TWD #25: Life is like an ice-cream cone…

August 11, 2008 at 9:37 pm 51 comments

Life is like an ice-cream cone…you have to lick it one day at a time. ~ Charles M. Shultz

I have fond memories of Charles Shultz for a couple reasons. The most obvious one is the Peanuts cartoon. Of course my favorite was Charlie Brown. All he wanted to do was kick the football but Lucy always screwed him over! Yeah I didn’t like her very much. LOL. The other less obvious reason is how Snoopy changed my life.

I remember when were still just friends, T had this wood bookend on his dresser that he made in Boy Scouts when he was really young. It was a carving of Snoopy laying across his dog house as was characteristic of him in many cartoons. One day T saw me looking at it and he told him the story of how his father helped him make it so he could earn his woodworking badge for Boy Scouts. Now you have to understand that I am a huge sap. I think I kinda melted into a puddle of sappiness when I saw the admiration and love from T’s eyes when he talked about his father. So I guess you could say, that day, Snoopy made me realize T was more than just a friend. ::cue violins and harps::

Alright alright. You didn’t come here for sappy love stories… You’re here for ice cream right?

Knock! Knock!
Who’s there?
Ice cream soda!
Ice cream soda who?
ICE CREAM SODA PEOPLE CAN HEAR ME!!!

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie bakers actually didn’t bake anything at all! Instead it was time to cool off in the summer heat with some Blueberry Ice Cream hosted by Dolores from Chronices of Culinary Curiosity. (You can find the original recipe on Dolores’ blog.) I like blueberries but I LOVE strawberries+lemon so I made a little switcharoo. YUM!

What I learned this week:
I never thought about making my own ice cream. I always thought it was something that only ice cream parlors and grocery stores could manufacture but now that I know how easy it is, I’ll be making more ice cream! Not sure if thats good or bad (for my hips)! LOL. PS. I love my KA ice cream maker attachment! I recommend it to all KA mixer owners!

Blueberry [Strawberry] Sour Cream Ice Cream


(Recipe adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (I used about 8oz of fresh strawberries)
1/3 cup sugar
pinch salt
zest and juice of 1/4 lemon (or lime) (I used juice and zest of 1/2 lemon)
3/4 cup heavy cream
3/4 cup sour cream

INSTRUCTIONS


Combine strawberries, sugar, salt and lemon zest/juice into a small saucepan.


Pour strawberry mixture into a blender and puree. Add heavy cream and sour cream and blend.


Pour custard into bowl and chill in the refrigerator.

[NOTES: I chilled for about 30 minutes, until cold to the touch.]


Pour chilled custard into ice cream maker and churn.


Scoop ice cream into a container and chill for about 2 hours.


Scoop into waffle bowl and …

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A-
T liked it but noticed the sour cream aftertaste since he’s not a sour cream fan and also said the lemon was a bit strong. But the lemon is my fault. I like lemon so I went a little nuts with the lemon juice.

Wifey rating: A
I didn’t think I was a big ice cream fan *gasp* but ice cream tastes SO goood when you make it yourself. I love the strawberries and lemon flavor combination.

Next week: Granola Grabbers page 82

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bunday Monday Monkey Bread Muffins

51 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly D  |  August 11, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Love Peanuts and loved your story. I am a sap myself. Now that you have made homemade ice cream you will make more. trust me.

    Reply
  • 2. Di  |  August 11, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I’m not normally a huge fan of fruit ice cream, but this week’s recipe may have changed my mind. Your strawberry looks delicious! I made raspberry, which also goes nicely with lemon. =)

    Reply
  • 3. foodlibrarian  |  August 11, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Looks great. I like that you used strawberries. I’ll have to try that next time!

    Reply
  • 4. Mara  |  August 11, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    It looks so nice and creamy..!! I couldn’t FIND our darn ice cream maker so I had to improvise, hence mine came out a little more like sorbet…but it was YUMMY. I need to get my KA back. *sob*

    Reply
  • 5. Cristine  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    I’ll have to try it with strawberries next time. Looks great!

    Reply
  • 6. rainbowbrown  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Hooray for the new ice cream attachment! I love Peanuts and am thrilled to hear it helped change someone’s life!

