Bunday Monday (Happy Birthday edition)

July 21, 2008 at 1:21 am 13 comments

♪ Happy birthday to you
Happy birthday to you
Happy birthday dear OpieBun
Happy birthday to you…
and many more! ♪♫

Today is my french lop, OpieBun’s, 6th birthday! They grow up so fast. sniff This morning I surprised her with a few craisin treats and a bunny biscuit. Those are better than crack birthday cake to a bunny!

I know I usually keep my Bunday Mondays short and sweet but I thought for the special occasion I’d tell you a little about OpieBun.


then (L) and now (R)

Opie’s story after the cut.

I adopted Opie in November 2002. For me the term “adoption” isn’t what the masses define it as. Most people relate adoption of animals with rescues, but I think the word “adoption” that applies to people also applies to animals: To take into one’s family through legal means and raise as one’s own child. And that’s how I feel about Opie.

It was a bright day in November, when I made my way to my first rabbit show at the Pomona Fairgrounds. I wasn’t looking for a rabbit. I wanted to go to a rabbit show to enlighten myself on the many rabbit breeds that are out there and of course to be surrounded by bunnies as far as the eye can see! One of the first breeders I approached bred french lops and I just loved their size. I remember chatting with the breeder and learning a little more about the breed. I was quickly falling in love. She mentioned that the french lop judging would be happening soon in the judging area if I wanted to see alot more frenchies. I headed straight over there! I stood behind the line and watched the judging. My eyes were immediately drawn to a beautiful broken opal french lop. I watched as the judge disqualified her because she did not meet the standards set by the ARBA (she is missing the butterfly marking on her nose) but I leaned over and whispered, “Don’t pay any attention to him. I think you are beautiful.” The breeder must have heard me because she quickly said “Do you want her? If you give her a good home you can have her for free.” My eyes opened big in surprise and I didn’t know what to say at first. My response was kinda automatic and I heard myself say “uh no… no thanks.”

I spent the rest of the day walking around and enjoying all the different breeds; holland lops, mini rexes, mini lops, netherland dwarves, polish, tans, french lops… breeds of all kinds, but that sweet little french lop face never left my mind. After a couple more hours I was ready to go home. I walked slowly to my car still unsure about my decision to leave the french lop, but I eventually got in and drove away.

I was almost on the freeway ramp awaiting the 40 minute drive home when all the sudden I suddenly pulled my steering wheel to make a sharp U-turn and found myself coming back to the show! I quickly parked my car (luckily I didn’t have to pay for parking) and walked around trying to find that french lop and her breeder. Finally I found the breeder as they were loading things into their van awaiting the last judging that would be ending in the next couple minutes. I ran up to her and said “YES!” She looked confused and then when I pointed to her disqualified french lop’s carrier, she remembered her offer. Slowly she pulled the bunny out of the carrier and let me hold her. At that moment, I knew I would love her like my own. While I was holding her, her breeder was telling me how much she was hoping that the judging would go well so she wouldn’t have to give away this bunny, that was slowly falling asleep in my arms. I could tell that she really cared about this special rabbit that would soon be coming home with me. Since I wasn’t expecting to take a rabbit home I didn’t have a carrier with me so her breeder sold me a carrier for $10. She gave “Blue Bonnet” one last hug before she wished me well and promised to send me her birth certificate in the next coming days.

I renamed my new bunny, Opal because of her coloring – broken opal. After a few weeks that got shortened to Opie and now she won’t answer to anything else. A month later I received her birth certificate in the mail. Her birth certificate confirmed that she was officially born on July 21, 2002 which meant I adopted her at 4 months old and made her my own.

Entry filed under: Bunday Monday.

WWFD: To Cream or To Blend? Giveaway! TWD #22 The cobbler is coming…

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  July 21, 2008 at 4:56 am

    :-) Thanks for the story. Very heart warming.

    Reply
  • 2. Liz Ramirez  |  July 21, 2008 at 6:34 am

    This is a ver sweet story. Are rabbits easy to take care of? Just wondering.

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  July 21, 2008 at 7:56 am

    CARRIE, YW. Glad you enjoyed my story.

    LIZ, I wouldn’t say “easy” but easier than a dog I am sure. They don’t require walks and you can littertrain them just like a cat. They can live an average of 6-8 years if you take care of them well so it is a long term commitment. I think thats the misconception with “pocket pets”. I love my bunnies and they are so affectionate with me. They have great personalities! Let me know if you want more info. I’d be happy to share!

    Reply
  • 4. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  July 21, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Happy, Happy Birthday Bunny! I love seeing these sweet faces every Monday! Have a great day!

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  July 21, 2008 at 11:38 am

    HOLLY, I’ll let Opie know you wished her happy birthday! She’s an AW just like her mommy. haha.

    Reply
  • 6. zebe912  |  July 21, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    First of all, you’re a little nuts. I mean that in the best way possible of course. Second, how do you keep bunnies where you live? I’m used to big crates & yards outside. I’m guessing you don’t have that where you are.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  July 21, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    ZEBE, me nuts? Naaaaaaaahhhh. My bunnies don’t have cages b/c they are littertrained like a cat so they have free run of my livingroom. I think its great b/c they are available to interact with you much more than if they were caged.

    Reply
  • 8. Charlotte  |  July 21, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I have tagged you go to my blog for details.. have fun! By the way happy b-day to your bunny! -Charlotte

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  July 21, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    CHARLOTTE, ooohhh tag. fun! I’ll get on that ASAP.

    Reply
  • 10. Kristina  |  July 22, 2008 at 11:59 am

    awww, I love pet stories! Made me reminisce about when my kitties were still babies *sniffle*

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  July 22, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    KRISTINA, Its fun to reminisce. You should have a kitten day on your blog (when you finally start blogging again *hinthint*). Maybe Feline Fridays? ;)

    Reply
  • 12. Karen  |  July 25, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Wonderful story. Great bunny!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  July 25, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    KAREN, thank you! She really is a great bunny.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,328 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


