Foodie Question of the Day

June 11, 2008 at 10:01 am 12 comments

What is your next food related gadget on your to-buy list?

A little back story first. I went to this adorable restaurant last week with T and his CW+daughter called La Creperie Cafe on 2nd Street. I enjoyed my panini caprese and garlic fries but the la pièce de résistance was the dulce de leche crepe for dessert.

OH.MY.GOD. Can you say…? tongue-gasm!

It had a dulce de leche filling and a caramelized sugar crust on the outside. Ever since then I’ve been obsessed with buying a little blow torch! Even though I am a pyrophobic, re-creating that dessert would be worth a 3rd degree burn!

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

TWD #16 I heart this tart VTV #7: Freestyle

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  June 11, 2008 at 11:12 am

    I have several things on my list:
    Creme brulee torch
    Mini tart pans
    Citrus juicer press
    That giant cupcake pan silpat mat
    Pasta attachment for KA
    There are probably more! Haha!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  June 11, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    RACHEL, I’ll take one of each please. HAHA!

    Reply
  • 3. Nikki  |  June 11, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    I want a big honking food processor, but i can get by with my mini prep and pastry cutter for now so I’m good.

    I <3 crepes (in my fam they’re known as thin pancakes) I think it may be time for a crepe BU

    Reply
  • 4. April  |  June 11, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I definitely have broken down and asked for a Kitchen Aid Mixer now. I didn’t think I wanted one due to lack of space, but I think I want one. I would love a panini press as well. YUM. I need a bigger kitchen….oy.

    Reply
  • 5. Barbara A.  |  June 11, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    What, you mean we have to choose just ONE item?!?

    Currently competing for the “top-of-the-list” spot —

    More mini-tart pans. 6 isn’t enough!

    Some of those metal hand-press citrus juicers that come in colors to match the fruit you’re squeezing. This just zoomed to the top of the list after my sweetheart brought home a 2-lb bag of Key limes. Thank goddess he helped with squeezing them.

    Piping bag and some basic piping tips.

    There’s more — lots more — but those are what come to mind right now.

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  June 11, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    NIKKI, I have a food processor. Not sure how big “huge honking” is to you but I have an old hand-me-down that my MIL gave me after I started cooking/baking more. I lurve it!

    APRIL, You TOTALLY need a KA mixer!! I think you want a red one don’t you? ::winkwink::

    BARBARA, Trust me! I have ALOT more than one item on my must-buy list too! HAHA. I totally want some mini tart pans now esp after this week’s TWD. BTW, what you waiting for?? SIGN UP ALREADY!

    Reply
  • 7. Jenny  |  June 11, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    That blow torch has been on my list for awhile. Followed closely by a second bowl for my stand mixer. Or even better, a bigger, more powerful stand mixer!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  June 11, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    JENNY, ooohhh a second bowl! Thats a good one. ::adding to my list::

    Reply
  • 9. Natalie  |  June 11, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    I want a second bowl too. Whenever I watch Martha Stewart and she whips out that second bowl, I’m like oooo!

    And so much more. Mostly a bigger kitchen to hold it though!

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  June 11, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    NATALIE, oh def. Bigger kitchen is on the must-wait-til-win-lottery list. HAHA!

    Reply
  • 11. zebe912  |  June 13, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I’m not sure how to say this, but…I think I’m good. I really can’t think of much that my kitchen is missing. I have SO much stuff that has either been inherited or bought as part of the wedding. Other than a self cleaning kitchen, I can pretty much function as is for now.

    I’m not supposed to have ground meats because of the preservatives in them, so I might have to invest in the meat grinder attachment for my mixer so that I can create my own burger meats and such.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  June 13, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    ZEBE, you’re a better person than me. I always seem to want more than I really need. LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