    Reply
  • 7. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  August 12, 2008 at 12:36 am

    the strawberry looks delicious! when i was tiny, i had a rather big stuffed snoopy doll that i dragged around all over the place and got totally grubby. he “mysteriously dissapeared” tho after his pom-pon nose fell off…i was heartbroken.

    Reply
  • 8. Natashya  |  August 12, 2008 at 4:51 am

    I love the waffle bowls and the ice cream. Great job. I am with you – I like the tartness.
    I like Peanuts too – we call Bella (our pug) Snoopy Vulture when she sits with a rigid spine and stares down at any puppy or cat who might have a toy she wants.

    Reply
  • 9. LyB  |  August 12, 2008 at 6:00 am

    I knew this would be great with other kinds of fruit! It looks delicious. :)

    Reply
  • 10. nancy/noe  |  August 12, 2008 at 6:34 am

    Your pictures are so pretty! and your substitutions sound perfect for your tastes… I couldn’t find my ice cream maker, so I wimped out and baked a rewind.

    Nancy
    The Dogs Eat the Crumbs

    Reply
  • 11. Megan  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Yum, strawberries and lemon – fantastic combo. But I agree, the sour cream flavor was a bit too strong.

    I really like the attachment for the mixer – I don’t have my big 6 qt KA anymore (sniff!), I traded it in for a Cuisinart 7qt! Yahoo! I wonder if they make the ice cream attachment for this model? Hmm, you’ve given me an idea!

    Reply
  • 12. Melissa  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Strawberry ice cream is my absolute favorite, so I am going to have to try this variation. Glad you all enjoyed it!

    Reply
  • 13. Landa  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Your ice cream looks superb. I may try it with the strawberries next time.

    Reply
  • 14. Mara  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:48 am

    hey cutie, i saw your note about Betty’s blog and google reader…try this link? maybe GR doesn’t like her vanity url.
    bettyheartcupcakes.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 15. ntsc The Art of The Pig  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:24 am

    We went with the cusinart, but it gets used a lot. Not that I need the calories.

    Reply
  • 16. Anne  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:42 am

    I got the cuisinart since it was such a smoking deal… but that KA bowl is sure pretty and the results look amazing! I love the strawberry lemon combo and might have to go make some right now. I do have some strawberries….

    Reply
  • 17. Teanna  |  August 12, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Not a big ice cream fan!??! That’s crazy talk! I’m glad you liked it— and I love the Snoopy story!

    Reply
  • 18. Marie  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Great job and wonderful entry! You had me from the first word and the pictures of your delicious creation sold me totally!

    Reply
  • 19. Michelle  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:24 am

    I love your pictures and what a great idea to put it into a waffle cone.

    Reply
  • 20. pamela  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:56 am

    First of all, I’m right there with you in a being a HUGE fan of the Peanuts gang. I make my kids suffer through the holiday cartoons, whenever I can. I LOVE them!! I wish I still had my Peanuts sheets. Anyhoo…about the ice cream. Nice job using strawberries. The lemon and strawberry sounds like a nice combo, and I might have to give it a try! Great job.

    Reply
  • 21. Christine  |  August 12, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Love your story! I’m not a big ice cream fan either, glad you liked it!

    Reply
  • 22. Kayte  |  August 12, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    Beautiful combination…and I am trying this soon. I love the color of the ice cream at the end…just perfectly pretty.

    Reply
  • 23. Lori  |  August 12, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    such a beautiful, delicate color your ice cream had! i want to try strawberry myself, and peaches too. both those flavors should go with sour cream. gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 24. uglydudefood  |  August 12, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    I’m not a big ice cream fan either, but this was to die for! Definitely a lot better than the prepackaged junk filled with artificial ingredients that hold it together. I plan on making some more homemade creams this weekend, and I might use your strawberry substitution. My girlfriend is allergic to blueberries and my family won’t touch anything you can’t dip in ketchup, so it’s up to me to finish all of the current batch.

    Love the entry! Keep it up, CB!

    Reply
  • 25. Erin  |  August 12, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Oh, I loved strawberries in mine. Yours looks so pretty in that waffle bowl. I really miss Charles Schulz. Thanks for the quote.

    Reply
  • 26. Beryl  |  August 12, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Looks gorgeous. I’m a big fan of strawberry ice cream.

