NFR: Amor vincit omnia

May 7, 2008 at 8:44 am 16 comments

I hope you’re sitting down for this one…

TemperedWoman, all your questions will be answered but I am not responsible for panic attacks, squeals and/or nail biting. You’ve been warned. LOL

As my readers probably know from my recent Daring Bakers post, this past Saturday was my FSIL’s bridal shower. I started my day at 6am, putting finishing touches on cupcakes, cheesecake pops, salad and a grab bag of other props that I needed to bring to this ritualistic wedding event.

At about 845am, T drove me to BM#2’s house since he had so graciously offered to help her husband “babysit” their 2 kids, Jacob: 4-1/2 years old and Evan: 5 months old. Now T loves kids but I knew me and BM#2 would be gone all day at the bridal shower, about 7-8 hours, so I wasn’t sure if T really understood what was meant to take care of 2 kids. But since we were running late, me and BM#2 left on our merry way while in the background the 5 month old baby was already screeching his little heart out. I am pretty sure at that moment that T was thinking… “What did I get myself into?” LOL.

Me and BM#2 arrived to the shower 30 minutes late and the house was still in the beginning stages of getting ready for a party. Since I was in charge of buying the decorations (which I already had issues with but thats a whole different rant) I started hanging streamers and scattering brightly colored confetti on the tables. BM#2 left me to help MOH and the moms organize games, rearrange furniture and figure out the obstacle course they wanted guests to walk while getting the food. Soon after guests started arriving.

The shower was a beautiful gathering of the women in both the bride and groom’s families, guests were fed and happy, not all the games were lame and there were gifts galore for the new bride (but really…? how many towels does one bride need??). All in all, I’d say it was a successful shower. I am happy to say that I got raves for all my foodie contributions. But you all already knew I was an AW like that right? HAHA!

BM #2 and I stayed to clean up like good little bridesmaids and left the party about 430pm. As we were driving home her cell phone rang and you could hear the husbands begging us to come home. What do you know? Taking care of 2 kids *IS* hard work. We stopped by Baby’s R Us really fast for diapers and got home around 530pm. When we walked into the house, T looked exhausted and BM#2 hubs was glaring and questioned us… “Where the fudge have you girls been?” (I am sure you can replace fudge with the word he actually used.) He immediately handed 5 month old Evan to mommy and ran for the hills (ie he and T went to get us some dinner). After a long day I was ready to call it a night right after we ate dinner. Too tired for chitchat. It was dine and ditch time. So T and I headed home at about 8pm. As we were walking to our car I remembered I forgot something at the house and T walked back to the house while I continued towards the car.

After sitting in the passenger seat for way too long I looked towards the house and saw spots of light coming from flashlights. Did I mention that I was tired? I started to get very annoyed thinking that T was playing light sabers with BM#2’s hubs and 4-1/2 year old Jacob when I wanted to go home! ::stomping feet:: Exasperated I walked back towards the house and realized that BM#2’s hubs and T were on their hands and knees in the muddy wet grass looking for … his wedding ring! Some how between walking towards the house, he violently shook his hands (he says he was cold and it was a natural reaction), and his ring flew off.

Side note: The situation is highly ironic to me b/c T complains all the time that *I* would be the one to lose my ring since I take it off to cook, clean, wash dishes, shower etc. Go figure huh?

OHMYGOD!

Let me just explain right now that I am a sentimental person. The ring itself wasn’t extravagantly expensive. T is not a bling guy. There were no diamonds. It was a plain white gold band. We could easily have bought him a new one but… It wouldn’t be the ring I slipped on his finger while saying our vows in front of our family and friends 9 months earlier; A new ring just wouldn’t be the same. Hopefully other newlyweds can understand where I am coming from on this one. Maybe its just me? *shrugs

It supposedly landed in a patchy grass area in the dark spot between 2 street lights so it was pitch black and impossible to find a ring in the middle of grass that desperately needed to be cut. It was literally like looking for a needle in a haystack. But we persisted to look hoping that by some miracle we’d find it. Of course, we didn’t go unnoticed. Neighbors were probably wondering from their windows what the heck the 4 of us (well 5 if you count 4-1/2 year old Jacob who was helping by digging in the dirt with a thermometer) were doing on our hands and knees with flashlights. After a while neighbor upon neighbor came over to help in the search after we explained the situation.

