VTV #7: Freestyle

June 11, 2008 at 7:37 pm 14 comments

This week’s Vindicate the Vegetable is a choose-your-own-adventure style. Thankfully our esteemed hostess, Nina, gave us a few more days this week than usual to get our entries in! Of course I am still posting on the deadline day! I am such a procrastinator… HAHA!

I had a bag of spinach leftover from a previous recipe so thats the vegetable I picked for this week. I trolled around to a couple of my go-to blogs looking for an easy recipe that I didn’t need to make a grocery store run for since I was feeling quite lazy on this Wednesday night. Don’t you just love my run-on sentences? One of my favorite blogs, Rachel from Coconut&Lime to the rescue!

Spinach Pesto Pasta


Look at that green! I am thinking St. Patty day pasta, no? LOL!
(Recipe from Coconut&Lime | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

5 oz baby spinach (I used a 6oz bag)
1/3 cup walnuts
1/3 cup (grated) parmesan cheese
1/3 cup water
2 large garlic cloves
3 tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

Puree all ingredients (I use a blender, but a food processor would work) until smooth.

Pour over cooked, drained pasta. Toss and serve.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He loved it and mentioned a couple times that you can really tell the difference between home made and store bought pesto.

Wifey rating: A
I agree with hubs that there’s just something about home made! YUM!

Entry filed under: Vindicate the Veggie. Tags: , .

Foodie Question of the Day Foodie Question of the Day

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. katie102006  |  June 12, 2008 at 4:16 am

    I LOVE spinach! I’ve made a lot of pestos, but not spinach. I’m so going to try this….

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  June 12, 2008 at 7:01 am

    KATIE#, definitely let me know what you think! :)

    Reply
  • 3. Vibi  |  June 12, 2008 at 7:46 am

    I remember my mom doing that exact recipe, over 30 years ago… for we weren’t used at the time, to seeing such dishes of bright green; you should have seen the looks of horror on our faces when she came to the table and poured this pesto over our plates of pasta!!!
    She was so proud of her newly found healthy recipe… we were completely stunned! LOL
    Since then, I never tried to repeat the recipe, but seing yours here, so appetizing… I might just try it again!

    Reply
  • 4. nikki57  |  June 12, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Um CB you do realize the blender pictures make this totally scary looking right? It’s looks like some seaweed shake or something :P

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  June 12, 2008 at 9:49 am

    VIBI, Vous devriez essayer la recette! Ses goûts très délicieux mais je peux voir que vous voulez dire du vert! HAHA! (You should try the recipe! Its tastes very yummy but I can see what you mean about the green! HAHA!)

    NIKKI, I totally debating posting the blender pictures! I was kinda shocked at the green-ness myself! LOL

    Reply
  • 6. Alanna  |  June 12, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Ooh, it looks awesome!!! I didn’t end up cooking at all last night, but this is definitely on my recipe list! I think it will go great on my merlot cheese ravioli!

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  June 12, 2008 at 10:24 am

    ALANNA, Mmmm cheese ravioli! Oh yeah… that would be very good! :)

    Reply
  • 8. mrsabybaby  |  June 12, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    This looks delicous!! I love pesto. I doubt I could get anyone else in my house to eat it but I can save it for a rainy day for myself : )

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  June 12, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    MRSABYBABY, Its definitely green right? haha. T was a little apprehensive but he raved. See if your hubs will give it a shot. Maybe you’ll be surprised? ;)

    Reply
  • 10. Jules  |  June 13, 2008 at 8:49 am

    I made cilantro pesto this week. I added peanuts, lime juice, some grated ginger, sesame oil, olive oil, and cilantro. It was tasty.

    Reply
  • 11. Tarah  |  June 13, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Ahh! I love the color! So pretty! Looks delicious! Glad to hear your hubby enjoyed it as well! :]

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  June 13, 2008 at 10:58 am

    JULES, ooohhhh cilantro pesto! I need to go search your blog for that recipe now. I lurve cilantro!

    TARAH, the color was a little… er… bright but it was definitely tasty! haha.

    Reply
  • 13. Alohi  |  June 21, 2008 at 2:49 am

    I give this one 4 paws up!

    I was shocked when Mr. Picky “I don’t eat nothing slicker than me!” tried it and dug right in. *shurgging shoulders * Who knew?

    This one is definitely going in my cookbook as a winner!

    Thanks CB

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  June 21, 2008 at 7:29 am

    ALOHI, I wasn’t sure what to expect either b/c its BRIGHT green but its SO good. Glad Mr. Picky agrees!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,191 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


