TWD #6 Oh so gooey-licious…

April 1, 2008 at 12:21 am 29 comments

The subject line are the words that my husband muttered between ravenous bites of this chocolate cake chosen by my good friend and fellow TWDer, Leigh, for this week’s challenge. I think I’ll be emailing Dorie about changing this cake’s name to Better Than Gooey Sex Cake. What do you think? Not feeling it? Well… screw you. LOL.

I am not really a chocolate person. If given the choice I’d order a cheesecake over chocolate cake so I went into this challenge knowing that my husband would be the one to eat most if not all of my little chocolate gooey cupcakes. Boy was I wrong!

What I learned this week:
This recipe didn’t utilize my KA mixer, rather hand whisking and I realize 2 things.
1. I really need to lift weights and build up my whisking muscles. haha
2. I rely on my KA more than I thought.

Hosted by Leigh @ Lemon Tarlet
Check out the Tuesdays w/ Dorie blogroll on the side menu bar.

Gooey Chocolate Cake


Click image to enlarge
(Recipe from DG Baking: From my home to yours page 261-262 | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

1/3 cup all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
5 ounces bittersweet chocolate: (See notes)
— 4oz coarsely chopped
— 1oz very finely chopped
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 large egg yolk, at room temperature
6 tablespoons of sugar

[NOTES: I used 4 oz bittersweet and 1 oz semi-sweet chocolate]

INSTRUCTIONS

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. butter (or spray – it’s easier) 6 cups of a regular-size muffin pan, preferably a disposable aluminum foil pan, dust the insides with flour and tap out the excess. Put the muffin pan on a baking sheet. (I used a cupcake pan so it made 7 for me)

Sift the flour, cocoa and salt together.

Set a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of gently simmering water, put the coarsely chopped chocolate and the butter in the bowl and stir occasionally over the simmering water just until they are melted – you don’t want them to get so hot that the butter separates. Remove the bowl from the pan of water.

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and yolk until homogenous. Add the sugar and whisk until well blended, about 2 minutes. Add the dry ingredients and, still using the whisk, stir (don’t beat) them into the eggs. Little by little, and using a light hand, stir in the melted chocolate and butter. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups and sprinkle the finely chopped chocolate over the batter.

Bake the cakes for 13 minutes. Transfer them, still on the baking sheet, to a rack to cool for 3 minutes. (There is no way to test that these cakes are properly baked, because the inside remains liquid.)

[NOTES: I baked for 10 minutes since my cupcakes were smaller than a muffin would have been.]

Line a cutting board with a silicone baking mat or parchment or wax paper, and, after the 3-minute rest, unmold the cakes onto the board. Use a wide metal spatula to lift the cakes onto dessert plates.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He is the chocoholic in our family and said these gooey cakes may just replace his Dorie favorite apple pie-cake.

Wifey rating: A
I am not a chocolate person but these were REALLY good. The gooey warm center is so yummy. I wish I had some ice cream to eat at the same time. I bet that would have been fabulous… This was a relatively easy straightforward recipe so I am sure I’ll be making this again!

Next week: The Most Extraordinary French Lemon Cream Tart pages 331-333

Entry filed under: cake, chocolate, Tuesdays With Dorie.

A commenter’s rant My 30 day challenge

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. noskos  |  April 1, 2008 at 12:44 am

    They look so yummy with the strawberries! I loved these too!

    Reply
  • 2. Helen  |  April 1, 2008 at 1:57 am

    These look great – I love how yours are so gooey in the middle – mine were nothing like (to be posted later!) but still tasty. Fab pics! Hx

    Reply
  • 3. sunita  |  April 1, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Your cakes look so delightful :-)

    Reply
  • 4. Caitlin  |  April 1, 2008 at 2:33 am

    I love the strawberries with them – it makes them healthy, right? ;-) Beautiful!

    Reply
  • 5. Gretchen Noelle  |  April 1, 2008 at 4:22 am

    These look super tasty! Glad you enjoyed them!

