TWD #13 Sweet Madeleine…

May 20, 2008 at 12:14 am 53 comments

Ohhh, sweet [madeleine], good times never seem so good ♫♪

Gotta love Neil Diamond.

This week’s TWD recipe was madeleines. I *think* I’ve had a madeleine before but I can’t say that I remembered how it was suppose to taste. It must have been a long time ago. I vaguely remember the familiar shell shape but other than that my memory escapes me. Since I didn’t have the required madeleine pan I decided to do my own spin on this french cookie favorite after chatting with other pan-less TWDers.

There were a couple suggestions thrown around – spoon, mini muffin pan, etc etc. The mini muffin pan caught my attention compared to the other ones… so thats what I decided to do. But apparently you were only suppose to fill it 1/4 full (if that) to maintain a round cookie shape rather than fill it to muffin level so I ended up making mini madeleine cupcakes instead! Oops.


Size comparison between the 3-1/4 oz regular cupcake liner vs the 2 oz mini.

.. or maybe it was one of those good mistakes? ;)

What I learned this week:
I do not need to buy a madeleine pan just because Dorie says so. <— Thats what my husband told me to repeat 10x until I believed it. LOL

Hosted by Tara @ Smells Like Home
Check out the Tuesdays w/ Dorie blogroll on the side menu bar.

UnTraditional Madeleines CuppyCookies


(Recipe from DG’s Baking: From my home to yours pages 166-168 | photos from me!)

Makes 12 large or 36 mini cookies

INGREDIENTS

2/3 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup sugar
Grated zest of 1 lemon
2 large eggs, at room temperature
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

INSTRUCTIONS

Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt. Working in a mixer bowl, or in a large bowl, rub the sugar and lemon zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and fragrant.


I am a obsessive complusive sifter.

Add the eggs to the bowl. Working with the whisk attachment, or with a hand mixer, beat the eggs and sugar together on medium-high speed until pale, thick and light, 2 to 3 minutes. Beat in the vanilla.

With a rubber spatula, very gently fold in the dry ingredients, followed by the melted butter.

Press a piece of plastic wrap against the surface of the batter and refrigerate it for at least 3 hours, or for up to 2 days. This long chill period will help the batter form the hump that is characteristic of madeleines. (For convenience, you can spoon the batter into the madeleine molds, cover and refrigerate, then bake the cookies directly from the fridge; see below for instructions on prepping the pans.)

[NOTES: I chilled mine overnight.]

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Butter 12 full-size madeleine molds, or up to 36 mini madeleine molds, dust the insides with flour and tap out the excess. Or, if you have a nonstick pan (or pans), give it a light coating of vegetable cooking spray. If you have a silicone pan, no prep is needed. Place the pan(s) on a baking sheet.

[NOTES: Obviously I used cupcake liners instead of the madeleine pan. Recipe made about 16 cupcakes for me.]

Spoon the batter into the molds, filling each one almost to the top. Don’t worry about spreading the batter evenly, the oven’s heat will take care of that. Bake large madeleines for 11 to 13 minutes, and minis for 8 to 10 minutes, or until they are golden and the tops spring back when touched. Remove the pan(s) from the oven and release the madeleines from the molds by rapping the edge of the pan against the counter. Gently pry any recalcitrant madeleines from the pan using your fingers or a butter knife. Transfer the cookies to a rack to cool to just warm or to room temperature.

[NOTES: I baked cupcakes for about 10 minutes.]

If you are making minis and have more batter, bake the next batch(es), making certain that you cool, then properly prepare the pan(s) before baking.

Just before serving, dust the madeleines with confectioners’ sugar.

[NOTES: I melted some milk chocolate and white chocolate and dipped the tops of the cupcakes to make my version of a black and white madeleine cupcake. Too fun!]

Serve the cookies when they are only slightly warm or when they reach room temperature, with tea or espresso.

Storing: Although the batter can be kept in the refrigerator for up to 2 days, the madeleines should be eaten soon after they are made. You can keep them overnight in a sealed container, but they really are better on day 1. If you must store them, wrap them airtight and freeze them; they’ll keep for up to 2 months.

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A-/B+
I liked this recipe but I think the thickness of the cupcake dried it out so it was a little dense by the 2nd day for me but the batter was very tasty!

Next week: Pecan Honey Sticky Buns pages 51-53

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

VTV #5 Broccoli & cheeeese, please… NFR: “Loss for words”

53 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  May 19, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    How cool are you??!! Those look so good, I want to reach through the computer and grab one. Big and fluffy, with chocolate too!!

