WWFD: To Cream or To Blend? Giveaway!

July 18, 2008 at 10:01 pm 68 comments

UPDATED: Giveaway has ended. Click here to see who random.org picked as the winner!

What Would Foodie Do?

I. If you had $50 gift card for Macy’s, would you buy an ice cream maker or a hand blender? and why?

II. If you chose ice cream maker, would you buy a Kitchenaid ice cream bowl attachment or a Cuisinart ice cream maker?

I know what you’re thinking… What do *I* get in return for answering your question?

Win a $50 Macy’s gift card! Just don’t ask me to help you figure out what to buy! LOL

RULES:
1. Answer my question in the comments.
2. Leave your name, email and blog URL if applicable. (I love reading new blogs!)
3. Please one comment per person. Duplicate comments will be disqualified.

DEADLINE: August 1st at 12midnight EST

Winner will be chosen by random number generator shortly following the deadline.

Good luck!

Cream or blend? Blend or cream?? I can’t decide… help?

Entry filed under: giveaway.

NFR: I got hacked!! Bunday Monday (Happy Birthday edition)

68 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  July 18, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    I would choose the hand blender.It looks so simple and easy to use and light weight. It would be a pleasure to use. You could do almost anything with a tool like that.

    Reply
  • 2. Marlene  |  July 19, 2008 at 12:04 am

    Ok I have experience with all of these items because either my Mom, sister-in-law or I own it.

    My sister-in-law has the hand blender and it works, but there isn’t that much you can do with it. She uses it to make baby food. It mashes and it’s kind of messy. I’ve watched her make a smoothie with it, but I think it was too messy. You already have a great KA so the hand blender isn’t that great for you (my sister-in-law doesn’t have a KA – this is her only blender)

    I have the Cuisinart ice cream maker. It works wonderfully and can make some great ice cream. You can make sorbets in it as well. The only problem: I put it away and hardly ever use it because it’s under the sink. We got it as a present.

    My Mom has the Kitchenaid blender. The blender always sits on the counter and it would be awesome if she gave it to me because I love the ice cream bowl attachment. I think you would get the most use time with that one. (I think I would too).

    I know you are into cooking, so I was wondering if you had a Food Processor already. They are amazing and so helpful in preparing meals.

    Good luck in choosing!

    Reply
  • 3. Melissa Atkinson  |  July 19, 2008 at 1:38 am

    1. I would choose the hand blender, because ever since the first infomercial I saw on the product I have always wanted one! I would love to make my own aioli’s, sauce concoctions, etc. I think it just looks more fun than an old-fashioned blender (like the one that my dear husband insists on leaving on my kitchen counter ;) ). It is just one of the those go-to kitchen gadgets! Oh! could you imagine all the yummy soups you could blend in a pot?! oh lord!

    2. You know, now this is a toughy! I actually own the kitchenaid attachment bowl and I have not used it and I wanted it so badly as a wedding present. I think the Cusinart ice cream maker is a great piece of equipment. Damn! Now I really want to break out my kitchenaid attachment…like I need a project at 1:35 am.

    P.S. I love all your blogs!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Karen  |  July 19, 2008 at 2:43 am

    i would go for the cuisinart ice cream maker for sure. this is something i’ve been wanting. :)

    Reply
  • 5. julybug  |  July 19, 2008 at 4:15 am

    Definitely the Kitchen Aid attachment.

    Reply
  • 6. Rebecca  |  July 19, 2008 at 5:22 am

    I would definitely choose the Cuisinart ice cream maker.

    I’ve got an immersion blender, and they’re kinda wimpy. You have to have those tiny blades perched directly over what you’re blending, so you’re chasing things all over the pot. Plus, I forget I have it until I’ve already poured things into the blender.

    There’s a little ice cream shop here where they make everything in a row of Cuisinarts. Looks fun, so that’d be my pick.

    Reply
  • 7. Jenny  |  July 19, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Hmmm that’s a tough one. I own both the cuisinart and the hand blender. I think my hand blender gets more use because it is year round and is used from everything from making pasta sauce to bread crumbs and crushed cookies for crusts, whereas the ice cream machine is limited to the one thing. So I’m saying the hand blender (which is rather surprising actually!)
    If I were to have picked the ice cream machine, I would still say the cuisinart one. I made the choice last year and found the ice cream machine to be less expensive, slightly bigger in capacity and yet smaller when fitting into the freezer (where my ice cream canister lives year long.)

    Reply
  • 8. rachel  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Ice cream maker for both. It works well and is affordable. The handblender, well, I cook A LOT and only once or two felt the need for a handblender.

