NFR: I got hacked!!

July 18, 2008 at 5:15 pm 24 comments

My hair. My hair got hacked.

I’ve been growing out my hair for the last 1.5 years for my wedding and my SIL’s wedding. Now that both are over, it was time to chop-chop.

I always knew that the ultimate goal would be to donate my lovely locks to those more hair needy than me. Initially I was going to donate the minimum 10 inches but when my hair stylist told me that my cut and style would be free if I donate 12+ inches I said “Let’s do it!” Omg. Did I just say what I think I said??


before

It was dreadful. I screamed. But I didn’t cry… alot. a tad melodramatic, huh? LOL

But it was for a good cause so it was worth it.

After the initial shock of losing my hair, I am slowly getting use to running my hands through my hair and remembering that it ends rather abruptly b/c I am catching wind. T likes it but I know he’s a long hair man at heart.


After. no makeup, fugly picture, try not to stare too long…

For more information on Locks of Love and how to donate, click here.

Entry filed under: Not Food Related. Tags: .

Bonus Bunday WWFD: To Cream or To Blend? Giveaway!

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. slush  |  July 18, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    You look great! I love that you donated too. My cousin just did the same thing. Her hair was almost as long as yours, but she went short short short.

    It would take me 10+ years to reach that length. I dont have the patience. lol

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  July 18, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    CONGRATS! You look great.

    When I go short I always use waay too much shampoo the first few times I wash. But then I figure it out. Now that you know to think about it ahead of time, you’ll save time AND money.

    You’re welcome.

    Reply
  • 3. Heather B  |  July 18, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    It looks great! I left you a blog award on my blog! I love visiting your blog! Thanks for the treats you post!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  July 18, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    SLUSH, Just call me Rapunzel. haha.

    RACHEL, omg totally. I squirted out way too much shampoo tonight. I have a feeling my mega size pantene bottle will last a loooooooong time now.

    HEATHER, aawww for me? You’re too sweet!

    Reply
  • 5. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  July 18, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Very cool that you donated! I think your new haircut looks great too!

    Reply
  • 6. NinaBeth  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:11 am

    So cool! When I cute my hair last year, my hair lady told me AFTER she cut it that I was only 1/2 inch away from donating length… um tell me that before you chop it off so I can wait one more month, lol. You look great! I’m about to do something daring with my hair, so check for a BU soon. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Caitlin  |  July 19, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Love it! I spent 3 years growing my hair out to donate ~14 inches of it. I nearly cried, but now my hair is uber short. Seriously though, when they put a band around it and just start sawing – scariest. thing. ever.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  July 19, 2008 at 7:30 am

    HOLLY, Yeah I think thats the big reason that I got up the courage – to donate. Its a great cause!

    NINA, aaawww that sucks! Well maybe you can do it another time. This will be my 2nd time donating. Daring huh? color? I bet you’re coloring!

    CAITLIN, 14 inches!! I think my hair girl hacked off like 13 for me. Lucky #13 right? Seriously. I screamed.

    Reply
  • 9. ashley  |  July 19, 2008 at 10:06 am

    looks great! i donated 12 inches the morning after my wedding! you have a lot more left than i did. its a great feeling. and its much more comfortable for summer! :-)

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  July 19, 2008 at 10:24 am

    ASHLEY, Thats so awesome of you! Its definitely cooler for the summer. I am still getting use to it but so far I am digging it.

    Reply
  • 11. Tara  |  July 19, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    HOW did you hair get that long again? I feel like you just recently chopped it in like the last two years and it already got that long again? WOW.
    I just chopped 14 off mine and im loving the shortness right now! yay!

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  July 19, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    TARA, I have no idea! I think my hair just grows fast. Someone asked me if I took pre-natal vitamins. I was like “HECK NO!”

    Reply
  • 13. Stephanie  |  July 19, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Your hair looks great! Doesn’t your back feel naked now? lol

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  July 19, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    STEPHANIE, You hit it on the nail! My neck and shoulders feel very naked! HAHA.

    Reply
  • 15. Jaime  |  July 20, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    so cute! all men prefer long hair. my DH got very mad at me when i cut my hair recently. i know exactly how you feel…. my hair was just as long as yours several years ago – then in college i decided i needed change and cut off 13 inches!!! my best friend was there with me and i literally had to hold her hand and give out a little whimper as they cut it! it was chin length then and gradually over time i grew it out… when i was getting married, i continued to grow it out… but it never got quite as long, just to my mid-back. i’d always look at my older pics w/the short hair and say i missed it… so i cut 9 inches off about 6 months ago… DH said he was going to be angry with me for months LOL. after i cut it, i missed my longer hair LOL so now i am growing it back out again :)

    i think your hair looks super cute but if DH likes it longer and you like it longer, go ahead and grow it back out. i think your hair would also look good mid-length (like down to your bra strap)…but it would also be super cute if you went shorter, like just below the chin – it would frame your face well :)

    Reply
  • 16. KRMWV  |  July 21, 2008 at 5:15 am

    Your hair looks great! Super cool on the donating to Locks of Love, too. My hair is the same length as yours before you cut it and I think I may be doing the chop and donate myself.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  July 21, 2008 at 7:58 am

    JAIME, I agree. Men like long hair. Not sure why but most men I’ve known love the long locks. I was gonna chop my hair off at the shoulders but I kinda freaked out so she went a little longer just passed the shoulders. I am definitely growing it out again. Maybe not quite so long but mid back would be nice.

    KRMWV, I hope you do donate! Its a great cause! Come back with pics!

    Reply
  • 18. Amber  |  July 21, 2008 at 8:44 am

    It looks great! I chopped mine two years ago and it is ready for another.

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  July 21, 2008 at 11:39 am

    AMBER, thanky! Have fun with your chop chop!

    Reply
  • 20. zebe912  |  July 21, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I think it looks great. It seems like it has to be a little bit cooler for the summer this way too!

    Reply
  • 21. CB  |  July 21, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    ZEBE, its definitely cooler! My shoulders and neck feel a breeze now. HAHA

    Reply
  • 22. Alanna  |  July 28, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    You do look great, CB!!! And what a sweet thing to do. Someone will be so lucky to receive your gift of beautiful hair!!!

    Reply
  • 23. CB  |  July 28, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    ALANNA, thank you chica! Its definitely a great cause. I don’t think I could have done it if it wasn’t. Its crazy how emotionally attached I got to my LONG hair…

    Reply
  • 24. Mr dc  |  October 2, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Very sexy after ward

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,059 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


