VTV #1 Squashing my veggie hater mentality

April 11, 2008 at 6:49 pm 6 comments

Its no secret I love to bake.

Give me a cupcake rather than a veggie any day. Sadly I realize my motto isn’t helping my waistline so a fun way to introduce more veggies into my diet was the brain child of my veggie-licious friend, Nina and her new foodie event, Vindicate the Vegetable Challenge (as I mentioned in this previous post.)


The star of this week’s show – yellow summer squash

I decided to go with something I already love – PIZZA! Everything is better on a pizza right? (My girl, April, will no doubt agree with me.) LOL.

Check back on the VTV blog for the roundup next week. Can’t wait to see the other recipes!

Summer Veggie Pizza


Click image to enlarge
(Recipe adapted from Epicurious.com | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

2 medium yellow summer squash, cut and grilled
homemade pizza dough
fresh baby spinach, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
3 tbsp olive oil
1 large tomato, sliced
1 cup mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
2-3 tsp dried thyme, to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven 400F.

In a small bowl stir together garlic and oil and let stand 15 minutes. In another bowl mix together mozzarella, parmesan and thyme.

Roll out pizza dough and brush with olive oil garlic mixture. Add veggies and cheese.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes before serving.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A/A+
He usually complains if there’s no protein but he really liked this pizza and had 3 slices. He still said between bites that he wants chicken and pizza sauce next time. haha.

Wifey rating: A+
This is probably my new favorite pizza. It felt lighter and less greasy. So yummy!

Other rating: A/A+
T’s best friend really like this pizza too but said that if I made a good alfredo pizza sauce with it, it would be perfect. It didn’t stop him from eating 3 slices though. ;)

Entry filed under: Vindicate the Veggie.

WWFD? Day 11

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NinaBeth  |  April 11, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    I am so proud of you Clara! See, you do like vegetables! :) Your pizza looks delicious. Thanks for entering Vindicate the Vegetable.

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  April 11, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    NINA, Ok so squash isn’t too bad… hehe.

    Reply
  • 3. Mary  |  April 13, 2008 at 6:04 am

    I have a theory that everyone likes vegetables, but they don’t know it because vegetables are so often cooked badly. After being married a year, my husband finally liked a beet dish. I call that success.
    Your pizza looks great!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  April 13, 2008 at 6:11 am

    MARY, you may be right on that. I am trying to get better at cooking veggies without drenching in salad dressing or other sauces to disguise the actual veggie flavor. I have a feeling doing that defeats the purpose of eating veggies right? ;) You’ll definitely have to post your beet recipe on the next VTV roundup! I am not a beet fan but maybe you’ll change my mind too :)

    Reply
  • 5. Summer Squash Roundup! « Vindicate the Vegetable!  |  April 14, 2008 at 7:13 am

    […] I heart food 4 thought […]

    Reply
  • 6. NinaBeth  |  April 14, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Mary! Thank you!! That is what I have been trying to tell CB for many weeks now. And that’s also the theory behind starting VTV.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,328 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


