Eating more to lose weight?

April 14, 2008 at 10:33 am 14 comments

Lately learning to lose weight the right way is a daily education for me. There is a wide variety of sources… books, magazine articles, friends, family etc etc. Everyone has an opinion. One of my body idols, April, recently sent me the following article: How many calories can I have and still lose weight? She’s been a big supporter of my 30 day challenge right from the beginning but was worrying that I wasn’t eating enough. So I read the article and calculated my recommended daily calories per this article’s suggestion.

Basic Calorie Requirements Calculation Based on Activity Level
Source: Ezine Articles

> Sedentary : 13 X Desired Weight – 500 cals = Avg. cal/day
Sedentary is not exercising at all

> Moderately Active: 16 X Desired Weight – 500 cals = Avg. cal/day
Moderately Active is exercising approximately 3-4 times per week

> Very Active: 19 X Desired Weight – 500 cals = Avg. cal/day
Very Active is 5-7 strenuous exercise sessions per week

I consider myself a moderate exerciser and set my desired weight to 20lbs less than my current weight. (I could stand to lose more but I think I better start with little goals first and work my way up.) Can you believe it said I should be eating 1900 calories per day?!! I was shocked! I’ve been hovering around 1500-1700 instead. Eating more to lose weight? Interesting…

What should I do with this new found calorie booster? I think I’ll go eat an apple… ::wink::

Entry filed under: random.

Day 13 Chicken Asparagus Pesto Pizza

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. April  |  April 14, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Aw, thanks for the compliment hun. : )

    Good choice on the apple ; )

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  April 14, 2008 at 10:48 am

    APRIL, well I was honestly thinking cupcake first but I thought to avoid a swift kick in the arse from you and others I better grab an apple instead. LOL

    Reply
  • 3. NinaBeth  |  April 14, 2008 at 11:58 am

    CB: One thing I’ve learned from watching The Biggest Looser also is that you really really need to eat your recommended calories. If you don’t, your body just shuts down and whenever you do eat, your body just converts everything to fat since you are “starving” yourself. (Starving is too harsh of a word, but I can’t think of a better one right now). 100 calorie packs are my snack of choice. :)

    Reply
  • 4. April  |  April 14, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Nina – we are trying to get her to eat more fruits and veggies – don’t steer her towards 100 calorie packs!!! LOL

    Reply
  • 5. nikki57  |  April 14, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Seriously Nina. Please don’t screw it up.

    And April thank you for finding proof that what we’ve both been telling her is right :)

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  April 14, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    NINA, thanks for the info! Seems to be the consensus among my health conscious friends so who I am to go against their advice right? If you all say eat more, I’ll oblige! ;)

    APRIL, haha. I am trying!!

    NIKKI, whats wrong with 100 cal packs? ok ok. I never doubted you I just couldn’t believe more = less.

    Reply
  • 7. NinaBeth  |  April 14, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Oops, sorry, I didn’t know 100 calorie packs were bad…. Don’t listen to me CB :)

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  April 14, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    NINA, I don’t think they are bad. They just want me to eat more veggies and fruits. Then again I thought my lean cuisine tv dinner was good until I realized how much sodium was in one! holy crap it was alot! What are the other stats on 100 cal packs?

    Reply
  • 9. April  |  April 14, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    You are doing a good job! : )
    I think as far as the 100 Calorie packs go…it’s not that they are BAD per se. It’s that I think you can make better choices possibly. Of course there are way worse things you could eat – obviously. But you need to think in terms of nutrients that your body needs – think about what nutrients come from a 100 calorie pack. Um, not many. But if you eat say, an apple with all natural peanut butter or something instead, you are providing your body with nutrition and you will feel more full for longer.
    I think you are doing great – you know this! : )

    Reply
  • 10. Anne  |  April 14, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Interesting idea… I’m in the same boat and it’s hard! Love seeing your good ideas though! Your pizzas look amazing-

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  April 14, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    APRIL, I see what you mean. I think the travel-bility of 100 calorie packs are what make them so user friendly. I need user friendly! LOL. I must be the only one on this planet that thinks apples and PB is yucky. thanks for all your support chica!

    ANNE, thanks for all your sweet compliments! Your blog always makes me happy, seeing your brilliant strawberry banner :)

    Reply
  • 12. zebe912  |  April 15, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    My 2 cents on the snack packs. I think they are a good alternative if you are craving something sweet and know you can’t resist. If you are going to eat a 100 cal pack or 3 cupcakes, then go for the snack pack. But if it is between that and an apple, (and you think the apple would satisfy the craving) go for the apple.

    Because of some things my various doctors have told me, I’m now trying to cut gluten, dairy, and sugar out of my diet. I seriously can eat hardly anything if I follow their “rules.” I feel you on trying to learn about all the options out there and sorting through what is solid advice, and what is a “fad.” It’s a pain in the arse!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  April 15, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    ZEBE, sugar? no more cakes/cupcakes? sniff. Right now I am kinda overwhelmed with info but its been interesting to learn more about me and my heatlh. I try to take the advice that works for me and move forward. There’s so much to learn!

    Reply
  • 14. diets to lose weight  |  September 8, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    magnificent points altogether, you simply won a new reader.
    What would you recommend in regards to your publish that you made some days in the past?
    Any sure?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


