NFR: The O Word

May 14, 2008 at 2:10 pm 20 comments

Its not what you’re thinking… You all are so narsty! Let’s get back to G-rated thoughts now…

(Nikki,You know I am talking to you!)

I promised my husband that I would change my last name before our first year anniversary. Its been 10 months so I am getting down to the deadline. Just to clarify, I always knew I would change to my husband’s name after I got married so its not an issue of losing my identity that has prevented me from taking the plunge. I guess I am not as attached to my last name as some brides are. I have 2 brothers that will carry on my family’s name and to be honest… [married name] is easier to say than [maiden name]. But the real reason why its taken so long is pure and simple: L-A-Z-Y!

Unfortunately (or fortunately) last week I received a letter from the DMV letting me know that its time for my license renewal that required me to come down to the station and take a new picture. UGH. So before I could kill 2 birds with one stone I finally drove my arse down to the Social Security Office promptly at 9am to change my last name from Clara N –> Clara O.

I drove up and saw that the line was already overflowing through the front door and starting to wrap around the side of the building… greeeeeeat. I was half tempted to bust a U and head home when I convinced myself any other day wouldn’t make a difference. I parked my car in a space that was far too compact for my Honda and got in the end of the line. The line slowly trudged forward like an assembly line. When I was getting close to the front I started getting giddy. Not too bad… only about 30 minutes, until I realized that I was getting to the front of the line to pull a ticket number. sigh…

An hour later they called my number: A174. The number is burned into my brain b/c I was staring at it for 60 minutes straight. Just a tip folks. A watched ticket number doesn’t get called. Bring a book. I need to write that down and submit it to the fortune cookie peeps so that other Chinese fast food eaters can be privy to the same wisdom.

Since I came prepared with the appropriate SS-5 form, identification (ie drivers license), marriage certificate and SS card, I was done in about 10 minutes. I have to admit I kinda cringed when they shredded my SS card. I wasn’t expecting that! I thought I could save it, maybe use it to scrapbook or something. Ah well… its in SS card heaven now.

How does it feel to have a new last name?

It feels… weird but a good kind of weird. Let’s put it this way. When the SS agent guy asked me to verify the information was correct on the change-of-name application I scanned it really fast and said “My last name is wrong… oh wait… no thats right.” Oops. I guess its gonna take me a little time to get use to the O word.

Next stop: DMV

PS. My reality tv junkie slash bloggy friend, April, reminded me yet another reason to change my last name; now people won’t think I am related to Tila Tequila. Sadly my hubs loves that skanky show. In T’s defense, I admit its like a car crash… you can’t look away!

Entry filed under: Not Food Related, Uncategorized.

TWD #12 No PI day for me :( Cilantro Citrus Chicken

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  May 14, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    You’ll get used to it! I still have to change my passport and there are probably a few places I didn’t change it- oh well! Happy name changing!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  May 14, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    JEN, ah geez I forgot about passport!

    Reply
  • 3. mrsabybaby  |  May 14, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    HA! I can’t believe you are just now doing this. : ) I totally think your married last name is easier to say than your maiden name. You’ll get used to it – it’s weird to me now when I hear someone call me by my maiden name. I’m like, “Who?!” LOL

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  May 14, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    MRSABYBABY, its kinda funny b/c the first place I changed my last name was facebook. Obviously thats way more important than SS or DL right? LOL

    Reply
  • 5. nikki  |  May 14, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Ohh I didn’t know telia had the most common last name on the planet … is that giving too much away because really everyone has that last name

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  May 14, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    NIKKI, i think you’re trying to be sarcastic humorous. Good ol NB. I can always count on you for sarcasm. haha.

    Reply
  • 7. Rachel  |  May 14, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    O, O, O it’s magic!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  May 14, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    RACHEL, damn you! now I have that song stuck in my head!!

    Reply
  • 9. NinaBeth  |  May 15, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Yay CB! I remember when I changed mine, it alsmost felt like I was pretending to be someone else and I fooled the DMV and SS offices. :)

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  May 15, 2008 at 5:20 am

    NINA, it totally feels like I am a character in a movie or a spy. I have multiple identities now…

    Reply
  • 11. mrsabybaby  |  May 15, 2008 at 6:00 am

    HA! I am so happy that you will no longer be related to Tila Tequila. That makes me feel better about being your friend. HA!

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  May 15, 2008 at 6:18 am

    MRSABYBABY, actually when I told T about that he was like “hmmm… I wonder if we could change your name to Tila now?” wtf?!?! Giving me the same name doesn’t give me her body. Though that would be cool… LOL

    Reply
  • 13. Mary  |  May 15, 2008 at 6:38 am

    I still have trouble remembering that I’m Mrs. L. instead of Mrs. U. It’s definitely a weird transition. But I still don’t have the passport done. Or my credit card. But that’s ok because I just use his! :)

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  May 15, 2008 at 7:31 am

    MARY, Dude. It took me 10 months to do SS… PP and CC are gonna be Oword-less for a while. I need time to revel in my SS change first… maybe 10 more months! LOL

    Reply
  • 15. Melissa  |  May 15, 2008 at 9:43 am

    :D I sat in the SS line (with a book) the first morning back from the honeymoon. They let me keep the old card and I gave it to my mother because I thought she’d like to have it. My credit cards & everything else were changed before the week was out.

    The thing that took a long time to get used to was signing my name. I’d get the “Melissa” out and have to think for a second before adding the last name. Then, I took a while before I liked how my signed name looked. Mebbe I should’ve started doodling in a notebook ala middle school for practice ;)

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  May 15, 2008 at 10:03 am

    MELISSA, You are a good wifey… 1 day? dang. Very smartypants. I did not bring any entertainment. I rearranged my purse and stared at my ticket number over and over again… My signature doesnt change much b/c I kinda do the first initial and then just line. HAHA!

    Reply
  • 17. bombshellwithin  |  May 15, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    See, part of my criteria for any future Mr. Bombshell is that his last name has to be WAY better than mine. And I’m going the American route, I’m changing my name no “de XYZ” (translation= of XYZ). And yes, I’m also the girl who doodles her serious boyfriends last name to her name all over as practice to see if it fits… and whether I need my middle name to balance the name out. If it doesn’t fit, then I predict eventual doom to my relationship for one reason or other. Crazy, ain’t I?

    Oh! I’m also not going to subject my children to the Hispanic attachment of the mother’s last name. One last name, that’s it. End of story. No offense to my momma, but it drives me batty being in PR and having to sign both last names. People even get snotty if you just sign one, they cattily ask if you don’t have a mother and if you just sprouted from the earth. Being born in NY, all my official paperwork is with just the first last name.

    *ends hijack commentary rant*

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  May 15, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    BOMBSHELL, at least you’ve thought about it. I felt like a dork when I got to the window and the SS agent guy asked me how I wanted my name and I hadn’t really thought about it. I made sure I had all the right paperwork and ID but didn’t even think about the name part! But I figure I made the right decision if thats the first one that came out under duress. No hyphen, no extra middle name=maiden name, no 2 last names no hyphen… Just cut my maiden and replace with married name. Done.

    Reply
  • 19. Lauren  |  May 16, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    With almost 12 years of marriage, when I’m referred to as Mrs. S, I still think people are talking to my mother-in-law.

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  May 17, 2008 at 6:31 am

    LAUREN, LOL. Same with me! Everytime I hear Mrs. O I think my MIL is standing behind me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


