TWD #23: I have a good excuse this time

July 29, 2008 at 3:39 pm 13 comments

I was doing my baking thang, whipping up this week’s TWD recipe – Summer Fruit Galette – when my building starting shaking like a jello mold and T comes running from the bedroom and pulls me into a doorway. OhMyGod.

EARTHQUAKE!

Late this morning, there was a 5.8 earthquake near my area. My internet and phone went down and I met some new neighbors when we evacuated our building. But my galette had to be halted. The dough is done, the inner circle outlined, the preserves have been applied but I hope you can forgive my tardiness. Looks like it will have to wait until tomorrow.

Thanks to all for text messages and emails. I am ok! My wedding pictures? Not so much. But nothing a new frame won’t fix. I hope all my fellow socal friends are safe esp some LA friends I have not been able to reach by phone yet.

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

NFR: ReMEMEber me Belated Bunday Monday

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  July 29, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Glad that everything is k. I will check back to see your next TWD creation. Take care!

    Reply
  • 2. Erin  |  July 29, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Just my luck, I was on a roadtrip to LA when the quake struck. Good thing I grew up in LA, it’s just business as usual, right? It’s always scary, that’s for sure.

    Reply
  • 3. mrsabybaby  |  July 29, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I was so worried about you! I am glad you guys are okay. Earthquakes are super scary!

    Reply
  • 4. Carol Peterman  |  July 29, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Good to hear you survived the quake with only minor damage. I hope the earth’s crust stays quiet and you are able to relax and get back to baking your galette crust.

    Reply
  • 5. Jen  |  July 29, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Be safe….I immediately thought of my cali knotties. Im glad you’re ok.

    Reply
  • 6. foodlibrarian  |  July 29, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Wasn’t that a doozy? I’m a native and that wasn’t fun! Later, I was listening to the CalTech press conference and it is considered a “moderate” earthquake by them…Um, didn’t feel like that as it keep rolling and rolling! Glad to hear that you are okay!

    Reply
  • 7. pamela  |  July 29, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    An earthquake is a pretty good excuse for sure. Glad that you are okay! Take care of yourself.

    Reply
  • 8. Linda  |  July 29, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    i’m LA based as well… it doesn’t matter how many earthquakes you experience…they’re never fun. i’m glad to hear that all is well on your end!

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly D  |  July 29, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    That is a pretty good excuse for being late! Glad you and your wedding pictures are OK.

    Reply
  • 10. Michelle  |  July 29, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    I’m glad you are a-ok. I heard from my whole fam in so-cal and it was such a relief. Hope you are doing well.

    What part of SoCal are you in?

    Reply
  • 11. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  July 29, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    So glad you are ok!

    Reply
  • 12. Julie  |  July 30, 2008 at 7:56 am

    So glad you’re alright!! I was definitely thinking about all you Cali girls yesterday.

    Reply
  • 13. Jaime  |  July 31, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    glad you are ok!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,309 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


