Think Spice #1: [Cloves]

April 25, 2008 at 6:57 pm 4 comments

I am addicted to foodie blog events!

When I saw that fellow TWDer, Gretchen, was hosting her own foodie challenge, I knew that I wanted to contribute since she always indulges my blog posts with sincere compliments, suggestions and wit. She’s one of those readers that makes you want to keep blogging just so you can get a comment from her. Or maybe I am just a CW. Take your pick. LOL. Since she knows that I am a cupcake fanatic she even suggested that a clove cupcake would be very cool. ::winkhintwink::

Now usually I would bake cupcakes for any blog event but after baking 48 red velvet cupcakes for T’s class tomorrow (Isn’t he a dedicated teacher, working on Saturday?), I was cupcake-ed out. Since I wasn’t in a cupcake mood, I decided to bake some cookies!

I’ve had cookies on the brain ever since seeing fellow TWDer, Donna‘s, blog who’s having a Martha Stewart Cookies book giveaway. But don’t bother going to her blog. I don’t need more competition. ;)

Honey Pecan Snaps


(Recipe from allrecipes.com | photos from me!)

Makes about 30 cookies

INGREDIENTS

1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/4 cup shortening
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup honey
1 eggs
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 cups all-purpose flour
1-1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped pecans
Additional sugar for dusting

INSTRUCTIONS

In a mixing bowl, cream butter, shortening and sugar until fluffy. Add honey, eggs and lemon juice; beat well. Combine dry ingredients; gradually add to creamed mixture. Fold in pecans.


Click image to enlarge

Shape into 1-in. balls; roll in sugar. Place on ungreased baking sheets. Bake at 350 degrees F for 12-13 minutes or until golden brown. Cool 2 minutes; remove to wire racks.


Click image to enlarge

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He likes spice type cookies, cakes etc so he really liked this cookie. He ate alot more than one ;)

Wifey rating: A
I wasn’t sure what to expect but this cookie was moist with great flavors – cinnamon and cloves – and the crunch from the pecans was very good.

Other rating: A
T’s bff said it was a good cookie even though he doesn’t really like “spice” flavors. He prefers pb and/or chocolate instead.

Entry filed under: blog event, cookies.

NFR: I Don’t Need A Superhero Day 25

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  April 26, 2008 at 9:25 am

    You STINKER! I LOVE IT! :P
    Great post too!
    I can’t believe I didn’t know anything about her thing!
    And I also see you’ve got 12,236 dirty dishes sitting in your sink! Now I know why!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  April 26, 2008 at 9:33 am

    DONNA, haha. I thought you’d get a kick out of it. Oh yeah… dIrty dishes piling up fast. I hate doing dishes!! Its the worst part of baking IMO.

    Reply
  • 3. Gretchen Noelle  |  April 26, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Very fun idea…honey and pecan…love them…I may just toss these together later tonight. Thanks for participating!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  April 26, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    GRETCHEN, It was yummy! let me know what you think if you try them. Thanks for hosting!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,357 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter