WWFD?

April 11, 2008 at 12:51 pm 18 comments

What Would Foodie Do?

My brother-in-law is getting married this summer.

Let’s all say it together… aaawwww

T and I are in the bridal party so I have bridesmaid responsibilities. I already got the dress and jewelry but still looking for shoes so the gist of my duties are pretty much done. ::winkywink::. I keed. Trust me. I was a bride. I know there is alot more that comes with the bridesmaid territory.

I am co-hosting her bridal shower with the other 2 bridesmaids and moms. The theme is Hawaiian and one of the “projects” that FSIL requested was putting together a tried and true cookbook from bridal shower guests’ recipes so the invites included a recipe card. (I have no idea how this relates to Hawaiian, but what the bride wants she gets, right?) All guests are suppose to bring the recipe card and dish to the shower.

Here’s where I need help.

I am already making cupcakes (w00t!) but I am not sure what to bring for the “cookbook” recipe. I was thinking maybe spinach+artichoke dip, fruit and marshmallow creme dip, chex mix, asian salad, pasta etc etc…

What would you prefer as a new wife in your DIY cookbook? Appetizer, main dish, dessert?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 10 VTV #1 Squashing my veggie hater mentality

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NinaBeth  |  April 11, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Finally you got this wrote! :D Here are some fun recipes I found
    Hawaiian Belly Buster
    Hawaiian Dessert
    Spam Musabi
    Grilled Hawaiians
    Island Chicken with Fruit Salsa

    Some of these names cracked me up! I really think you should do the Spam Musabi though… lol!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  April 11, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    NINA, really taking that hawaiian theme to heart huh? LOL

    Reply
  • 3. Kristina  |  April 11, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I needed quick meals for two the most! The hardest part about cooking when we first got married was making things for just two people. I’m just now getting the hang of it lol so yeah, def main dish and maybe a really special dessert as well

    Reply
  • 4. mrsabybaby  |  April 11, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I would want quick, healthy meals. Those are the things I am always searching for, especially slow cooker recipes. : ) You will be such a fantastic bridesmaid. Wub!

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  April 11, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    KRISTINA, Good idea! I was just talking to my hubs about this! I definitely try to half recipes when possible but its not always easy.

    MRSABYBABY slow cooker! ooohhh. thanks for the BM love. I hope being a bride has prepared me for my new role. :)

    Reply
  • 6. BBKiddo  |  April 11, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    I agree with everyone. I would want easy to make, easy to adapt for just two, not completely un-healthy, and quick recipe. Oh, also a recipe that doesn’t require any fancy gadgets or ingredients. And of course it must taste great! Is that so much to ask? ;)

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  April 11, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    BB, not too much to ask at all. haha. If only it was that easy right? ;)

    Reply
  • 8. Caitlin  |  April 11, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Definitely things that can be scaled for two people – that seems to be a difficult number to cook for. Or bake for. What do two people need with 36 cookies? Well, I’d probably want them all, but I don’t think my waistline would :-P Healthy is a definite plus, but so are the things that he grew up on – check with his mom about what his favorite recipes are that only she knows. Those are always winners!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  April 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    CAITLIN, haha. true true. 36 cookies! ohmy! Good idea about asking the moms. I am sure they are contributing their favorites to the cookbook but maybe they have multiple things they could suggest! :)

    Reply
  • 10. Chelle  |  April 12, 2008 at 4:49 am

    I would want appetizers and desserts, because those are my favorite things to make ;-)

    Otherwise, quick, non-complicated meals that would be easy for a busy weeknight.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  April 12, 2008 at 8:15 am

    CHELLE, See…? I love to bake so I was thinking of a Dorie-inspired dessert for my recipe but I have a feeling that ALOT of ppl will bring desserts. Decisions… decisions…

    Reply
  • 12. bombshellwithin  |  April 12, 2008 at 9:34 am

    When my brother married, I gave my SIL/bff a cookbook which toted to be the best first cookbook anyone could have. I did it as a joke since she never really cooked before, but it turned out that she loves the darn thing and every recipe in it. Who knew?!

    From her constant griping since then, I think side dishes are probably a very useful thing to put in there. I mean, making the main part of the meal is pretty basic. But if you aren’t a maven at one all inclusive dish meals, coming up with great, tasty, inventive side dishes are such a hassle.

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  April 12, 2008 at 9:38 am

    BOMBSHELL, fabulous! I make a killer spinach+artichoke dip! Mmmmm…. You’ll have to ask her what her favorite recipe in your cookbook is for me!

    Reply
  • 14. zebe912  |  April 12, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Does she cook much already or is she just starting out? I got one of these books for my shower (I asked for it) and most people knew I cooked quite a bit so I got pretty involved recipes. A few people gave me some simple “stand-bys” but for things I already knew how to make. So my suggestion would be to search the blogs for some of the more creative, tasty, unique, but simple recipes that we all have tried & love. Things like the chicken nachos or fast fancy chicken, etc. come to mind.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  April 12, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    ZEBE, She cooks and has more experience than me so I know she wouldn’t mind getting more complicated multi-step recipes. I will probably end up doing something that I’ve made and enjoyed like you said. I am kinda leaning towards my spinach+artichoke dip or a dessert. But I change my mind every hour so… haha.

    Reply
  • 16. J  |  April 15, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Hey Clara,

    This only halfway goes with your post, but I saw this on another blog and thought all of you JKnottie foodies might enjoy. It says you can include your own recipes/pics or just choose from their recipes. I know there was some talk awhile ago of a JKnottie cookbook at one time – this might be a way to do it!

    J

    Reply
  • 17. J  |  April 15, 2008 at 8:39 am

    Oops, forgot to include the link:
    http://www.tastebook.com/

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  April 15, 2008 at 9:44 am

    J, hey chica! Whats happenin?? Thanks for the link. I’ll have to check it out. I think Nina was the one taking care of the Jknottie cooking blog so I’ll have to pass it along to her! Don’t be a stranger :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,309 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