    Reply
  • 6. April  |  April 1, 2008 at 5:04 am

    Your cakes look great, and I love the strawberries with them!

    Reply
  • 7. Racheypoo  |  April 1, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Looking good! Glad you got the ‘goo’. They were yum, weren’t they?

    Reply
  • 8. mari  |  April 1, 2008 at 5:39 am

    LOL, I hear you on the arm muscles tip, I thought that 2 minutes lasted forever!! I’m not a chocolate person either, and thought these were GOOD!

    Reply
  • 9. Rebecca  |  April 1, 2008 at 5:48 am

    Hard to top chocolate and strawberries. I’m with you, though, on the KA. I read the recipe twice out of disbelief. ;)

    Reply
  • 10. Chelle  |  April 1, 2008 at 5:51 am

    BAH, gooey sex, that’s great. I, too, need to increase my arm strength. I needed breaks between my whisking! The cakes looking wonderful, glad you ended up enjoying them!

    Reply
  • 11. Madam Chow  |  April 1, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Great pictures, and I agree with the ratings. I thought these were very good, but my husband loved them, and he’s not a chocolate person!

    Reply
  • 12. Annemarie  |  April 1, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Mmmmmmmm! They look wonderful!!

    Reply
  • 13. Donna  |  April 1, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Great Job! They look very yummy especially with the strawberries!
    Next time I’m using my KA. What’s with doing the last few recipes with a whisk anyway?

    Reply
  • 14. Erin  |  April 1, 2008 at 9:05 am

    This looks great! I love how gooey your centers are!

    Reply
  • 15. Marie  |  April 1, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Ohh you got some great goo going on there! Mine were more fudgy than gooey, but they did taste delicious, especially with a drizzle of muscovado toffee sauce and some clotted cream!!

    Reply
  • 16. LyB  |  April 1, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Gooey-liscious is right! Hoo, boy were these ever good!

    Reply
  • 17. Dolores  |  April 1, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Yeah, I’ll confess that I counted the hand-whisking as a brief but effective upper body workout. And used it to justify plunging my spoon into the gooey results that emerged from my oven.

    Reply
  • 18. Dianne  |  April 1, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Strawberries are a fabulous idea! Your cakes look scrumptious!

    Reply
  • 19. carrie  |  April 1, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Yum! They look sooo good with the strawberries! Nice work!

    Reply
  • 20. Heather  |  April 1, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    They look absolutely delicious! I’m not much of a chocolate person either but these would so tempt me (again and again).

    Reply
  • 21. Judy  |  April 1, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    What a nice gooey center you achieved! Are there any left?

    Reply
  • 22. Natalie  |  April 1, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Great pictures! (Yeah, my whisking arm is getting a workout the past couple of weeks too!)

    Reply
  • 23. Beth G  |  April 1, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Beautiful and gooey job!! They look fantastic :)

    Reply
  • 24. Piggy  |  April 2, 2008 at 7:17 am

    your cakes sure look gooey and yummy! :-)

    Reply
  • 25. lemontartlet  |  April 2, 2008 at 7:53 am

    Can enough whisking get rid of uppr arm flab? If so, whisking more is what I need to do. That and eat your cakes.

    Reply
  • 26. Cecilia  |  April 2, 2008 at 9:17 am

    What gooey cakes! I’ll have to try the bittersweet/semisweet combination next time. I love my chocolate dark, but I do love sweetness just as much.

    Reply
  • 27. NinaBeth  |  April 2, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Yum! These look delicious!

    Reply
  • 28. Karina  |  April 3, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Your cakes look lovely! All that whisking burns off the cake calories, right?! :)

    Reply
  • 29. the airy fairy  |  April 4, 2008 at 11:58 am

    i just bought a bar of fabulous looking handmade irish dark chocolate and i think that these cupcakes would be THE perfect recipe to use it up on! they look divine and i can so imagine them with some ice-cream!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,059 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