    Reply
  • 9. NinaBeth  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:09 am

    I saw the Cuisinart ice cream maker. I have that model and I looove it! I have an extra freezer in the garage so I just keep the bowl in the freezer all the time. That way, when I’m in the mood for icecream it’s already frozena nd ready to go. It makes the perfect icecream too. John and i both love using it!

    Reply
  • 10. mrswinfrey2be  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:19 am

    I would get the hand blender. The cuisinart ice cream maker is great, I have it, however America’s Test Kitchen said the Kitchenaid ice cream attachment produced creamier ice cream. The cuisinart ice cream maker is also cheaper than the attachment.
    Myla – tess2mommies@gmail.com

    Reply
  • 11. Megan  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:23 am

    I would buy a new Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. It’s more portable than the attachment to the KA.

    Reply
  • 12. Carrie  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:25 am

    I would choose the hand blender because I already have an ice cream maker and my blender is lousy! :-)

    http://bakersbakery.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 13. Lucy  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:46 am

    Hey Clara!

    I want the Cuisinart ice cream maker! I know you’d like it if you bought one. My mom uses her’s all the time and you can make so many flavors. Buy yourself an ice cream book and go crazy!

    Reply
  • 14. Cassie (howtoeatacupcake)  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:48 am

    I’d without a doubt go for the cuisinart ice cream maker!

    Reply
  • 15. Jen  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:55 am

    I would choose the hand blender because I already have the kitchen aid attachment and the cuisinart ice cream maker. I haven’t used either yet ,but I can’t wait.

    I would love a hand mixer!

    Reply
  • 16. Caitlin  |  July 19, 2008 at 7:04 am

    I’m biased, but I’d go with the cuisinart. A regular blender works as well as a stick blender a lot of the time, and seriously – ice cream! And the KA attachment is overpriced, IMO.

    Reply
  • 17. SusanC  |  July 19, 2008 at 7:05 am

    I would buy the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. I have heard it is awesome. I could make frozen yogurt as well as home make ice cream….YUM!

    Reply
  • 18. rainbowbrown  |  July 19, 2008 at 8:31 am

    I have an immersion blender and I never use it. I wanted it for cream soups. I haven’t made any cream soups since I got it. And if you’ve got a food processor, a KA and perhaps a regular blender, I can’t think of anything that it would be more useful for. Perhaps if you intend to make a lot of creamed soups you should think about the hand blender, but otherwise, I say get an ice cream maker.

    I mean, you could be making ice cream all the time! And what on earth goes better with little cakes than ice cream? I have a Donvier which is exactly like the Cuisinart, only it’s hand cranked and I love it. I think the Cuisinart would work fantastically, but here’s why I think you should get the KA attachment: you’ll already have the KA on the counter when you want to use it. All you’ll need to worry about is the bowl. With the Cuisinart you have to prepare the bowl and take out the base and find a spot for it on the counter and then not only put the bowl away afterward, but the base too, that you had to move things around in your kitchen for when you first brought it home so that it could fit somewhere in the depths of the kitchen cabinets because I know you have a lot of kitchen stuff already.

    *breathing*

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 19. Ashley  |  July 19, 2008 at 8:39 am

    I’d have to say the Cuisinart ice cream maker all the way around! I mean really…who wouldn’t want to be able to make ice cream whenever they want?!

    Reply
  • 20. Kam A  |  July 19, 2008 at 8:49 am

    I would choose the Cuisinart ice cream maker! I have always wanted an ice cream maker!

    Reply
  • 21. Elly  |  July 19, 2008 at 9:06 am

    How sweet of you! This is actually a really tough question for me to answer because these are the two things I want most for my kitchen and have wanted for a while now! I think I would go with the immersion blender, though, because I’ve wanted it a lot longer and I make TONS of soups. I feel like I would make more stuff that needed to be blended than I would make ice cream. Plus, I feel a little better eating 2 bowls of soup than the inevitable 4 bowls of ice cream I’d eat :)

    Reply
  • 22. Cheryl W.  |  July 19, 2008 at 9:08 am

    I would want the ice cream maker, because the hand blender is something I don’t think I would ever use. I would pick the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker, because I don’t have a Kitchenaid mixer. Thanks for the contest!

    Reply
  • 23. nbbride06  |  July 19, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Hand blender…use mine all the time!

    Reply
  • 24. micaela6955  |  July 19, 2008 at 9:36 am

    While the ice cream maker is neat, it is not something I would use alot. To me, the more practical of the two would be the hand blender. Lightweight, easy to use, and it can be used for many things which means I would use it more. Thanks for having this giveaway!

