VTV #5 Broccoli & cheeeese, please…

May 19, 2008 at 5:33 pm 4 comments

I missed last week’s VTV and this week I am late. ::hangs head::

I swear I need a desk calendar just for my foodie events! LOL. Apologies to my veggie-loving friend Nina, who hosts Vindicate the Vegetable, for my tardiness this week but hopefully you’ll forgive me when you see what I’ve cooked up!

This is an oldie but goodie. Its one of the first recipes that I fondly remember when I first started blogging and started on my non-microwave semi-domestic journey after getting married. Ah… nostalgia.

Pasta Alfredo Bake
(Recipe adapted from AmbersKitchen | photo from me!)

INGREDIENTS

8 oz pasta, cooked and drained (I used penne)
2 cups broccoli florets (I used frozen broccoli florets, defrosted)
1 cup mushrooms (I omitted)
1-1/2 cups chicken, cooked and shredded or diced (I used pre-cooked chicken strips, diced)
1 jar alfredo sauce (I made scratch alfredo sauce, recipe after cut)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup mozzarella cheese (I used 1 cup, divided)
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese (I use about 1/3 cup instead)
2 tbsp butter

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 F degrees.

Coat the bottom of the two small or one medium baking dish with a thin layer of alfredo sauce. In a medium bowl, mix the pasta, broccoli, mushrooms, chicken, garlic, alfredo sauce, 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese until combined.

[NOTES: I omitted the mushrooms b/c I didn’t have any but I’ve made it with mushrooms before and its SO good. Definitely give it a try if you have some on hand. I used a 9×13 glass baking dish. You could probably cut some of the garlic between the alfredo bake and alfredo sauce recipe but I love garlic so I used the total 4 cloves. ]

Place mixture into baking dish and top with 1/2 cup mozzarella and parmesan cheese.

Cut the butter into small pieces and scatter on top of the cheese. Bake for 20 minutes or until cheese is hot and bubbly.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
Its one of his favorite dishes that I’ve ever made so he ate 3 plates and raved the whole time. He commented that the sauce didn’t seem as heavy as before so he definitely noticed the difference between scratch and store bought alfredo.

Wifey rating: A+
I was a little nervous b/c I made the alfredo from scratch but OHMYGOD you can taste the difference! I don’t think I’ll do jar alfredo again.

Other rating: A+
T’s bff came over to watch the bball game (Spurs *boo* vs Hornets *yay*) and he ate 3 plates! I have a feeling he loved it. haha

Alfredo Sauce
(Recipe from RecipeZaar | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
2 garlic clove, minced
2 cups heavy cream
1/4 teaspoon white pepper (I used regular pepper)
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
3/4 cup mozzarella cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

Melt butter in medium saucepan over medium/low heat. Add the garlic, cream, white pepper and bring mixture to a simmer. Stir often. Add the parmesan cheese and simmer sauce for 8-10 minutes or until sauce has thickened and is smooth.

When sauce has thickened add the mozzarella cheese and stir until smooth. STIR FREQUENTLY.

Entry filed under: Vindicate the Veggie.

VTV #5 Coming soon… TWD #13 Sweet Madeleine…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mrsabybaby  |  May 19, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Why must you make me want to be bad?! Seriously, this looks awesome. It has veggies in it so that balances the sauce right?! : )

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  May 19, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    MRSABYBABY, trust me when I tell you that this was FABULOUSly delicious! Veggies definitely cancel the sauce… thats my story. ;)

    Reply
  • 3. alan  |  May 19, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    mm one of my favorites

    p.s. my bdays coming up buy me something NOW

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  May 19, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    ALAN, you know the drill. email me the bday list. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,309 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


