Tostadas Salsa Verde

April 23, 2008 at 11:48 pm 5 comments

I am currently addicted to Martha Stewart’s cookbook – Great Food Fast – that I bought at Costco last week. I love that every recipe has a picture. I don’t know about you but I am more inclined to try my hand at the recipe if there’s a picture. I think it just makes me more aware of what it “should” look like so I know right away if I am doing something wrong.

Tonight T requested Mexican and this recipe immediately jumped out at me esp since I remembered about a lonely bottle of green salsa in the back of my frig that I bought by mistake for another recipe. I hate when I do that. But it all worked out in the end since I used it for tonight’s dinner instead ;)

Rock on.


(Recipe from MS Great Food Fast page 211 | photos from me!)

Makes 4-6 servings

INGREDIENTS

4 flour tortillas (6″ inch) (I used 6 small corn tortillas instead)
3 oz (3/4 cup) shredded pepper jack cheese (I used cheddar-jack blend)
2-1/2 cups (10 0z) shredded poached chicken (I used pre-cooked chicken strips)
1 cup jarred green salsa, plus more for serving (optional)
1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp chopped cilantro (I omitted b/c I didn’t have any)
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1 cup shredded iceberg lettuce (I used romaine instead)
3 plum tomatoes, diced
1/4 cup sour cream

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 400 F. Arrange the tortillas on a rimmed baking sheet. Sprinkle the cheese evenly over the tortillas; bake until golden brown, about 8-10 minutes

In a medium bowl, toss together the chicken, salsa, 1/4 cilantro and cumin. Spoon the mixture evenly over the tortillas; baked until heated through, about 8 minutes.

Top with lettuce, tomatoes and sour cream. Sprinkle the remaining cilantro. Serve immediately, with additional green salsa if desired.


Click image to enlarge

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He raved about this recipe! He ate his portion and some of mine!

Wifey rating: A+
I really liked the flavors and very easy to make! Will definitely make again.

Entry filed under: chicken, mexican, Uncategorized.

Day 23 Day 24

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. April  |  April 24, 2008 at 6:59 am

    Oh YUM!!! I must make these soon! Wonder if these could replace “taco night” every now and again. Hmmm….

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  April 24, 2008 at 7:20 am

    APRIL, personally I think these were very yum but not sure if S or W will like the green salsa taste. If they do then they will love it! Let me know if you try!

    Reply
  • 3. Donna  |  April 24, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    You know…I giving away Martha’s brand new Cookie Book!
    Go to my blog and leave a comment. Then you would have two new books!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  April 25, 2008 at 5:30 am

    DONNA, ooooohhhh ::off to Donna’s blog to feed cookbook obsession::

    Reply
  • 5. What’s for Dinner? 7/13 - 7/19 « Simple Food  |  July 13, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    […] Tostadas Salsa Verde & Black Bean […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,665 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


