NFR: Get over yourself.

April 17, 2008 at 9:23 am 15 comments

I try to live a drama-free life but unfortunately sometimes it creeps up on my best intentions no matter how hard I try.

I currently write for All Things Cupcake and my main contributions are cupcake recipes, cupcakes in the media and interviews. I find cupcake recipes all over the blog-osphere while other times they are emailed directly to me from readers and fellow cupcake bloggers. Up until now it has been a great experience. I’ve interviewed some truly inspiring cupcake-ers and established long lasting friendships. But I suppose it was about time for my cupcake high to hit a stalemate.

Recently I posted a recipe from a “blogger” that was less than pleased about her cupcake recipe being featured on ATC and wrote me an email to delete the post. I was surprised b/c I like to think that featuring a recipe is a good thing, bringing about traffic and community since I always link every recipe to the original blog. My intentions are not malicious or I wouldn’t have left her a comment alerting her to being featured on ATC. But I obliged her request nonetheless. Apparently it wasn’t enough. She was still irritated that I left the title of the cupcake on the subject line so that came down too. But correct me if I am wrong? You can’t own a cupcake recipe name right? But whatever… I continued to oblige b/c its really not worth the fight about the ownership of a cupcake recipe name. When I thought the situation was settled, she responded back with a less than friendly email that her link is still in ATC’s cache and she wants it removed or she will seek lawyer action. WTF? Ok… Reeeally? We’re really gonna go there? Pulling out the lawyer card?!! Come on… your recipe wasn’t that good. You adapted an Ina Garten recipe and I am pretty sure you didn’t ask her permission to post it right? Get over yourself.

Maybe I am the misguided one but if you post on a public blog I assume that you want to share your recipe with everyone. Then again I guess when you assume there’s gonna be an ass involved. I truly apologize if I was not made aware of blog etiquette in this situation. Granted I have my own “copyright” on my blog to keep people from taking my personal writings and calling it their own but link me and thats pretty much all I require b/c again its a public blog. I want to share… Who knows? Maybe *I am* the ignorant one. *shrugs

At this point I have turned it over to ATC’s editor since I have no idea what a cache is. I am not that technologically savvy. But I have a feeling that I will probably get a nasty shoutout on “her” blog soon. I better brace myself. Remember she does have a lawyer. woop-de-doo

The thing I regret the most about this situation is that I feel that I have tainted ATC’s name. Maybe I should reconsider being a contributor for them anymore huh? I am sure cupcakes and drama shouldn’t co-exist.

Its amazing to me how one person out of all the amazing bloggers I’ve met so far can make me rethink my blogging existence…

For the first time since starting on this blogging adventure… I am truly sad.

Entry filed under: Not Food Related.

Day 16 Day 17

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. April  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:09 am

    OMG, WTF is this? Are we back on the Knot where people are snarky? I would be honored if one of my recipes were featured. I mean, you removed everything you could when she asked you to so I am not sure why that didn’t appease her. And I don’t think you should let one person ruin what you love doing on that blog – I love to read what you write and I’m not even a big cuppy person! : ) Hang in there hun.

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:11 am

    She’s just a whiny little lame-o. Don’t let her ruin your good time it really wasn’t a big deal and after asking you to take it down she should have calmed the fuck down. She’s a biotch and that’s all there is too it

    Reply
  • 3. Kristina  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:59 am

    WTF? What kind of person cares so much that they check to make sure their link is out of the cache? It’s truly baffling to me!
    I’m really sorry you’re having to deal with this :( I love your writings and really hope you continue to contribute to ATC. Don’t let one silly person ruin your time! You have tons of supporters! Annd there should be some chocolate arriving in you mailbox any day now to cheer you up :)

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  April 17, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Bummer. Sorry lady. :(

    Reply
  • 5. rachel  |  April 17, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Some times I think the relative anoymity of the internet reverts people back to high school type behavior. And it wasn’t even her original recipe!

