TWD #12 No PI day for me :(

May 13, 2008 at 1:26 am 17 comments

Apologies to this week’s TWD hostess, Diane @ Diane’s Dishes for not being able to complete her Dorie selection this week. Unfortunately I got plagued with baked-out syndrome after baking various cupcake orders and Mother’s day sweets. Make no mistake though, I am incredibly bummed b/c Tuesday has quickly become my favorite day to connect with all my fellow TWDers via their blogs and Dorie inspired desserts. Please forgive me. I’ll be back in my baking apron next week.

At least for the rest of the day I will be baking in spirit via the TWD blogroll and indulging in my fellow bakers’ Florida pie-scapades. I have no doubts that I will be blown away with everyone’s take on an old fashion Floridian favorite.

Here’s the recipe for any readers that wanna give this recipe a whirl. I am definitely putting this one on the must-bake-someday list myself.

Florida Pie
(Recipe from DG Baking: From my home to yours pages 340-341)

INGREDIENTS

1-9-inch graham cracker crust, fully baked and cooled (recipe after the cut)
1-1/3 cups heavy cream
1-1/2 cups shredded sweetened coconut
4 large eggs, separated
1-14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup fresh Key (or regular) lime juice (from about 5 regular limes)
1/4 cup of sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Put the pie plate on a baking sheet lined with parchment of a silicone mat.

Put the cream and 1 cup of the coconut in a small saucepan and bring it to a boil over medium-low heat, stirring almost constantly. Continue to cook and stir until the cream is reduced by half and the mixture is slightly thickened. Scrape the coconut cream into a bowl and set it aside while you prepare the lime filling.

Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with a paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl beat the egg yolks at high speed until thick and pale. Reduce the mixer speed to low and beat in the condensed milk. Still on low, add half of the lime juice. When it is incorporated, add the reaming juice, again mixing until it is blended. Spread the coconut cream in the bottom of the graham cracker crust, and pour over the lime filling.

Bake the pie for 12 minutes. Transfer the pie to a cooling rack and cool for 15 minutes, then freeze the pie for at least 1 hour.

To assemble pie w/ meringue—
Put the 4 egg whites and the sugar in a medium heavy-bottomed saucepan and heat over medium-low heat, whisking all the while, until the whites are hot to the touch. Transfer the whites to a stand mixer, fitted with the whisk attachment, or use a hand mixer in a large bowl, and beat the whites at high speed until they reach room temperature and hold firm peaks. Using a rubber spatula, fold the remaining 1/2 cup coconut into the meringue.

Spread the meringue over the top of the pie, and run the pie under the broiler until the top of the meringue is golden brown. (Or, if you’ve got a blowtorch, you can use it to brown the meringue.) Return the pie to the freezer for another 30 minutes or for up to 3 hours before serving.

Next week: Madeleines pages 166-168 or can choose to revisit a past Dorie recipe.

Graham Cracker Crust

INGREDIENTS

1-3/4 cups graham cracker crumbs
3 tbsp sugar
pinch of salt
1/2 stick (4 tbsp) unsalted butter, melted

INSTRUCTIONS

Butter a pie pan.

Stir the crumbs, sugar and salt together in a medium bowl. Pour over the melted butter and stir until all the dry ingredient are uniformly moist. (I do this with my fingers.) Turn the ingredients into the pie pan pan and use your fingers to pat an even layer of crumbs over the bottom of the pan and about halfway up the sides. Don’t worry if the sides are not perfectly even or if the crumbs reach slightly above or below the midway point on the sides. Put the pan in the freezer while you preheat the oven. (The crust can be covered and frozen for up to 2 month.)

Center a rack in the oven, preheat the oven to 350 F and place the pie pan on the baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes. Set the crust aside to cool on a rack while you make the pie.

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

NFR: Blogger 411 Meme NFR: The O Word

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gretchen Noelle  |  May 13, 2008 at 3:52 am

    :(

    Reply
  • 2. NinaBeth  |  May 13, 2008 at 4:13 am

    Darn, I was looking forward to reading how the lemon worked! Oh well, we all get a little “cooked out” sometimes. Looking forward to what you choose next week!

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  May 13, 2008 at 5:17 am

    NINA, after chatting with you I was all gung ho to try the lemon but then I realized I didn’t have the condensed milk either. ugh. oh well…

    Reply
  • 4. lemontartlet  |  May 13, 2008 at 8:44 am

    You know I’ll be poking you to try this later, it’s so good and you *have* to try key limes. You are really kicking butt on the baking orders, go CB!

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  May 13, 2008 at 8:48 am

    LEMON, I definitely want to try it esp after seeing so many cute little mini versions. thanks for the comment love. It was feeling a little lonely today. sniff

    Reply
  • 6. Susan  |  May 13, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    i understand about getting “baked out” – but you will have to try these sometime! Mostly, I wanted to say thanks for stopping by my blog – i feel like the kid that slipped in to the birthday party uninvited where everyone already knows everyone else…i was afraid no one would talk to me! soooo – thanks! stop by anytime!

    Reply
  • 7. Vibi  |  May 13, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    These are such nice words Clara… the “-scapades” was too cute!
    You have no idea how happy you make me when you leave a comment on my blog – You make my day …especially that you really didn’t have to, since you didn’t post a pie today… that was going out of your way (in French on top of it all!!!).
    You must really be one of those “One of a kind person” …too bad the virtuality of our relationship keeps us from finding out if it mirrors reality.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  May 13, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    VIBI, Trust me. I LOVE getting comments so I totally understand how much leaving a comment means sometimes. I am so excited that you have that blogspot english translation thingy. Makes reading your blog 10x faster since my french is very slow. I appreciate you letting me practice and not laughing too much when I mess up! haha. Thanks for your sweet compliments. Hopefully someday I’ll be in France and we can meet at a cafe and chat. Wouldn’t that be lovely? ;)

    Reply
  • 9. steph  |  May 13, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    oh well, but completely understandable! see you next week!

    Reply
  • 10. Holly  |  May 13, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    I know what you mean. I kept putting it off and just didn;t feel like it, but I did get around tp it yesterday. We still love ya!

    Reply
  • 11. Lori  |  May 14, 2008 at 4:47 am

    I was so close to not making this pie. Sunday night I said hey I did not get a dessert for Mothers Day. So I went ahead and made it.

    Reply
  • 12. Marie  |  May 14, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Sorry you couldn’t play this time, but there will be other times. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your lovely comments on my entry! Much appreciated! Three days later and I am still trying to make my way through the list!

    Reply
  • 13. mari  |  May 14, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Phewww….now I don’t feel so guilty! ;-)

    Reply
  • 14. Dianne  |  May 14, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I completely understand the burn out! Hope you do enjoy it if you do try it in the future. :)

    Reply
  • 15. Natalie  |  May 14, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    No pie?!? No pie!?! Hehehe – I completely get the baked out thing. (and I’m not even doing Daring Bakers or Cupcake Hero :)

    Reply
  • 16. michelle  |  May 14, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    it’s like key lime pie on crack…which can only be a very good thing.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  May 14, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    MICHELLE, key lime crack pie. LOVE IT.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


