Bandwidth Exceeded!

June 18, 2008 at 8:21 pm 17 comments

Well apparently free99 photobucket can no longer provide me with the necessary bandwidth for my little ol blog. Bare with me while I find a new image host.

::thinking to self::

1. Should I upgrade my photobucket account? Its $3.99/month or $25/year
2. Find a new “free” host that has more bandwidth? (Any recs?)
3. Other?

UPDATE: We’re back baby!! Thanks to an anonymous donor (You rock J-DOG!) my pictures are back, at least for the next 3 months, while I continue my search for The Next Image Hosting Star. Hmm… should I contact food network and pitch that idea? HAHA!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

TWD #17 The puffiest puff that ever puffed

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kim  |  June 18, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    i’m not sure what your req’s are, but i think flickr and picasa are the best free ones. they have limits on how much you can upload for the free acct, but no limit on how much people download. i use smugmug, but it has a yearly fee.

    Reply
  • 2. Jaime  |  June 18, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    i use flickr and i am pretty happy with it. once you get a certain # of pics (i think 200), they’re not in your photostream when you go to your homepage (i.e. you can’t right click on them and get the URL), but they are still there and will be view-able on web pages forever…so as long as you post the pics in a reasonable time, you are ok. hope that made sense?

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  June 18, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    i have a buddy that uses smug mug.

    am i weird that i just upload mine into blogger?

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  June 18, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    KIM, I am not sure what my requirements are but it looks like photobucket has a dual requirement – bandwidth and uploaded photo limit. I didn’t realize it at the time I signed up. DOH!? I’ll have to check out flickr and smug mug! thanks!

    JAIME, makes perfect sense! Thanks a bunch! Looks like flickr is in the lead so far ;)

    RACHEL, nothing wrong with uploading directly to blogger. I just like the fact that photobucket has editting options so I can play around with the size myself.

    Reply
  • 5. alan  |  June 18, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    http://www.tinypic.com

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  June 18, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    ALAN, thanks bro! I’ll check it out :)

    Reply
  • 7. jaishree  |  June 19, 2008 at 3:40 am

    Blogger-upload them, I havent had a problem yet.
    Just keep posting! We love your blog.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  June 19, 2008 at 7:05 am

    JAIHREE, aawww you’re too sweet. No worries, I am a post-aholic so there will be posts but maybe not pictures for a while.

    Reply
  • 9. carrie  |  June 19, 2008 at 7:15 am

    I’m not sure about the specifics, but I use Picasa and LOVE it.

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  June 19, 2008 at 7:17 am

    CARRIE, ooohhh Picasa! ok, I’ll have to check that one out on your rec then! thanks :)

    Reply
  • 11. Ulrike aka ostwestwind  |  June 19, 2008 at 8:24 am

    What about flickr or ImageShack. I use both and I am pleased.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  June 19, 2008 at 8:27 am

    ULRIKE, I have flickr on my short list to try from so many recs but I’ll also have to check out imageshack too! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 13. kim  |  June 19, 2008 at 9:53 am

    fyi to rachel & jaishree – when you upload them to blogger you are actually using picasa, it does it under the hood — creates a private album in picasaweb for your photos :) (cause it’s all google)
    cb, there are tons of choices, you can’t really go wrong! (except, apparently, with photobucket, haha ;) )

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  June 19, 2008 at 9:58 am

    KIM, thanks for the info! yeah apparently photobucket isn’t a choice anymore. HAHA.

    Reply
  • 15. Vibi  |  June 19, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Clara,
    I’ve tried many image hosting sitesin the last couple of years and most of them are limited… wether in the number of pictures you can store there or with the “weight” the pictures carry… the only one I’ve been more than satisfied with for over 2 years is ImageShack …try it, I’m sure you’ll never go back!

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  June 19, 2008 at 10:22 am

    VIBI, very cool. Thats another vote for imageshack. Looks like I have a little image hosting research to do this weekend huh? Thanks for the rec!

    Reply
  • 17. Big Boys Oven  |  June 21, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    LOve those puff that you had make, really puffed well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,099 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