    Reply
  • 2. Gretchen Noelle  |  May 19, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Love the song. Love it. Now it will be in my head as I try to sleep.

    I did mini cupcakes too. I thought that a small layer in the bottom of the regular sized cupcake pan might have done the trick. But the minis were so convenient. So the second time around (yes, second) I did the same. I think they would be *perfect* with a lemony glaze as a mini cupcake. MMmmmmm….

    Reply
  • 3. kdgreen  |  May 19, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    You are so creative! how fun. I thought about going the mini muffin pan route but decided to go back to a past recipe instead. Yours look delish!

    Reply
  • 4. lemontartlet  |  May 19, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    You and nobody else would make cupcakes out of them. This is another reason why I adore you (and tell your man I’m a fan of his!)

    Reply
  • 5. kim  |  May 19, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    so cute!! looks like they came out great, and i love your decorations :)

    Reply
  • 6. peabody  |  May 20, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Glad to see that the mini muffin pan worked out for you. And with chocolate…nice.

    Reply
  • 7. Helen  |  May 20, 2008 at 12:53 am

    Fabulous! I love that you made mini muffins! Hx

    Reply
  • 8. Caitlin  |  May 20, 2008 at 3:34 am

    So cute! And really, I think you’d make anything and everything into cupcakes, so what could we expect? :)

    Reply
  • 9. Lori  |  May 20, 2008 at 4:19 am

    I did not buy the pan either. Its hard to buy a pan for something you have never even tried. But hey now I tried and I like them. WHo knows, for the right price there just may be a madeleine pan in my future.

    Yours look very cute!

    Reply
  • 10. Ulrike aka ostwestwind  |  May 20, 2008 at 4:36 am

    Next time I also use my mini muffin pan! Great idea!

    Reply
  • 11. April  |  May 20, 2008 at 4:39 am

    Your madeleine cuppies are really cute and creative! Love the chocolate topping! Everything is better with a little chocolate added!

    Reply
  • 12. Garrett  |  May 20, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Nice substitution for the madeleine tray, they still look delicious.

    Reply
  • 13. mrsabybaby  |  May 20, 2008 at 6:45 am

    I’m confused…Nina’s blog calls these MANdalines…? What is the real name?! LOL : )

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  May 20, 2008 at 7:46 am

    MRSABYBABY, I think she accidently spelled it wrong. Don’t worry… I am right. I am always right. HAHA!

    Reply
  • 15. Mara  |  May 20, 2008 at 9:22 am

    too cute, i love me some cuppies as you know…and madeleine cuppies, genius. now gimme one!!!

    Reply
  • 16. Heather  |  May 20, 2008 at 9:23 am

    haha! Cuppy cookies! Love it! Great job. Love the chocolate on top!

    Reply
  • 17. Marie  |  May 20, 2008 at 10:06 am

    I am sitting here kicking myself and thinking why didn’t I think of that!!! I think your little madeleine cupcakes are adorable! Well done on thinking outside of the box!!

    Reply
  • 18. Melissa  |  May 20, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Adorable!

    Reply
  • 19. Christine  |  May 20, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Gotta love these cuppy cakes! You rock!

    Reply
  • 20. mimi  |  May 20, 2008 at 10:43 am

    love that song!! it’s on my current ipod playlist … let’s go mets!

    and lovely little madeleine cupcakes, they look great!

    Reply
  • 21. Laura  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Hands, touching hands, reaching out
    Touching me, touching yoooooou…

    damn it that will be in my head all day;) awesome take on madelines. You are so creative!

    Reply
  • 22. Rebecca  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:45 am

    Oh, I’m surprised my husband doesn’t have me repeating that same chant yet. ;)

    Reply
  • 23. nikki57  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Ok now the cuppys make sense and are adorable. In the future please refrain from sending me the most confusing picture you have and just skip right to the one that shows it all.

    Thank you,
    The Management :P

    Reply
  • 24. CB  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:51 am

    THEMANAGEMENT, ooops! I just assumed you could visualize… I’ll do better next time.

    Reply
  • 25. Dianne  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:56 am

    They look great! What a good idea.

    Reply
  • 26. Dolores  |  May 20, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Your husband is right… (and I wish he’d coached me before I decided I needed to do the patriotic thing and stimulate the economy). :)

    Great job launching the next food craze… your mini madeleine cupcakes!

    Reply
  • 27. steph  |  May 20, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    uhh…are those black & white madeleines that i see?? that’s awesome!

    Reply
  • 28. Chris  |  May 20, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Madeleine cupcakes? I think I see my next attempt in front of me….:)

    Reply
  • 29. LyB  |  May 20, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Those madeleine/cupcakes take the cake! ;) Too cute indeed!

