TWD #16 I heart this tart

June 9, 2008 at 10:44 pm 49 comments

I am a lucky girl.

I live in California where you can get strawberries all season long. It’s a great perk well… besides the beach, amazing weather, Vegas only a car ride away… need I go on? HAHA! Since strawberries are available winter, spring, summer and fall, its one of my favorite fruits to snack on alone or with any dessert. So I am sure you can imagine my delight when Marie of A Year in Oak Cottage chose La Palette’s Strawberry Tart on page 374-375 as her pick this week for us. Crumbly tart crust, strawberry jam and fresh strawberries? I am in!

What I learned this week:
Sometimes simple things can give you amazing results. It doesn’t have to be complicated to be delicious.

Please bare with me. Since we are not able to post the recipe anymore (see below for more details) I am a little flustered! Posting pictures with the recipe is part of my writing style so in its absence I need to reinvent myself. ::taking deep breath::

Here we go…

This recipe is brilliant b/c its simple but refreshing and elegant. I do not own a tart pan so opted for my 9 inch springform pan instead. Even though it doesn’t give it the characteristic tart ruffles around the edge I think it makes the tart more “rustic” so I dig it. At least until my husband lets me buy a tart pan. ::wink::

The tart dough comes together very easily in a food processor. All you need is flour, powder sugar, a little salt, cold butter and an egg yolk. Pulse a few times and VOILA you got dough baby!


Dorie mentions in her cookbook, Baking: From my home to yours, after adding in the egg yolk and pulsating for a couple good 10 sec long, you’ll hear the sound change slightly. I need to comment that I think this simple fact is a big reason why I LOVE Dorie’s cookbook. She’s very real and I love her matter a fact approach. She tells you what to expect even if its as small a characteristic as the sound change in your food processor. Trust me. To a novice baker all these simple tricks make baking from her cookbook user friendly. I noticed the sound change right away and knew it was time to knead the dough and prepare the pan.


After freezing the dough for an hour I popped it in the oven for 33 minutes, let it cool and then slathered some yummy strawberry preserves all over. The recipe calls for strawberry jam but since I had strawberry preserves available I decided to go with that instead. Call me weird but I love the little seeds even though they do tend to get stuck between my teeth sometimes. LOL. I wish I had some kirsch to douse the strawberries with per Dorie’s suggestion but I settled for a sprinkle of sugar and added to my mental rolodex to buy some kirsch on my next grocery store excursion instead.



Ugh. Forgive my lighting issues.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He said it reminded him of the apple-pie cake but not as cakey. He loved it but still thinks the apple-pie cake is his favorite though it didn’t stop him from having 2 FAT slices of strawberry tart.

Wifey rating: A+
I love this recipe for 2 reasons: Its delicious and simple. What could be better? The crust is so buttery and yummy (I think its my favorite part) and the strawberries are a great fresh complimentary ingredient.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our fearless leader, Laurie, along with our group’s namesake Dorie Greenspan, have respectfully requested we not post complete recipes anymore but I hope they won’t mind if I post the link to the recipe from Serious Eats instead where Dorie is a contributing writer. Check out the Tuesdays w/ Dorie blogroll on the side menu bar for more tarts!

Next week: Peppermint Cream Puff Ring on pages 290-292

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Non-Foodie Question of the Day Foodie Question of the Day

49 Comments Add your own

  • 1. April  |  June 10, 2008 at 5:48 am

    I love the rustic look! It looks yummy!

    Reply
  • 2. lemontartlet  |  June 10, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Your writing is frigging great as always, no recipe needed! How did you get to be such a good baker?

    Reply
  • 3. Heather Peskin  |  June 10, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Lovely tart – generous portions of preserves and strawberries – and great pictures of the whole process.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  June 10, 2008 at 6:11 am

    LEMON, aawww thanks. I feel kinda nekkid writing without the recipe! haha. me? good baker? You crazy! But I do admit I am getting better at following recipes. ;)

    Reply
  • 5. Lori  |  June 10, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Delicious and simple. A great combo. I enjoyed it as well. I love that the crust was a press in!

    Reply
  • 6. nikki57  |  June 10, 2008 at 7:08 am

    LT – ::waving hands wildly in the air:: I taught her I taught her

    Great looking tarts beechykins

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  June 10, 2008 at 7:10 am

    NIKKI, I guesssss I should give props to you. haha. Its true. You really are my Master Baker. ;)

    Reply
  • 8. Shirlie  |  June 10, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Beautiful tart. I agree, the edges of your tart make it more rustic, which suits it better. Great job!

    Reply
  • 9. Anne  |  June 10, 2008 at 7:49 am

    I love the look of your crust! Great job, looks so good!

    Reply
  • 10. Teanna  |  June 10, 2008 at 8:19 am

    I totally agree that Dorie really speaks to the reader- I loved that comment about the processor sounding different- “heads up”.

    Your pictures look great! That’s a pretty good camera right there! and delicious!

    Reply
  • 11. Ulrike aka ostwestwind  |  June 10, 2008 at 8:25 am

    With my individual tartlets I didn’t have the problem ;-). Your tart looks delicious!

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

    Reply
  • 12. kim  |  June 10, 2008 at 8:51 am

    your tart looks so yummy!! i want to try the kirsch as well :)
    i think your pics are good! i like the top one and the one of the whole tart with the piece cut out the best :)
    btw in answer to your comment on my blog — my camera is a canon 30d and i use a couple of different lenses with it — the 100mm macro is great.

    Reply
  • 13. bridget  |  June 10, 2008 at 9:01 am

    We had two very similar thoughts this week. I also don’t own a 9-inch tart pan and figured that the straight edges of a springform pan just made the tart all the more rustic. Plus, I completely agree with you about Dorie’s comment about listening to when the sound of the food processor mixing the dough changes. Such a great tip.