It became a ring finding block party.

People came with rakes, gloves, flashlights, ziplock bags, weed trimmers etc etc. But after the first hour, neighbors were starting to give up and go home. I don’t blame them. I was giving up hope too. But the ones that stayed continued the search. During a random conversation as we were all pushing blades of grass, one neighbor happen to ask T to describe the ring and he told her about the inscription inside: Amor vincit omnia – Love conquers all things written in Latin. She saw me, starting to sniffle, out of the corner of her eye and said “Don’t worry honey! With a inscription like that we have to find it!”. About 10 minutes later a random neighbor walked by and asked if a metal detector would help? Ok seriously. Who has a metal detector just chilling in their house? I guess love does conquers all things… even lack of a metal detector? haha.

Metal-detector-neighbor ran back to his house and retrieved it for us but since he was headed out somewhere he didn’t have a long time to explain exactly how to use it before he had to leave. BM#2’s hubs took the reins on the metal detector and then started the *beep beep*. At first hearing the high pitched beep renewed my hope but it soon wained after hearing beep after beep but still coming up empty. I slumped back down into my corner on the sidewalk. It wasn’t until BM#2’s hubs adjusted the sensitivity so that the metal detector would stop picking up sprinkles that they started getting the hang of how it worked.

Two hours after we began our ring search, T screamed like a little girl and I heard simultaneous applause, I raised my head from my arms to see the commotion.

HE FOUND HIS RING!

EDIT: T wanted me to make note it wasn’t like a little girl, it was a more deeper manly sounding exclamation. Yeah… riiiiiight!?

There’s something to be said about this experience. I always tease T that I want an upgrade on our 10 year anniversary but I realized that night how sentimental I am about the symbolism of his ring and my ring. On the drive home I told T that I don’t need an upgrade in 10 years but… I wouldn’t mind a right hand diamond ring! ;)

PS. Today is my brother’s 27th birthday. I won’t be able to celebrate with him since he’s 3000 miles away saving lives in NY but I miss him very much and wish him a happy happy birthday! Love you bro. ♥

Entry filed under: Not Food Related, Uncategorized.

TWD #11: Like a fat kid loves tortecakes Creamy Farfalle w/ Cremini, Asparagus and Walnuts

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ninabeth  |  May 7, 2008 at 9:15 am

    We are the exact same way. You know that John is loosing weight and his ring is already 1 1/2 sizes too big so we had the jeweler put on a sizer, well they told him since he will probably go down 3 sizes by the time he’s done loosing weight he will have to get a new ring cast. John was devestated! He says he’s going to keep the sizer on there forever. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  May 7, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Good thing I heard the whole story on the phone because I would have to sit still way too long to read this :P

    Oh and silly CB, when you get your upgrade you just need to have your diamond taken out of the band and turned into a necklace. Then you can find another pretty non diamond to put back in your ring. Then you get three pieces of jewelry all in one upgrade and you can still wear them all. Nikki = smarty pants

    Reply
  • 3. Kristina  |  May 7, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Wow! I’m glad you found it! I love the inscription, I wanted to get Ben’s inscribed, but we didn’t have time.
    Your ring looks gorgeous! Is it a princess? I can’t imagine you would need an upgrade. I’m one to talk though, mines currently at the jeweler getting remounted for my birthday lol

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  May 7, 2008 at 11:03 am

    NINA, Gooooooooo John! w00t w00t. Obviously T needs to invest in a sizer too. haha.

