PSA: Possibly+related+posts=lame

April 26, 2008 at 5:40 am 12 comments

I just noticed the new “feature” that WP has introduced to all blogs – Possibly Related Posts – at the bottom of my blog entries. The keyword is “possibly” b/c some of the links that magically appeared on my blog were in no way shape or form related to my blog. UGH! I think I was most annoyed b/c of the way it is set up; it makes it look like *I am* the one recommending these blogs/links. Granted a couple links are previous posts from my own blog which is great but if I want to recommend someone’s blog I can do it myself!

So I began my quest on how to get rid of said “possibly related posts” and thought other WP users would find the information useful.

If you want to remove the related posts from your blog entirely…

Design –> Extras –> check the box that says “Hide related links on this blog, which means this blog won’t show up on other’s blogs or get traffic that way”

They make it sound all scary that you won’t get traffic but I think I am doing fine on my own. Thank you very much. Sorry WP. A big huge foam finger thumbs down on this feature.

Entry filed under: PSA.

Day 25 NFR: What is your last lecture?

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  April 26, 2008 at 7:07 am

    I <3 useless features… then again, WP pwns Blogger like none other, so you’re ahead of me there :-P

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  April 26, 2008 at 7:13 am

    CAITLIN, trust me. this feature is not cool. I am a control freak so I do not like when things magically appear on my posts. ps. WP rules (except for PRPs). LOL. so if I am understanding “pwned” in the correct context, you think WP is better but you still use blogspot? CB=confused.

    Reply
  • 3. bombshellwithin  |  April 26, 2008 at 8:59 am

    AHA! CB, I blame you for making me totally paranoid! I hurried over to my dashboard to remove that feature STAT and saw I didn’t even have it marked. LOL Talk about being crazy but I completely get you on not wanting the random generator of links on your screen. It’s one thing if it recommends yourself or someone you know, but total strangers that have nothing to do with it? No way!

    And of course you’re doing well on your own… sheesh, I think 8 hits of yours daily are just from me. :D

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  April 26, 2008 at 9:06 am

    BOMBSHELL, haha. so you had it checked or unchecked? If you check the box then it won’t show up on your blog. If you leave it unchecked then you’ll get PRP on your blog. ps. thanks for your contribution to my stats ;)

    Reply
  • 5. Madam Chow  |  April 29, 2008 at 4:52 am

    I’m new to WP, so where is “Designs” and “Extras”? Those aren’t any options that I see on my panel.

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  April 29, 2008 at 5:46 am

    MADAMCHOW, You know the screen where you click to “write a post”? there should be a tab next to “write” that says “design”. Let me know if you are still confused. Hope that helps!

    Reply
  • 7. steph  |  April 29, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    oh–thanks you so much for writing this. i didn’t know if they just started doing this, or if i’m blind and only just noticed, but it has been really pissing me off. it is so lame, and have no idea what these ramdom posts are, i click the links and they aren’t related at all!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  April 29, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    STEPH, no prob. I am not exactly sure how long this as been on my blog but I noticed it the other day and was EXTREMELY annoyed. Now they have adjusted it to say “automatically generated” but it still irks me so I took it off. Glad my rant helped you. haha.

    Reply
  • 9. Madam Chow  |  May 1, 2008 at 4:34 am

    CB, my menu on WP doesn’t have those options. Have you updated to the newer version of WP? I haven’t done that, and that may be why I don’t have those options.

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  May 1, 2008 at 8:00 am

    MADAMCHOW, yeah I have the updated version. After you update see if you have the options. If not I can do a print screen for you if that helps! Let me know.

    Reply
  • 11. nikki57  |  May 1, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    MadamChow – you’re using wordpress.org so you’re fine. It’s us wordpress.com-ers that have to deal with this

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  May 1, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    oh oh oh. You got .org. Yeah I got the ghetto WP version so looks like you don’t have to worry about PRPs. Thanks for clarifying Nikki! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,059 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


