Foodie Question of the Day

July 11, 2008 at 7:13 am 9 comments

What is the foodie blogger etiquette on…?

1. recipe from
2. recipe adapted
3. original recipe

I try to give credit where credit is due b/c I’d expect the same from any blogger about my own posts but sometimes the line between “recipe from”, “recipe adapted” and “original recipe” is a little blurry. Usually when I make a good amount of changes or substitutions but don’t add anything new to the recipe I say “adapted”.

What’s your guideline? Just wanna make sure I am on the same page and not stepping on any toes… er oven mitts.

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Cheesy Casserioli Bunday Monday

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nikki  |  July 11, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Unless I pull something completely and entirely out of my own ass then it’s not an original recipe.

    Most things are adapted because I always make changes and no matter how many changes I make, I got the original recipe/inspiration somewhere and they deserve credit where credit is due

    Reply
  • 2. Donna  |  July 11, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Hear, Hear Nikki!
    I totally agree. Copyright laws need to be adhered to and even some of those are fuzzy. Generally speaking, the ingredients in a recipe can’t be copyrighted but the directions and personal copy that surround it can be.

    However, BIG celebrities like Martha, Dorie and Ina as well as many, many more teeny people like me, have either paid big bucks to put a copyright notice in the front of their books, or they’re writing for a company that holds my copyright for an agreed upon time frame. That means you can’t use it no way, no how unless you get written permission first.

    This also applies to photographs of food like on your blogs. If someone goes into your blog, takes a photo and then posts it somewhere else (for example Foodgawker, TasteSpotting or their own blog) without your permission, you could get them for copyright infringement. This is why you see many photos with a watermark at the bottom. They may think they’re doing you a favor by leaving your link, but it’s still wrong.

    When in doubt, always ask permission. And by all means, search it out for yourself before using a recipe or photo.
    Despite what many may think, all content on the internet is not free for the taking.

    And on that note….I need a cocktail!

    Reply
  • 3. rachel  |  July 11, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Unless you create it entirely on your own, using no recipe as guideline, you should credit your source.

    Reply
  • 4. Chris  |  July 11, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    This is a good one…I always think about this one….I use something like “recipe from/recipe courtesy of” if I don’t change anything. “Recipe adapted/Tweaked” if I make changes, and haven’t used “original recipe”. I guess I really need to begin using that one, since I do pull recipes from the air every now and again…:P

    Reply
  • 5. Jackie  |  July 13, 2008 at 6:09 am

    Oh this one always trips me up, too! I suppose “adapted” is the most common since we all probably make a change here and there. Someone once told me that if you change 2/3rds (or more) of a recipe, you’ve made it your own, but I don’t have a clue if that was just someone’s idea or if there is really some golden “rule” like that.

    Reply
  • 6. zebe912  |  July 13, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    If I use a recipe without making any changes then I give direct credit. That doesn’t happen very often for me. If I make any change at all, then I generally type “adapted from.” I have one recipe on my blog where I used similar ingredients and info I learned from a cookie recipe and then created something entirely different. I still gave credit back with more of an “inspired by” notation.

    Reply
  • 7. Mara  |  July 16, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    I use adapted from and recipe from for the most part. The only ones I could actually consider ‘original’ are ones that I have changed over and over and over until I don’t even remember what the first recipe was or when I go back and compare it, it doesn’t resemble the first one at all anymore.

    This is especially true for a vanilla cake or similar…because 99% of vanilla cakes have the same ingredients in them, it’s just how much of one or the other and your creaming or creation method. How can one say that a recipe is all yours if its something like a vanilla cake with the same ingredients as thousands of others out there.

    I think I only have 2-3 recipes I would actually consider mine(though again…its not really anyway esp if its a basic?!), but 99% of them are going to be ‘adapted’ or ‘recipe from’ and I try to be really good about writing down credit as well.

    Reply
  • 8. Mara  |  July 16, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Actually Jackie…that goes for ring design and creation as well. They typically say something like, if you change 1/3 or 1/2 or more (not sure exactly) of the ring then it’s not violating copyright to replicate it.

    Reply
  • 9. Jaime  |  July 20, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    i guess i could say adapted from for a lot of recipes but i don’t. i like to include the original recipe, and include my changes/adaptations in red so people can choose whichever version they’d like

    i’ve been thinking about whether i should watermark my photos or not, as i have seen a few people use them w/o properly crediting me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,712 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