    Reply
  • 25. ashley  |  July 19, 2008 at 10:04 am

    definitely the ice cream maker! i have actually only used my hand blender twice (in the 2.5 years i’ve had it) but i always use my ice cream maker! its great during the summer! i have a cuisinart ice cream maker so it gets my vote!

    Reply
  • 26. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  July 19, 2008 at 11:45 am

    OK, so I have the Cuisinart and it is great… but, had the KitchenAid been out before I would have just gotten that because my kitchen storage space isn’t that great. I don’t have a stick blender, and though I want one, really, I just don’t really need a use for it that often. Sooo… I guess my vote would be for the KitchenAid bowl if you love ice cream.

    Reply
  • 27. Anne  |  July 19, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    I would vote the KitchenAid ice cream attachment, too. I’ve heard really good things about it and I have been dying to get one, myself.

    I have a regular blender, hand mixer, and a FP, so while I stick blender is attractive for soups and things, I think it’s one less gadget to store for a little while (at least for me… though who knows, I’ve been adding more and more wants to my list lately!)

    Either way it’s a win win though!

    Reply
  • 28. Ashley  |  July 19, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    I would probably go with the ice cream bowl for the KA if I had one. But I do not have a KA yet, it weighs too much to ship home when we move next.
    I do have a cuisinart though and it works awesome as well.

    Reply
  • 29. Danielle  |  July 19, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    I would go with the ice cream maker because I already have one ice cream maker and if I’m making ice cream for a crowd, one bowl is just not enough. I would get the Kitchenaid attachement. I already have the Cuisinart and it is wonderful, but I have been wanting to experiment with the Kitchenaid attachment.

    Danielle
    Sweet and Savory Eats
    sweetandsavoryeats AT comcast DOT net

    Reply
  • 30. Hil'Lesha  |  July 19, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    I’d definitely prefer a hand blender since you could use it for a lot of things.

    Reply
  • 31. Tara  |  July 19, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I vote for the KitchenAid attachment. My hand blender collects dust but I think I’d use the ice cream maker all the time.

    Reply
  • 32. Heather B  |  July 19, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Since I already have the exact same ice cream maker (in white…love it!), I would have to go with the hand blender. I’ve always wanted one but haven’t had the chance to get one yet!

    Reply
  • 33. bunny  |  July 19, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    I’d get an ice-cream maker! And I’d choose a
    II. If you chose ice cream maker, would you buy a Cuisinart ice cream maker cos I’ve been dying to make ice-creams!!

    Reply
  • 34. Laura  |  July 19, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    I would pick the Cuisinart ice cream maker.

    Reply
  • 35. Tiffany  |  July 20, 2008 at 9:24 am

    I would choose the immersion blender. It is something that I would use more often. I doubt I would make ice cream that often.

    Reply
  • 36. mizzjo  |  July 20, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Hello there! =)

    I would definitely buy the ice cream maker, because I’ve always wanted one. Plus, making homemade ice cream would be utterly delicious and awesome! C’mon now, who doesn’t like/love ICE CREAM? Especially, homemade? YUMMY!=P

    I would also buy the Kitchen aid bowl attachment, because I LOVE Kitchen Aid products even if they are pricey.teehee As my husband would say, “Quality over Quanity.”LOLz

    PS. I’m just a random blogger reader passing thru but was intrigued by your cooking/baking skills. Hope you don’t mind.=P

    Reply
  • 37. Susan  |  July 20, 2008 at 10:42 am

    oooh ohh…i know this one!!
    I would buy the hand blender, because I already HAVE the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. Plus, Tyler was making his Ultimate Brunch today and used that immersion blender to make cappuchinos, and I want to do that too!!

    Reply
  • 38. Jules  |  July 20, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Can I actually choose C? I have the Cuisinart ice cream maker, which I love. We’ve been using it every week this summer. And I use m immersion blender often. But I own both. I would go for “C”, a second freezer bowl for my ice cream maker.

    Ok, but if it’s a toss up between the blender and the ice cream maker, I’d go for the ice cream maker. And I’d get the Cuisinart.

    Reply
  • 39. uglydudefood  |  July 20, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Cuisinart Ice Cream Machine, for sure. I already have a hand-mixer, and the Cuisinart seems to be popular and well-reviewed.

    Reply
  • 40. Rachelle  |  July 20, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Hi I love your blog! HUmmmm what a question. I already have a cuisinart ice cream maker and also a hand blender BUT I just made a batch of peach ice cream and was thinking that I should get another ice cream maker so I cam make two batches at a time. NOW, I do think I would go for the kitchen aid bowl to try something different!

