Cashew Chicken

April 22, 2008 at 11:39 pm 5 comments

I bought this cookbook in a moment of weakness during a recent trip to Costco. I was easily mesmerized by all the pretty pictures. I am definitely a visual cook. I need pictures. Its too bad that my pictures rarely look like the cookbook that I am mimicking though. LOL

So far I really like this cookbook and have marked many recipes with various multicolored post-its. I have a feeling I’ll be using this cookbook for the next few weeks so stay tuned…


(Recipe from MS Great Food Fast page 40 | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

1-1/2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut in 1″ cubes
1 tbsp cornstarch
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 tbsp vegetable oil (I used EVOO)
6 garlic cloves, minced
8 scallions, white and green parts separated, each cut in 1″ pieces
2 tbsp rice vinegar
3 tbsp hoisin sauce
3/4 cup (4 oz) raw cashews, toasted*

white rice (optional) (I used brown rice)

INSTRUCTIONS

In a medium bowl, toss the chicken with the cornstarch until the chicken is coated; season with salt and pepper.

In a large nonstick skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium-high heat. Cook 1/2 the chicken, tossing often, until browned, about 3 minutes. Transfer to plate.

Add the remaining oil and chicken to the skillet along with the garlic and the white parts of the scallions. Cook, tossing often, until the chicken is browned, about 3 minutes. Return the first batch of chicken to the pan. Add the vinegar; cook until evaporated about 30 seconds.

Add the hoisin sauce and 1/4 cup water; cook, tossing, until the chicken is cooked through, about 1 minute. Remove from the heat. Stir in the scallion greens and cashews. serve immediately over white rice, if desired.

* Toasting cashews: Spread cashews on a baking sheet and toast in a 350F oven until golden and fragrant, about 10 minutes.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A
He liked it but its not really the same flavors as the cashew chicken at his favorite Thai place.

Wifey rating: A
ditto hubs. But I still I really like the combination of chicken and cashews.

Entry filed under: cheese.

Day 22 Day 23

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gretchen Noelle  |  April 23, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    This sounds super tasty, but cashews are like $8 for about a cup of them here. Ack!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  April 23, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    GRETCHEN, oh dang! Thats too rich for my blood. I can buy them here for $3 per 9.25oz can.

    Reply
  • […] people’s daily food looks a lot like mine.  In fact, my almond chicken looked a lot like CB’s cashew chicken and in fact the recipes are very similar.  And very few beside the puptart are willing to admit […]

    Reply
  • 4. My Sweet & Saucy  |  May 4, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    This cashew chicken looks scrumptious!

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  May 4, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    MYSWEET, It was pretty darn yum. Speaking of… I need to make this again soon ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,503 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


