To Cream or To Blend? Giveaway! WINNER!

August 5, 2008 at 8:54 pm 20 comments

Remember my cry for foodie help? Ice cream maker or immersion blender? Cuisinart or KA attachment?

I read all 66 comments (more than once) and changed my mind goodness knows how many times! After I decided that I’d get more use out of the ice cream maker (esp since the next TWD recipe is ice cream! Is that great timing or what?) than the immersion blender, I drove myself to Macys. I can’t tell you how long I stood in Macy’s kitchen section staring between the Cuisinart and KA ice cream attachment though. My head was shaking back and forth between the 2 boxes for a good 30 minutes! Fellow Macy’s shoppers probably thought I was a crazy person b/c I kept mumbling to myself all the advice from my comments.

So what did I choose?

KITCHENAID ICE CREAM ATTACHMENT!!

Isn’t she purdy?

I decided to get the KA attachment for a couple reasons.

1. I have a feeling if the Cuisinart ice cream maker isn’t out on the counter, it would stay in its dark cupboard abyss for a long time. (Don’t ask me where my bread machine is right now.)
2. The KA attachment is bigger (not that much bigger but bigger is better right?)
3. It was on sale!
4. I am addicted to all things KitchenAid.
5. I’ve been told that having 5 reasons is better than 4. (Isn’t that right Nikki?)

I am UBER excited to try it out. T got me Perfect Scoop by David Lebowitz and earmarked the Chocolate-Peanut Butter ice cream already. LOL. He’s so predictable!

Ok enough rambling. Now for what you’ve all been really waiting for right?

The winner is…

CONGRATULATIONS SAM! Please email me your info and I’ll get your prize in the mail ASAP! Happy shopping!

Thanks to everyone for playing! Come back soon now ya hear!

Entry filed under: giveaway.

TWD #24 I didn’t do it! ~ Bart Simpson Bunday Monday

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tanya  |  August 5, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I have that book! It’s really great. Try out the chocolate sorbet recipe. It’s so creamy and tastes more like ice cream than a sorbet.

    I really like that KA attachment. I sold my Cuisinart ice cream maker on eBay a couple of years ago because I wasn’t using it. I now kinda regret that decision. Does this attachment fit the Professional Series for KA? I think mine is 6 qts.

    Good luck with your ice cream!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  August 5, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    TANYA, This is how much I love you. I got off my arse and walked to my kitchen to get my ice cream maker instruction manual so I could answer your question. LOL. It gives instructions on how to assemble for both tilt head and bowl lift KAs. I know mine came with a little gimzo that attaches to the bottom of the bowl to fit any model so I am gonna say yes that it would work for yours. You have to get it! We can be KA ice cream attachment twins! haha

    Reply
  • 3. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  August 5, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Great pick, I love it! Very pretty!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  August 5, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    HOLLY, me too! I think I am in love. haha.

    Reply
  • 5. Liliana  |  August 6, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Congrats to Sam!

    After reading your post, I have decided to buy the ice cream bowl for my Kitchen Aid (it’s red too!) I already have a Cusinart ice cream maker so now I will use them both at the same time. YAY!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  August 6, 2008 at 7:50 am

    LILIANA, Red KA rules! Maybe someday I’ll get the Cuisinart if I have a bigger kitchen. Can’t have too many ice cream makers right? haha

    Reply
  • 7. Cassie  |  August 6, 2008 at 9:15 am

    On Sale???? I’m curious to know how much it was. I want a new ice cream maker, but I’m probably going to get the Cuisinart because it’s been cheaper everywhere I’ve seen it.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  August 6, 2008 at 9:28 am

    CASSIE, yeah! on sale! it was originally $100 but it was $69.99 last weekend! It was $20 more than the Cuisinart but I decided for the discount I wanted the KA more! You totally need an ice cream maker! Ice cream+cupcakes right?? YUM!

    Reply
  • 9. Kristina  |  August 6, 2008 at 11:57 am

    I’m so glad you chose the ice cream maker! I saw the Cuisinart at salvation army the other day and am hoping it’s still there tomorrow (thrifting thursday! lol) if not, I might just have to splurge for the KA.
    Now you have to get a vitamix! I swear that thing has changed my life! Well, it’s at least changed my kitchen life :D

    Reply
  • 10. Cecilia  |  August 6, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Congratulations on your latest buy! I’ve been wanting an ice cream maker for nearly a year, but my friends and family haven’t taken the hints. I think I’ll have to take matters into my own hands, but I’ll probably be going with the stand-alone ice cream maker. Does the KA make more ice cream because it’s bigger?

    Reply
  • 11. melly~  |  August 6, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    oooooo shiiiiinnnnnyyyyyy. :)
    love your choice!
    thanks for stopping by my blog. i’m excited to read more here.
    carry on!

    Reply
  • 12. Racheypoo  |  August 6, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Great choice! We LOVE our kitchenaid icecream attachment.

    Reply
  • 13. LyB  |  August 6, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    I have the KA ice cream bowl too! Woohoo! I love it, it works great. Just make sure it’s frozen solid before you decide to churn. :)

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  August 6, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    KRISTINA, salvation army?? omg! you must go get it! Don’t walk. RUN!

    CECILIA, haha. I say go buy yourself something nice. The KA is a 2 quart and the Cuisinart is a 1-1/2 quart. Not a huge difference but a little bigger.

    MELLY, I am a sucker for shiny things. HAHA.

    RACHEYPOO, ::butt bump for KA attachment twins::

    LYB, ::high five for KA attachment twins::. Good tip about freezing the bowl. I am still deciding what recipe to break it in with… Mmmmm

    Reply
  • 15. Dolores  |  August 8, 2008 at 10:19 am

    I’m also the proud owner of the KA ice cream maker bowl, and i LOVE it. Hardest part is finding freezer space for it. :)

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  August 8, 2008 at 10:21 am

    DOLORES, so true! I miscalculated how big the bowl would be but I made it work by eating all the ice cream pints in there to make room. LOL

    Reply
  • 17. Queen of the Click  |  August 11, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Great pic!

    Reply
  • 18. Jaime  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    awww shucks. sad i didn’t win :(

    Reply
  • 19. Suzy  |  August 13, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    ooh..now that I know the one part comes WITH the KA attachment…I might have to get that. *puts it on Christmas list*

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    JAIME, sorry love. More giveaways to come in the future though, k?

    SUZY, Yes! Definitely xmas list worthy! I love mine! I know you will too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


