Foodie Question of the Day

August 15, 2008 at 11:12 am 22 comments

Been a little while since we had one of these right?

How did you come up with your blog name?

I love game shows. I suck at Jeopardy (T can kick my butt everytime!) but I rock at Wheel of Fortune. I always tell my brother that if we went on it together we’d be unstoppable! LOL. My favorite category is “Before and After”. Basically its 2 phrases or names joined by a common word that starts one and ends the other.

Since “I heart food” was already taken I decided to use that phrase and combine it with the popular phrase “food for thought” because I knew that my blog wouldn’t just be about food. Hopefully some things I write about would allow readers to pause, contemplate and relate to their own lives. Mental food if you will. HAHA. I kill myself sometimes.

Spill it. What’s your blog’s story?

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Monkey Bread Muffins NFR: Cancer.

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. food librarian  |  August 15, 2008 at 11:41 am

    I like food. I’m a librarian. I’m not that creative. Thus, the Food Librarian was born. :)

    Reply
  • 2. slush  |  August 15, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    i loathe my blog name. I didnt really like it when i started my blog, but i didnt think i would blog for long. thought it would be a passing phase. it wasnt and now i feel stuck. blah.

    Reply
  • 3. April  |  August 15, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Um…I like wine. A lot. I love it in fact. And I wanted to cook. So wine lovers cooking diary. I am a simple woman. LOL

    Reply
  • 4. Lori  |  August 15, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I noticed that I kept describing my husband’s cooking as luscious. It really is (and so is he!). And I just love that word, which is probably why I use it so much. I couldn’t believe lusciousfood was available!

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  August 15, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    FOODLIBRARIAN, simple, relates to you, easy to remember. Perfect name!

    SLUSH, change it up! If you don’t like it I might have to steal it. I love your blog name. ;)

    APRIL, wait wait? *You* like wine?? No way!! I thought we were friends. How could you hide that from me? HAHA!

    LORI, luscious is definitely a good word. Might have to add it to my extensive (yeah right!?) vocab too! “Totally” is so last year. LOL

    Reply
  • 6. Alanna  |  August 15, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    My hubs and I are both artists, and the blog is mainly about my/our adventures in the kitchen. Thus, Artist’s in the Kitchen was born.

    Reply
  • 7. Karen  |  August 15, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    after every meal i always say “i want something sweet”. i didn’t really realize i said it all the time but isupposedly it really annoys everyone. :)

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  August 15, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    ALANNA, makes sense!

    KAREN, haha funny story!

    Reply
  • 9. Nicole  |  August 15, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Well, back in highschool my best friend and I started a petition that potatoe should be spelled with an ‘e’ at the end because we liked it better. (Hey, we were strange!) Anyway, so I couldn’t think of a better xbox live gamer tag than sweetpotatoe. It stuck so I just decided to call my blog that, too.

    Reply
  • 10. Tanya  |  August 15, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    My blog name is one-half of a famous line from The Godfather, “Leave the gun, take the cannoli.” I don’t even really remember how I came up with that part as my blog name, but I liked it because it wasn’t an obvious name for a food blog, I love the movie, and I’m Italian. I suppose I picked a great one though because I get a ton of compliments!

    Reply
  • 11. Holly  |  August 15, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Well, I wish I could remember the name of the song but there is a song that has a chorus about “the funk phenomena” and I always substituted pheMOMena in a sarcastic way about myself (usually after I do something incredibly lame). So, PhMOMenon was born. Like Laurie, I don’t necessarily love it, but since I didn’t want to keep stumping myself for a name I went with it. It seems to work ok for me even though it didn’t sound food related. I just knew I really only wanted one word for mine. : )

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  August 15, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    NICOLE, so cute! I’ll join your potatoE petition! ;)

    TANYA, Very cool! I told T about your blog name and he loved it. He’s a Godfather fan. “I made him an offer he couldn’t refuse.” LOL

    HOLLY, I love your blog name! Its a great play on words. I think it fits you perfect. Don’t change it!

    Reply
  • 13. Beth  |  August 16, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    One of my brothers is quite random in that he likes to make up words. Sometime after my husband and I started dating, the word supple was born. It is the nickname my husband and brothers call each other. Supple + Delicious = Supplicious :)

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  August 16, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    BETH, supple? haha. Love your blog name.

    Reply
  • 15. zebe912  |  August 16, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    It depends on which blog. Adventures in my Kitchen was the first…boring. “My life in a Nuthou…nutshell” is pretty self explanatory. We had squirrels on our wedding cake and we like watching squirrels. I have a sign out front with squirrels on it that says “welcome to the nuthouse.” However, the blog isn’t about squirrels, but about my life, so “in a nutshell” made sense. The nut house part is just more accurate. Then there is “its trichy” which is my blog about Trichotillomania, or trich for short. Those of us who have it tend to make “trich” into all sorts of plays on words. I also like Run DMC and used to use their song “It’s Tricky” with some of my students in Detroit.

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  August 16, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    ZEBE, haha. Run DMC! Love that. (Now I have that song stuck in my head. Darn you!)

    ♫ It’s Tricky to rock a rhyme, to rock a rhyme that’s right on time
    It’s Tricky…it’s Tricky (Tricky) Tricky (Tricky) ♫ ♪

    Reply
  • 17. Kelly H  |  August 16, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Mine came out of a particularly frustrating day at work. On the job, I have to be very structured and methodical — which is not my natural way at all — and I had caught myself actually using phrases like “leverage our synergies.”

    After that, I started referring to my professional life as “Kelly in Captivity.” The blog — much more like “home” — naturally became “Kelly in the Wild.”

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  August 16, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    KELLY, aaawww sorry you feel captive by your job but its awesome that your blog is your release. I use my blog in the same way.

    Reply
  • 19. Jaime  |  August 19, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    i’ve always loved the science behind the food on alton brown’s good eats. but i knew my blog would be both about cooking and baking… more baking since i enjoy that more… i wanted something catchy or that rhymed so that’s how i came up with good eats ‘n sweet treats :)

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  August 19, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    JAIME, I love the science of food too. I guess its the science girl in me. I am with you. I like cooking but I LOVE baking! Love your blog name.

    Reply
  • 21. Jessica  |  August 22, 2008 at 7:16 am

    Such a great question – my blog name has changed names as I have changed. Read about it here.

    I think your title is great…even though I’m more of a Jeopary! person :)

    Reply
  • 22. CB  |  August 22, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    JESSICA, Thanks for the link! Great story. Lingua Franca=french language? Parlez-vous le français? or more like English is the common language of the world? I guess I don’t quite follow how you were using it as your blog name? Call me curious! Now I am intrigued! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,861 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