    Reply
  • 14. Caitlin  |  June 10, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Sooo jealous that you get strawberries year-round. *pout*

    Reply
  • 15. Rebecca  |  June 10, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Year-round strawberries? How freakish! ;)

    Reply
  • 16. Amy  |  June 10, 2008 at 9:52 am

    This looks wonderful!! I like that you used a springform pan!

    Reply
  • 17. Mary Ann  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:14 am

    It looks absolutely fab. Especially the pic with just the tart shell and the jam. I want to eat it!

    Reply
  • 18. Marie  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:51 am

    I agree Clara, delicious doesn’t have to be complicated and quite often it’s the simplest of things that taste the best of all! Your tart looks fabulous. Well done!

    Reply
  • 19. Erin  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:53 am

    I miss California, the place of my youth, for all the good fresh berries! We used to pick up a flat on the way home from the beach. Your tart looks amazing! Great use of California strawberries.

    Reply
  • 20. Piggy  |  June 10, 2008 at 11:04 am

    how nice it is to be able to get strawberries all year round! In singapore, we can only import from other countries and they’re quite expensive!

    Your tart looks yummy, love the rustic look. :-)

    Reply
  • 21. Di  |  June 10, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I went to college in Pasadena, and one spring I seriously over-indulged in the strawberries. I ate so many over the period of about a month that I could barely stand to look at them for a year or two… =)

    Reply
  • 22. Jules  |  June 10, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Tart looks lovely. The “listening” trick was spot on.

    Reply
  • 23. Vibi  |  June 10, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Great job Clara!
    Your on your way to becoming a true frenchwoman!!! LOL
    Just a little more practice with the French, and along with your tarting skills, should be right on the button!

    Reply
  • 24. Kayte  |  June 10, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    It’s a really good thing that you are sharing your California bits with us while we are experiencing summer…if you do that in winter, I might just be a little less thrilled…kidding aside, we are all way jealous of fresh strawberries year in and year out!

    Very nice tutorial in pictures…really gorgeous…thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 25. Heather B  |  June 10, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    looking at all of these tarts is making me want to go buy more strawberries and make another!! Yours looks very tasty!

    Reply
  • 26. Susan  |  June 10, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I love your step by step pics as always! Beautiful job!

    Reply
  • 27. avenue26cafe  |  June 10, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Wow, the tart looks great! I also liked how you took pictures of the process of the dry ingredients coming together to become dough. I had some trouble with my dough breaking apart but from the look of your pics, I’ll let the machine knead it more next time. Great work!

    Reply
  • 28. Gretchen Noelle  |  June 10, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Simply Delicious is very true!

    Reply
  • 29. Erin  |  June 10, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Your tart looks beautiful! I love how the simplest desserts can be so wonderful!

    Reply
  • 30. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  June 10, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    looks delicious! i loved the simplicity too!

    Reply
  • 31. Christine  |  June 10, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    It was hard not including the recipe. Now I have to come up with a whole new line of thinking! Hard for me cos I hate writing! Love the springform pan I think it gives the tart a rustic look! Great job!

    Reply
  • 32. JacqueOH  |  June 10, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I totally agree with you about Dorie’s comment regarding the food processor sound changing. She was exactly right and I’m not sure I would have know “when” without that comment.

    Anyway, great job, it looks delish!

    Reply
  • 33. Jenny  |  June 10, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    I love the rustic edge to your tart.

    Reply
  • 34. Annemarie  |  June 10, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    I {heart} this tart, too!!

    Reply
  • 35. Liliana  |  June 10, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Your tart looks wonderful! Great photos!

    Reply
  • 36. rainbowbrown  |  June 10, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    I love the straight edge on tart crusts like yours. Yummy looking tart you got there!

    Reply
  • 37. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  June 10, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Great job! Love all the pictures – Dorie-nators unite! ; )

    Reply
  • 38. Dolores  |  June 10, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    I agree with you… the visual, textural and aural cues Dorie provides are wonderful for the novice and experienced baker alike. I never fail to learn *something* as a result of our weekly assignments.

    Reply
  • 39. amanda  |  June 10, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Your pictures are lovely! It’s good to hear that you guys enjoyed it!

    Reply
  • 40. Linda  |  June 10, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    I really love your process photos..and beautiful shots of the finished tart!

    Reply
  • 41. Danielle  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    So simple yet so exciting to eat!

    Reply
  • 42. mari  |  June 11, 2008 at 3:00 am

    Beautiful! Well done for getting your tart shell so thin in a springform pan! I would have been afraid that would crumble. Mine tartlette shells were much thicker, but it was good, like eating a cookie.

    Reply
  • 43. Bumblebutton  |  June 11, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Your tart is lovely, and I like the added rusticity (hah! Is that a word?!! Did I spell it right?) that the springform added!

    Reply
  • 44. Hygeian Stew  |  June 11, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Good work on the tart! Sometimes simple recipes are the best!

    Reply
  • 45. Jaishree  |  June 12, 2008 at 12:42 am

    OMG,I fell in love with your photographs and the tart looks so good-i m trying it out for a lunch party this weekend.you are an excellent cook.

    Reply
  • 46. Shari  |  June 12, 2008 at 6:16 am

    You are so lucky to live in a place where you can get strawberries any time of year!! I loved this tart too. I love the way you explain things — I’m always smiling as i read your post.
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

    Reply
  • 47. noskos  |  June 12, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Delicious!!

    Reply
  • 48. Tessa  |  June 15, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Perfect!! I like the halved strawberries over my sliced. Great job!!

    Reply
  • 49. Jaime  |  June 19, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    your tart looks fabulous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,328 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