    Reply
  • 6. Michelle H  |  April 17, 2008 at 11:07 am

    For the first time, in a long time, I am at a loss for words. :-|

    You still rock my socks of CB, don’t let this a-hole licker get to ya. ;-)

    Reply
  • 7. Kat Graz  |  April 17, 2008 at 11:37 am

    You see just when you think there is something good in everyone!

    I am sorry that you had to be bothered by a person who obviously has nothing better to do with her life than put other people down. Just know you are a FAR better person in every way!!!

    Reply
  • 8. NinaBeth  |  April 17, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Aww, I really don’t like it when people are mean or ignorant, and when they are both? Holy cow! I hope you don’t let her remarks stop you from contributing to ATC, I love your featured recipes!

    Reply
  • 9. slush  |  April 17, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Fuck her CB! Seriously. Is she a CH person? I wanna know. For real. I agree with everyone else. Giving someone more exposure is normally a good thing. And removing it when she asked was more than enough. Dont let her get to you. You still rock the cupcake world. Come on, who hasnt altered an Ina Garten recipe? Jesus thats lame as hell.

    Much love to ya babe!

    Reply
  • 10. Todd  |  April 17, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    I am not a lawyer but my intent in college was geared towards law school until I met my true calling as a teacher but I feel I have a little knowledge on the subject of law. Clara is correct. You can not copyright a recipe name. But don’t take my word for it.

    http://www.copyright.gov

    How do I protect my recipe?
    A mere listing of ingredients is not protected under copyright law. However, where a recipe or formula is accompanied by substantial literary expression in the form of an explanation or directions, or when there is a collection of recipes as in a cookbook, there may be a basis for copyright protection. Note that if you have secret ingredients to a recipe that you do not wish to be revealed, you should not submit your recipe for registration, because applications and deposit copies are public records. See FL 122, Recipes.

    (Perhaps you could consider a blog a public record too?)

    How do I copyright a name, title, slogan or logo?
    Copyright does not protect names, titles, slogans, or short phrases. In some cases, these things may be protected as trademarks. Contact the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, 800-786-9199, for further information. However, copyright protection may be available for logo artwork that contains sufficient authorship. In some circumstances, an artistic logo may also be protected as a trademark.

    Reply
  • 11. Nikki  |  April 17, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Exactly T. And do you know how much it costs to trademark something (if you even can). Between copyright lawyer fees and everything else it cost my work about $7000 to trademark the name of one of our products …. there’s a reason why we only trademarked one name

    Reply
  • 12. bombshellwithin  |  April 17, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    CB, you know what.. this is not a blogocracy, take the stance as the wonderful blogtator that you are. Sure people will try to raise up a stink. You were more than obliging and it seems you handled the situation with calm grace. It still sucks that you’ve suddenly come under attack.

    You’d be the fourth person I know, myself included, who has come under attack for a blog post in the past month. What is this world coming to? Sure, I get we spend a lot of time pouring out little writing souls on blogs. I know that ATC is a little different than a personal blog. It seems people will react differently over getting showcased. There’s always someone who has to think differently. In the end, that’s a good thing. Perhaps you should get email consent the next time for showcasing recipes? I don’t think you should quit being a contributor. But, if you feel that hurt, perhaps you can take a break before cupcake inspiration hits enough for you to go back to things.

    Reply
  • 13. Jamie  |  April 18, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Who shat in that girl’s cupcakes that day?! Seriously? That’s one of the most rediculous things I have ever heard of in the blog-o-sphere. I’m sure there are more recockulous thing going on that I am not aware of, but those are not important since they don’t have to do with anyone I know! ;)

    Don’t let her get you down hun! I’m with everyone else, if I had what I thought to be an AMAZING cupcake recipe, I would’ve enjoyed the free publicity. Cheer up charlie and keep bloggin! You are one of my faves…but for many more reasons than just your blogging abilities!! :)

    Reply
  • 14. lemontartlet  |  May 15, 2008 at 7:52 am

    It’s obvious what secret ingrediant she uses in her cupcakes that she didn’t list. Crack. She needs to put the pipe down before blogging.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  May 15, 2008 at 8:09 am

    LT, see I totally forgot about the crack element. Smoking crack + blogging = whiney bitch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,099 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


