Cilantro Citrus Chicken

May 17, 2008 at 9:41 am 11 comments

One of the perks of being part of my baking group, Tuesdays w/ Dorie, is not only seeing their amazing variations on baked goods every Tuesday (duh?!) but also being inspired by other things they cook and bake on the other 6 days.

During my daily GR lurking I came across, Lindsey’s, blog with her cilantro inspired chicken. I would say that cilantro is a popular ingredient in many Vietnamese dishes so I am a big fan of the flavor. Since I am a bad wifey and had no idea what I was making for dinner that night, I scrolled through the ingredients quickly hoping I had everything to make it and was bummed that I didn’t have orange juice or limes but after talking to my cooking-partner-in-crime, Nikki, she confirmed for me that lemons could work even though she thinks limes would be better. That settled it! I had a few lemons left over from some various baking projects and just decided to go for it and see how it tasted with my citrus switcheroo.


(Recipe from Cafe Johnsonia | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup chopped onion
1/3 cup fresh cilantro leaves
1/4 cup fresh parsley leaves (I used 1 tsp dried parsley)
juice of 1 orange (I omitted)
juice of 1 lime (I substituted 2 lemons)
1 tablespoon canola oil
2 garlic cloves
6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Cooking spray

To serve: fresh lime wedges

INSTRUCTIONS

Combine first 7 ingredients in a food processor; process until smooth. Place the chicken breasts and the herb mixture in a large zip-top plastic bag. Seal and marinate in refrigerator 1 hour, turning bags occasionally.


I think food tastes better when you make a big mess!

Prepare grill.

Remove chicken from bag; discard marinade. Let chicken stand 15 minutes. Sprinkle chicken evenly with salt, cumin, and pepper. Place chicken, breast side down, on a grill rack coated with cooking spray. Grill 12 minutes on each side or until a thermometer registers 165°, turning once.

[NOTES: I used my grill pan. I grilled, on medium heat, about 10-12 minutes each side.]

Served with 1/2 baked potato.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He loved it! Chicken was moist and tender with a nice kick from the cumin and lemon.

Wifey rating: A/A+
ditto hubs. I definitely will make again but next time I do want to try with the orange and limes to see a comparison.

Entry filed under: chicken, Uncategorized, veggie.

NFR: The O Word VTV #5 Coming soon…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsey (Cafe Johnsonia)  |  May 17, 2008 at 10:49 am

    I’m so honored you made that recipe!!! Glad you liked it. It looks even more delicious with the grill marks. I need to get me one of those pans….

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  May 17, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    LINDSEY, It was SO good. I definitely wanna try it with the orange juice and lime next time but substituting the lemon was pretty darn tasty! Thanks for sharing your recipe :)

    Reply
  • 3. mrsabybaby  |  May 17, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Hmmm…I have some leftover fresh cilantro from something I made last week. I might have to try this one!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  May 17, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    MRSABYBABY, definitely give it a try and tell me what you think! :)

    Reply
  • 5. Holly  |  May 17, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    That looks super yummy! Great grill marks!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  May 18, 2008 at 5:32 am

    HOLLY, I lurve my grill pan. Makes me feel all barbeque-y even though I don’t have a “real” barbeque. haha.

    Reply
  • 7. Ulrike aka ostwestwind  |  May 18, 2008 at 6:11 am

    I belong to the people who think that cilantro tastes soapy. Despite I grow it in my garden to mix it with lots of parsley, than I enjoy it. I hope I’ll make this recipe one day, so many dishes to try

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  May 18, 2008 at 6:38 am

    ULRIKE, Yeah I think cilantro is one of those things that is an acquired taste. My husband wasn’t use to it but now he likes it. Let me know what you think about this recipe, k? :)

    Reply
  • 9. nikki57  |  May 18, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Looks like turning the heat down on your grill pan worked. Since you forgot to thank me for that piece of cooking wisdom … you’re welcome :P

    Reply
  • 10. nikki57  |  May 18, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    OMG I just read the you love your grill pan comment. Two days ago you hated it silly. Hahaha you crack me up.

    PS can you bring me some chicken I’m hungry

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  May 18, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    NIKKI, yeah medium heat worked nicely and now I am in love with my grill pan. But excuuuuuuuuuse me? I believe I did give a shoutout TYVM!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


