vanilla, food coloring, vinegar and mix well. Alternate mixing in dry ingredients and buttermilk ending with the dry ingredients.

Fill cake pan about 2/3 full. Bake for about 25-30 minutes or until tester comes out clean.

Let cool before frost.

To make frosting—
Whip the butter and cream cheese together in a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until creamed. Add vanilla beans to powder sugar. Gradually add powdered sugar/vanilla bean mixture to bowl. Scrape down the bowl as needed.

To make chocolate curls—
Place three ounces of chocolate and shortening in microwave safe bowl.

Microwave on high for about 30 secs. Stir to combine.

Turn a metal baking sheet upside down and pour the melted chocolate on. Using a flat spatula, spread the chocolate in a thin layer. Put baking sheet into the freezer until chocolate is solid, about 5-10 minutes.

[NOTES: Take heed about turning your baking sheet upside down. I forgot that step and when I scraped the pan, it scratched off my non stick coating! Oops! Oh well. Excuse to buy a new one! Muhahaha.]

Using a spatula, scrape the chocolate to make curls.

To assemble cake—
Divide the cake in half using a cake leveler (or serrated knife). Turn the top layer upside so you have an even surface to frost for your top layer.

Pipe a dam on the first layer and spread frosting. Place the 2nd layer on top. Frost the whole cake with a crumb coat. Put in the frig to firm up the crumb coat before adding more frosting.

Garnish with chocolate piping and chocolate curls on the side.

Unfortunately at this point you’ll have to imagine how it all comes together b/c I can’t find the rest of my pictures… sniff

Husband rating: A+
He loves red velvet and squealed when he saw the cake I made for our anniversary. (Ok maybe not really squealed but he wanted to. LOL) He really loves this RV recipe and ate more than 1 phat slice!

Wifey rating: A+
I am not as big of a fan of RV as my husband (its growing on me thought) but I LOVE that vanilla bean cream cheese frosting. Yum!

Entry filed under: Layers of Cake. Tags: .

NFR: Cancer. Bunday Monday

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  August 18, 2008 at 2:54 am

    oh man–i hope you find the rest of those pictures, because that looked like it was shaping up great! really nice piping!

    Reply
  • 2. Megan  |  August 18, 2008 at 8:06 am

    I’m on your side – I don’t *get* red velvet cake, but it wouldn’t stop me from eating it. It sure looks good, though!

    Reply
  • 3. zebe912  |  August 18, 2008 at 8:57 am

    I hate hate hate when that happens…or when I just forget to take a picture in the first place because I’m late for delivery or whatnot. It drives me mad.

    When you do your “letter tracing” did you use chocolate or royal icing? I always write directly on the cakes and have only heard about doing the tracing on wax paper.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  August 18, 2008 at 10:07 am

    STEPH, I hope I can find them too! Thanks about piping. Its my favorite part of cake-ing.

    MEGAN, Yeah I like it but I don’t get the hype about it like some people. My husband goes bonkers for it. Weird. haha.

    ZEBE, I am really sad about losing those pictures. I spent so much time taking it from different angles b/c I am crazy like that. I use melted chocolate for my piping words. I like it b/c I have a fear of messing up the cake with my hideous freehand writing if I do it directly on the cake.

    Reply
  • 5. slush  |  August 18, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Its beautiful! You did a fab job CB! I am jealous and slightly intimidated, too. It will really suck, to suck at my own event. LOL

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  August 18, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    SLUSH, thanks chica! Dont be intimidated. Have fun with it. I have so much more appreciation for layer cakes now. I am already thinking about what I wanna do next month for my friend’s birthday! I have no doubts that you could ever suck at any baking event oh fearless leader ;)

    Reply
  • 7. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  August 18, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I love all the pictures that are here! I’m sorry the others were lost, I’m sure it was gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  August 18, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    HOLLY, thanks hun. I am still looking for them but I have no idea why I can’t find them. Ah well… there’s always next month’s cake right?

    Reply
  • 9. Mara  |  August 19, 2008 at 9:10 am

    it’s fabulous, darling!!!! happy belated…and i love the anniversary cake…awesome recipe! :) i am still thinking about my layers of cake entry though i do have one i could submit, i might just make it again though it was so good.

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  August 19, 2008 at 9:11 am

    MARA, It really is a great recipe! Its my current go-to! I can’t wait to see your entry. It will blow mine out of the water. I am sure of it ;)

    Reply
  • 11. Hannah  |  March 27, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    My parents 32nd anniversary is coming up and i want to buy or bake them a cake. I think i’ll have a go at making this one. Don’t worry i have left all the smoke alarms on for that day. LOL.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  March 28, 2009 at 6:16 am

    HANNAH, How sweet is that? Your parents will totally love that you made them an anniversary cake. At least I would be tickled if someone did that for me. GL and keep the emergency numbers close ;) Let me know how it turns out!

    Reply
  • 13. Hannah  |  April 1, 2009 at 1:21 am

    Hey everyone…Hannah took a vacation..she died yesterday…
    APRIL FOOL!!!
    Tomorrow is the 2nd and it’s my parents anniversary. I didn’t have time to make a cake but i am going to buy one for 55 stinking dollars. Anyway i have also made them a canvas saying “Happy Anniversary”…
    Even though i couldn’t make the cake this time i will keep the recipe as i still want to make it..with emergency numbers close by..Thanks CB.
    Tata

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,099 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