    Reply
  • 41. Katie  |  July 20, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Cuisinart ice cream maker because (a) I would love to make delicious ice cream at my house & (b) I don’t have a Kitchenaid to start with.

    I love your blog!

    Reply
  • 42. Jen  |  July 20, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    I’d get the handle blender because it’s smaller and I’m not allowed to buy things that take up a lot of valuable cabinet space…

    Reply
  • 43. Jaime  |  July 20, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    1) i would pick the ice cream maker b/c i already have the immersion blender :) if you look in my blog, i talk about which one i have (i think it’s in the tomato basil soup post). i love it b/c it’s an immersion blender but also a mini food processor. easier clean up for things like graham cracker crumbs for a pie crust. while i mostly use the immersion blender for soups (I also use it to puree tomatoes for pasta sauce), i use the food processor part all the time. i pick ice cream maker partly b/c it’s what i don’t have but also b/c i’m always drooling over the ice cream recipes i see in other blogs!!!

    2) that’s a tough one. i would probably get the KA attachment just b/c i already have a KA. we have so little space in our tiny apt, not sure i’d have room for another appliance. that said, if i had tons of storage space, i would pick the one that has the larger capacity (not sure which one that is). but my SIL has the cuisinart one where you put the cooler pack in the freezer ahead of time and she loves it.

    i hope you pick me so i can get an ice cream maker too!!! :)

    Reply
  • 44. Sihan  |  July 21, 2008 at 3:28 am

    This is an easy one for me!

    I’m definitely going for the cusinart ice-cream maker. Reason being that I don’t have a Kitchen Aid so the attachment would just be useless. Unless I have the heart to donate it away of course. *sniggers*.. Furthermore I’ve heard such rave reviews of the cuisinart one.. it would be swell coming up with new flavors to brighten up any sunny day here in Singapore.

    Reply
  • 45. Liz Ramirez  |  July 21, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Let’s see I LOVE ice cream so I would buy the cuisinar ice-cream maker because I don’t have a Kitchen Aid mixer.

    Reply
  • 46. Jessica  |  July 21, 2008 at 8:14 am

    I would go for the Kitchen Aid bowl. I love my KA…. makes me want to go home and use it right now!

    Reply
  • 47. Amber  |  July 21, 2008 at 8:17 am

    I personally would buy the immersion blender because I already have the Kitchen Aid ice cream maker attachment. I love it and it is perfect because I already have the mixer so I don’t have to have another appliance taking up room in my kitchen.

    Since you do not have an ice cream maker I would suggest you get that. Ice cream making is not just for the summer you know. Have you ever had pumpkin ice cream? OMG it is amazing!

    Reply
  • 48. Michelle  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    The hand blender, because I have an Ice Cream maker already. I just need to use it more.

    Reply
  • 49. Sam  |  July 21, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    The ice cream maker because I love ice cream

    Reply
  • 50. zebe912  |  July 21, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I think all my info should be in my link. If not, you know how to find me!! This is a toughie because I LOVE my hand blender. Practicality wise, you should get one. I have a cordless rechargeable one by Cuisinart that is just the most handy thing ever. So I would suggest one of those to anybody.
    But since I have one already, and I’m not supposed to eat the stuff in store bought ice-cream and sorbet, I’m dying to get an ice cream maker!!! I don’t like KA, as you know, so I’d get the stand alone ice cream maker.

    Reply
  • 51. noe  |  July 22, 2008 at 5:52 am

    The Cuisinart ice cream maker. If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you really can’t make ice cream when necessary (!) and you can do the hand blender things with other equipment or your own muscle power.

    Reply
  • 52. Kristina  |  July 22, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I’ve been hunting for that ice cream maker for sale for a while now , so it’s my choice. I decided I’d rather have it than the KA attachment because I don’t want to tax my KA motor more than I have to.
    I have a vitamix, so I don’t need any other blender/processor. I’m pretty sure the vitamix motor could run a small car lol

    Reply
  • 53. Kristen  |  July 22, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I’ve never had a hand blender, but we have always had a blender and 99% of the time it sits on the counter.

    I have had several ice cream makers over the years, and the Cuisinart one is fantastic. It makes the creamiest tastiest ice cream ever. I love ice cream, but homemade ice cream is even better.

    Go for the Cuisinart Ice Cream maker. You won’t regret it. If you have a blender, you don’t really need a hand one. Even if you don’t have a blender, get the Cuisinart. Trust me. It will make you happy. It will make all your ice cream dreams come true.