    NIKKI, LOL. Thats why I started with “hope you’re sitting down”. As for the upgrade suggestion… Hell yeah! I’ll have to retract my previous upgrade statement to T when he gets home tonight. ;)

    KRISTINA, Honestly it was my father that suggested we get it engraved but he’s not the sentimental type. It was more for insurance purposes. I guess being able to describe your ring with something different than “white gold band” is better? *shrugs Thank you about my ring! Yes, its a princess. I am obsessed with the square cut. I just think its gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 5. zebe912  |  May 7, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Yikes. Heart attack!! I don’t think I would have lasted that long looking, and/or would have gone to buy a metal detector right away. Thank goodness he realized right away that it had disappeared.

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  May 7, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    ZEBE, total heart attack! A couple neighbors mentioned buying/renting a metal detector but we had no idea where to go buy one!?

    Reply
  • 7. Vibi  |  May 7, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    The ring story was amazing… I almost cried… and cheered when T found the ring!
    Just a thought:
    After 30 years of marriage, my mother wanted an upgrade to her wedding ring (even if she allreay had a couple small diamonds on it) and I think like you, she didn’t want to change the whole thing for sentimental reasons (and yes, I understand you very well), so she had hers transformed into a different band with bigger diamonds.
    It’s just a suggestion really, but if you go to a really good jeweller, he can take your ring and add to it, so you keep the same white gold, the same… atoms! …and just adds a bit of bling. He might have to melt it to cast it again for claws to hold some stoneZzzz, but you can surely get the latin words engraved again.
    Yay! Go for the 10 years bling!

    Reply
  • 8. bombshellwithin  |  May 7, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Oh my goodness honey, I would have been bawling on your behalf if I were part of that ring search party! But luckily you found it!

    and… I tend to believe that T screeched like a little girl. Men are so silly… like we think less of them for screeching! pfffffft No way! Heck, the man spent 2 hours on his hands and knees for that ring. He had every right to squeal like a bee-yotch. ;) :p

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  May 8, 2008 at 5:57 am

    VIBI, Thanks for stopping by and practicing your English! Bare with me while I try to practice my French, k? Hou la. 30 ans de mariage! Thats sans doute quelque chose je veux être en mesure de dire de moi et mon mari un de ces jours. Quel accomplissement! J’aime votre suggestion … plus de bling! haha.

    BOMBSHELL, oh he totally squealed like a little biotch but its definitely warranted. I have to say I was very impressed that he never stopped looking for one moment. Watching his determination made me fall in love with him again. ::cheese::

    Reply
  • 10. mrsabybaby  |  May 8, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    This is a fantastic story – I laughed, I cried, I was on the edge of my seat – good movie! : )
    PS – So glad you guys found it. I would freak out completely.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  May 8, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    MRSABYBABY, Me thinks I need start writing screenplays huh? haha. Trust me. I was freaking out inside. Glad you feel me on this one…

    Reply
  • 12. Mary  |  May 9, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    ok, I was sniffling while reading that. The Brain and I got married about 2 months after I lost a very well paying job and he was starting his law practice. So our rings were on the inexpensive side. But I would never replace my simple little solitaire and plain gold band. For the same exact reason you got teary eyed when you thought T lost his ring for good.

    Great story!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  May 9, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    MARY, aawwww. I am sure that losing your job and starting his law practice was a stressful time but I think adversity in a marriage can make you stronger if both ppl are determined to face the adversity together so I am glad you and The Brain persevered. :) I hope that me and T follow suit in the rest of our lives…

    Reply
  • 14. Rachel  |  May 9, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    I love a happy ending! Thanks for sharing the story. :D

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  May 10, 2008 at 6:54 am

    RACHEL, Whew! me too!

    Reply
  • 16. Brent P.  |  July 2, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Warm fuzzies to return something once treasured and lost, forgotten yet longed for. I recovered a ring, wedding band with initials engraved inside, traced to a teacher, lost on the schoolgrounds 30 years earlier. Warm feelings for sure..though by this time she couldn’t share the find with her hubby who had passed a few years earlier.

    Great story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,861 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