    Reply
  • 30. Cheryl  |  May 20, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    I bet they were great with chocolate!

    Reply
  • 31. Di  |  May 20, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Ooh, how can you go wrong with chocolate?! I’ve been eyeing Dorie’s recipe for chocolate dipped, marshmallow filled madeleines.

    Reply
  • 32. Baken  |  May 20, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    I love your madeline cupcakes! So cute.

    Reply
  • 33. Holly  |  May 20, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Love the mantra! I am so glad to see that this worked. They look awesome. I do have a bone to pick with you though… I can’t get that song out of my head now! : )

    Reply
  • 34. Annemarie  |  May 20, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Very, very cute! I definitely want to try these in cupcake form after seeing yours! Nice job!!

    Reply
  • 35. carrie  |  May 21, 2008 at 4:13 am

    Love Neil Diamond (and thought I was the only one who remembers PYT)….

    I also love your Madeleine improv! Great job!

    Reply
  • 36. JacqueOH  |  May 21, 2008 at 4:34 am

    LOL, your comment about obsessive compulsive sifting cracked me up. I like sifting too.

    They came out cute as a button, good idea using the mini cups.

    Reply
  • 37. CB  |  May 21, 2008 at 5:04 am

    CARRIE, um yeah… I think I dated myself with that one. LOL.

    Reply
  • 38. Vibi  |  May 21, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Hey Clara!
    Nice Madeleines/miniscupcakes! I thought of doing the same when the recipe was first proposed, since I didn’t have a Madeleines mould. But at the last minutes… my best friend lent me hers! I gotta get one though… after discovering how easy Madeleines are to make and such a delicious breakfast food (I knew very well industrial Madeleines, but nothing compares to home made ones). I’m sure yours didn’t last longer than mine! That’s a very nice thing you did: I find to participate even if though you don’t have everything to a tee, is the best! What team spirit you have! GREAT JOB! Bravo!

    Reply
  • 39. Donna  |  May 21, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Cupcakes! I expected as much from you! You never disappoint!
    And your hubby’s right. Why should we buy a new pan for every recipe? We’re creative people/godesses! We can improvise!
    Bravo, Bravo!

    Reply
  • 40. Liliana  |  May 21, 2008 at 7:49 am

    What a wonderful post! I love what you did with the madeleines.

    My husband would say the same thing about the pans!

    Reply
  • 41. Shirlie  |  May 21, 2008 at 7:59 am

    In the 2nd picture, they look like black and white cookies, which I grew up on and now, can’t find anywhere! Great improvisation. I agree with you about the drying out factor, mine did the same.

    Reply
  • 42. Shari  |  May 21, 2008 at 9:17 am

    You rock! Those are adorable!

    Reply
  • 43. rainbowbrown  |  May 21, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    oh, I love them. Good show.

    Reply
  • 44. Jules  |  May 21, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Mmmm. Those look pretty tasty! I like the idea of madeleine cupcakes.

    Reply
  • 45. Jaime  |  May 21, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    how cute, i love your cupcakes! (and the ode to TWD)

    Reply
  • 46. Jenny  |  May 22, 2008 at 1:34 am

    Oh boy, now I am going to have Neil Diamond in my head for the rest of the day! Thanks, CB. =P
    Good use of the mini cups, I never know what to do with mine.

    Reply
  • 47. mari  |  May 22, 2008 at 2:08 am

    I snuck out and got a madeleine pan this morning, so guess what I’ll be attempting for the weekend! I love your creative take on madeleines, though, you rock!

    Reply
  • 48. Heather Peskin  |  May 22, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    I just love this batch of Madeleine cupcakes. Good job!

    Reply
  • 49. Sihan  |  May 22, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    these would make fantastic cupcakes!

    Reply
  • 50. Cecilia  |  May 24, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Why no husband rating this week? I love how he made you repeat the “no new baking pan” mantra. Too funny.

    Loved the step-by-step photos that accompanied the instructions. Great job!

    Reply
  • 51. CB  |  May 24, 2008 at 8:15 am

    CECILLIA, uh…um… I don’t know. For some reason there weren’t any for him to eat when he got home. So weird. LOL.

    Reply
  • 52. Carol Peterman  |  May 24, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    If you had used a madeleine mold you would have found them to be a bit dry on the second day as well. They are a bake and eat the same day kind of cake. The muffin shape looks great.

    Reply
  • 53. CB  |  May 24, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    CAROL, ah good to know it wasn’t just the cupcakes then. Don’t you just love good mistakes? ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,915 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