    Reply
  • 27. Jessica  |  August 12, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Looks great! I’m sure the strawberries were an excellent substitution.

    Reply
  • 28. Caitlin  |  August 12, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I come for sappy love stories *and* ice cream. How about that?

    Reply
  • 29. Isa  |  August 12, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Though I came here for some ice cream, I enjoyed the story!
    I made mine strawberry (mixed with raspberries) too! Love your pictures :)

    Reply
  • 30. Erin  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    I love how you used strawberries! I’d love to try making strawberry ice cream.

    Reply
  • 31. Jaime  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    mmm i love strawberry ice cream too. great adaptation

    Reply
  • 32. Rigby  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    I think you have convinced me to try this again with strawberries! Sounds wonderful!

    Reply
  • 33. Shirlie  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Your post has me begging my husband to run out for waffle bowls! I love your idea and the strawberries sound like a great adaptation!

    Reply
  • 34. Susan  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Strawberries with lemon DOES rock! Sour cream does NOT.
    But you do. :)

    Reply
  • 35. melly~  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    thanks for stopping by!

    i’m a big sap too so i loved your story. and your ice cream! *sigh* it looks divine.
    i’m off to read more of your blog. first time here though i’ve seen you “around”. :)

    Reply
  • 36. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  August 12, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    It looks so pretty and pink! I can’t wait to tell your knock knock joke to my soon-to-be kindergarten boy tomorrow – he is going to seriously crack up!

    Reply
  • 37. Rachel  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    I love strawberry ice cream, too! But, you must must try this with blueberries, even if you use frozen. It’s really delish!

    PS Where’d you find that waffle bowl?
    PPS I just realized that I’ve been posting as racheypoo on everyone’s pages today. oops!

    Reply
  • 38. Betty  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    HAHA! I love the Schultz quote. You are too cool for school (pun intended). Good job with the recipe.

    Reply
  • 39. Wandering Chopsticks  |  August 13, 2008 at 12:53 am

    I love lemon so tart works for me. Your ice cream looks so rich and creamy. I tried making ice cream once and the results weren’t nearly as nice. But then, I didn’t have an ice cream maker either.

    Reply
  • 40. Heather Peskin  |  August 13, 2008 at 1:34 am

    Strawberry icecream is my favorite. Looks lovely.

    Reply
  • 41. Lynne  |  August 13, 2008 at 4:06 am

    I like your step by step photos and the strawberries look wonderful.

    Reply
  • 42. Hannah  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Strawberry lemon sounds like a really good combo!

    Reply
  • 43. mari  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Ohhhh…I’m jealous of your KA attachment, but as my ice cream maker is just a year old, I think it’ll be a while before I’m needing it’s replacement. Be warned homemade ice cream is addictive, pure and simple!

    Reply
  • 44. Liliana  |  August 13, 2008 at 7:46 am

    It looks so delicous and creamy! I am going to try with the strawberries next time. I ordered my KA ice cream bowl – can’t wait to get it!

    Reply
  • 45. Sharon - Butcher, Baker......  |  August 13, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Well I am glad to know that other berries work with this recipe. Loved the creaminess of this recipe.

    Reply
  • 46. howtoeatacupcake  |  August 13, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Sooo I was supposed to start TWD like 3 weeks ago, but I’m lazy… Actually not true. I’m way busy. :(

    Your ice cream looks FABULOUS!

    Reply
  • 47. JacqueOH  |  August 13, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    MMMmmm, Love the strawberry ice cream! I’ll bet it was even better than blueberry.

    I keep hearing about these KA ice cream attachments… I didn’t even know they had one.

    Reply
  • 48. Donna  |  August 13, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    WOW! Love your changes! It looks absolutely delish! Wish I had an ice cream maker now!

    Reply
  • 49. Cecilia  |  August 13, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Nicely done! Your ice cream looks great. I assume that the latest addition to your kitchen is everything you dreamed of?

    Reply
  • 50. quellia  |  August 14, 2008 at 4:12 am

    We should find you a Snoopy Snowcone Machine so you can make shaved ice too. :-)
    Great idea using the strawberries, tasty.

    Reply
  • 51. Dolores  |  August 14, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Awww, I love the Snoopy story. And you kept your ice cream attachment a lot cleaner than I did… I had blueberry goo everywhere. Your strawberry version looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


