Creamy Farfalle w/ Cremini, Asparagus and Walnuts

May 8, 2008 at 6:42 am 2 comments

I was in an asparagus and pasta mood after seeing the Vindicate the Vegetable roundup last week. All those yummy pastas were calling my name. Since I was craving pasta I decided to try a pasta recipe thats been on my “must-cook” list for a couple weeks now. The only ingredient that I was missing were the cremini mushrooms so I decided to go without and add in some chicken (since T always needs some protein!) but I bet its fabulous with mushrooms. Next time I make it I’ll be sure to have the mushrooms on hand. YUM!


Click image to enlarge
(Recipe from Giadia DeLaurentiis, www.foodnetwork.com | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

Salt
1 pound farfalle pasta
3 tablespoons butter
1 pound cremini mushrooms, thickly sliced (I omitted)
1 pound thin asparagus, trimmed, cut crosswise into 1-inch pieces
1 cup mascarpone cheese
Pinch freshly grated nutmeg
3/4 cup walnuts, toasted
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan
pre-cooked chicken strips, sliced in 1-2 inch pieces

INSTRUCTIONS

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the farfalle and cook until al dente, stirring occasionally, about 12 minutes. Drain, reserving 1 cup of pasta water.

Meanwhile, melt the butter in a heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add the mushrooms and saute until tender and most of the juices have evaporated, about 5 minutes. Add the asparagus and saute until the asparagus is crisp-tender, about 5 minutes. Add the farfalle.

[NOTES: I omitted the mushrooms and sauteed the asparagus and chicken together.]

Stir in the mascarpone and nutmeg and toss until the cheese coats the pasta, adding the reserved cooking liquid 1/4 cup at a time to moisten. Stir in 1/2 cup of walnuts. Season the pasta, to taste, with salt and pepper. Mound the pasta in a large bowl. Sprinkle with the Parmesan and remaining 1/4 cup of walnuts. Serve.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A
I wasn’t sure if he’d like this pasta that much b/c he prefers tomato based sauces but he raved esp about the walnuts. haha.

Wifey rating: A
I really liked this pasta. The walnuts were so yummy and the sauce was creamy. Definitely will make again!

Entry filed under: chicken, pasta, Uncategorized, veggie.

NFR: Amor vincit omnia NFR: HELP! Mother’s Day

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristina  |  May 8, 2008 at 11:29 am

    I love adding nuts to my white pasta dishes! This sounds super yummy, I’ll have to try it :)

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  May 8, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    KRISTINA, it very yummy with the walnuts! Let me know what you think if you try it :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


