NFR: Cancer.

August 16, 2008 at 6:41 pm 8 comments

Its only one word but it always brings out a strong emotion deep in my chest when I hear it.

While browsing some of my favorite blogs via my google reader, I came across The Cupcakery‘s blog that made me pause and contemplate the fragilty of life.

It was a freckle that was later diagnosed as skin cancer.

I do not know her real first name (Hello my name is Clara, whats your name?) but she’s been on my favorite blogs’ list for a long time and my blog is on her list of favorites too. Even though we’ve never had a chance to directly chat, her latest blog entry has given me a little window into her life beyond cupcakes and unfortunately a similarity that I wish we didn’t share. Cancer.

1 in 5 Americans will develop skin cancer. The percentage of women under age 40 with basal cell carcinoma has tripled in the last thirty years, while their rate of squamous cell cancer has increased four-fold.

No I do not have cancer so I can not even pretend to understand what it feels like or what thoughts run through your head. But my mother-in-law “had” skin cancer – squamous cell. Fortunately she noticed it early and they were able to excise it. Her recovery was slow but successful. Now her doctor has told her that she has pre-cancerous cells forming within her skin on her face and will be going in for an acid face wash to remove a few layers of skin next week to kill the pre-existing cells. When I found out I gasped. I tried to muffle the sound that escaped my mouth to no avail. It came out faster than I could push it back. Did she say… acid wash?? Isn’t that something you do to your pool not your face? She was more matter-a-fact than I was and explained that some woman get acid face washes volunteerily to remove wrinkles. SERIOUSLY? This is not an easy procedure. Its painful, slow healing and requires strong pain meds to endure. I guess I just don’t understand the price some women pay for beauty when some women have no choice for their health.

Since reading TC’s blog entry, my eyes are open wider than before. I hope that my readers will check out what she wrote and read/click the links and information that she has given at the end. One of the links was a skin cancer awareness bracelet.


Melanoma Bracelet
$4.94
Join SpaFinder to raise awareness about early melanoma detection & prevention by buying an “I Will Reflect” bracelet. It changes color when exposed to harmful UV rays. SpaFinder is a proud sponsor of the Skin Cancer Foundation.

Even though its a small price to pay, I wanted to do my part to help sponsor the Skin Cancer Foundation so I bought 3 bracelets. One for myself, one for my mother-in-law and one for… you?

Me?
Yes! You.

If you would like to support skin cancer awareness with me by wearing a bracelet, please leave me a comment and tell me why skin cancer awareness is important and/or share any personal stories you have.

Please only 1 comment per person by Friday, August 22 @ 12pm EST. Winner to be chosen by random generator soon after.

Wear sunscreen. Protect your skin.

Thanks for reading.

Entry filed under: Not Food Related.

Foodie Question of the Day Layers of Cake #1: Happy Anniversary Cake

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zebe912  |  August 17, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Thanks for posting this. I’m paranoid about bumps & moles and such, and get the opposite brush off from my doctor. Just more confirmation that I need a new one!

    I’m not as good about sunblock as I probably should be, but I also have to get just the right balance of sun so that my body can make enough vitamin D for me. Tricky stuff, but I can imagine that bracelet would be a quick & easy reminder. I have a friend I would love to give it to. Pale, fair, burns all the time, and yet always forgets to put on sunblock. Silly girl.

    Reply
  • 2. Julie  |  August 17, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    I agree, I’m glad you posted this. Skin cancer really is something that gets overlooked these days,and people think that it can never happen to them. Unfortunately I know it could happen to me. My mother when she was younger actually had to have the tip of her nose removed because of skin cancer.

    I have a lot of Irish blood in me, and like to say I’m “dayglow” pale. I burn INCREDIBLY easily so I am always careful to put on sunscreen etc. but with skin as fair as mine and strawberry blond hair I can still burn in about 15 minutes on a sunny day. I’ve already had three moles removed at various times in my life to be sure they weren’t cancer.

    Whether I win this draw or not is irrelevant. I am glad that you posted this to remind everyone that the danger does exist and it’s something to be aware of. Thanks Clara.

    Reply
  • 3. slush  |  August 17, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    I am terrified about skin cancer. My grandfather and grandmother had a couple spots removed, and my Dad had some moles removed. I have incredibly fair skin and I burn just thinking about the sun. I always, always, always put screen on myself and the kids. (Now, if only I could get Jaos to wear it more often.)

    Great post CB.

    Reply
  • 4. Tara  |  August 18, 2008 at 4:17 am

    I agree – skin cancer is serious stuff that some people do not take too seriously! I always cover myself with sunscreen to the max! (plus you know, im super pale so i burn super easy).

    Anyways, you dont have to put me in for the bracelet, im not a huge bracelet person, but i just wanted to 1) say i agree and 2) ask what you are doing this weekend?

    why? because im going to be in vegas aug 22-27. are you up for a road trip and come visit with meeeeeeee? i’d love to see you! hehehehe, but i completely understand if you cant with such short notice. think about it!

    Reply
  • 5. April  |  August 18, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Great post. Obviously you know this is a very important topic for me as I lost my father at age 21 to Squamous Cell Carcinoma. It was a long journey that ended the way it was meant to I guess but it doesn’t make it any easier.

    I am now insane about wearing big hats to the beach, loading on the sunscreen, no tanning beds, etc. Anything I can do to try to prevent it, I will do. My father was diagnosed in his mid 30’s so it’s quite scary for me. I have already had a mole removed due to a scare.

    Everyone needs to not only be more aware of what you can do to prevent skin cancer, but TO DO IT. People know everything they know yet still go lay in tanning beds on a normal basis and go to the beach with accelerator and no SPF. That is plain stupid in my book.

    Sorry to go on for so long. YOu know I am passionate about this one. : )

    Reply
  • 6. LyB  |  August 19, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    I’m not a sun person, meaning I burn, peel and then burn again! Needless to say, sunscreen and clothing to cover myself up are my best friends in the summer. You’re the sweetest to post about this to raise awareness and to have a give-away as well. Go you!

    Reply
  • 7. Jaime  |  August 19, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    i try to avoid sun exposure now but worry that my days basking in the sun are going to catch up on me (esp since i was on a swim team and practiced outdoors)

    i am all about raising awareness and getting people to wear sunblock and use self tanners instead of tanning beds

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  August 22, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    (This giveaway is now closed. Thanks for reading.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,059 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