    Reply
  • 54. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  July 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I. i’d probably go with the hand blender. it’s insanely usedful and you can use it all the time.

    II. i really like my KA ice cream attachment a lot. helps me feel like i get more use out of my KA, and you can whip it fast (as long as the ice cream base doesn’t spill out) to incorporate more air into the ice cream.

    Reply
  • 55. Nicole  |  July 23, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    I would choose the KitchenAid attachment, because then it would give me a reason to FINALLY buy the KitchenAid mixer I have been lusting over for far too long.

    Reply
  • 56. Christy  |  July 24, 2008 at 6:41 am

    Go for the KA ice cream attachment. KA’s rock!

    Reply
  • 57. Suzy  |  July 24, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Ice cream all the way. I think I’d be more apt to go for the Cuisinart vs the KitchenAid attachment. We’ve got a ‘traditional’ ice cream making, but its a complete pia b/c of the needed rock salt, ice etc. I’d love to have just a countertop one. I’m just now getting used to my KitchenAid (just got one last week..yip yip yippee!) so I’d hate to confuse myself more by getting the ice cream attachment for it. If it was easier than the Cuisin though..I’d be tempted.
    Ice Cream is second to cupcakes in my book. Just so you know. :)

    Reply
  • 58. Lauren  |  July 24, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    I would choose the KitchenAid attachment because I just don’t have room for many more big appliances! My KitchenAid is out on the counter all the time, so I’d be more apt to use it.

    Plus, my sister has it and loves it. She’s gained 20 pounds since getting married because she makes homemade ice cream almost every night with heavy cream. Wait- that might make you want to choose the immersion blender!

    Reply
  • 59. Liliana  |  July 25, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I have the Cuisinart Ice Cream maker and the Kitchen Aid.

    The Cusinart makes great ice cream. The only problem is that I only have one bowl that has to be put in the freezer from 12 -2 4 hours before using it to make ice cream.

    I have been wanting to buy an extra bowl for the Cusinart or maybe a freezer bowl for the Kitchen Aid. The extra bowl for the Cusinart costs $50 CND while the freezer bowl for the Kitchen Aid costs $120 CDN and takes up a chunk of freezer space. There is a special on the Cusinart ice cream maker at Williams Somona – get an extra freezer bowl for free.

    So, I guess bottom line, I would pick the immersion blender because I don’t have one.

    Reply
  • 60. Donna  |  July 27, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    My kids just gave me a Cuisinart Immersion Blender for my birthday so I won’t be needing one of those! BUT…I just noticed that one of TWD’s recipes is ice cream. So…that’s what I would choose, an Ice Cream Maker! Make mine red please!

    Reply
  • 61. beth  |  July 28, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    I would get a hand blender because I don’t have one and I would like to make some non-chunky soups.

    I have a Hamilton Beach ice cream maker-wedding present that we have yet to use.

    Reply
  • 62. Stephanie Graves  |  July 29, 2008 at 11:29 am

    I would go for the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker, mainly because I want one really badly. I have been inspired by all of the blogs on sorbets and ice cream and I can’t make them because I have no Ice Cream Maker:( I have heard several people say that the cuisinart works better than the kitchen aid attachment…plus it looks cute and fun!

    Reply
  • 63. Abbey  |  July 29, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I would choose Kitchen Aid ice cream attachment. I have seen quite a few ice cream recipes I’d love to try! Yum!

    Reply
  • 64. Neha  |  July 30, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I. I would pick the ice cream maker.
    II. I would pick the Cuisinart ice cream maker because
    – I have had ice cream from it and can’t rave about it enough! :)
    – I love it’s design, it’s just neat and compact! :)

    Reply
  • 65. Claire  |  July 30, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Hey! Thanks for the tag!!! I would choose an ice cream maker and I would choose the one from cuisine art.. Firstly, the blender is not exactly suitable for a frequent baker. So the ice creammaker would be a better choice.

    If you bought the bowl attachment, you can’t use your kitchenaid while you are making ice cream. The cuisinart would be a more convenient way to make ice cream and if you are making ice cream, you can bake something else while waiting for the ice cream to churn!

    Reply
  • 66. CB  |  August 2, 2008 at 1:55 am

    (This giveaway has ended. Try again on the next one!)

    Reply
  • 67. Pure Forskolin Review  |  September 9, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

    Reply
  • 68. ketone Ultra review  |  September 10, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was
    good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a
    famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,681 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


