Foodie Question of the Day

March 28, 2008 at 5:57 pm 28 comments

1. Do you have an electric or gas stove?
2. Would you do the switcheroo if you could afford it? Why?

I have electric but I’d rather have gas. My parents have a gas stove and I think that it distributes heat more evenly than an electric. Also you can control the heat temperature more precisely whereas the electric is a more gradual heat increase or decrease. One other perk is the lower cost since natural gas is more budget friendly.

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Q&A meme #3 Daring Bakers Do Dorie [Greenspan]

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  March 28, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    I have a gas stove/oven, which I love. Having gas burners is awesome, and a gas oven heats up much more quickly. A friend of mine just outfitted her new home though and got a dual oven – gas burners and electric oven with “gas assist.” That way, her oven heats up quickly using gas and then electric maintains it. Crazy, but she loves it.

    Reply
  • 2. Racheypoo  |  March 28, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    I have gas. NFT.

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  March 28, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    CAITLIN, damn girl. You’re fast! Interesting about the dual stove. Now I wanna come over to her house and try it! haha

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  March 28, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    RACHEYPOO, haha I assume you wouldn’t switch to electric then? ;)

    Reply
  • 5. slush  |  March 28, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Electric, but I miss having gas. Its def better.

    Reply
  • 6. nikki57  |  March 28, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    I have gas … I hate it, but that’s because I still don’t have my new stove and mine is from the stone age. My gas stove heats quickly, but has no concept of low. If i turn it as low as it goes my food boils, there really is no such thing as simmer.

    Now the one time I used a quality gas stove at my cooking class I was in love. Low was actually low and it was the sexiest red stove I ever did see

    Reply
  • 7. Kristina  |  March 28, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    I have gas and I love the stovetop! However, I hate the oven! It takes FOREVER to heat up. I start preheating it at least an hour in advance. If I could have a gas stovetop and an electric oven that would be perfect.

    Reply
  • 8. Michelle  |  March 28, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    We have a gas stove. It was a must when we got a house. We both grew up cooking on gas stoves – we lived with an electric for a short time and it was awful!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  March 28, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    SLUSH, agreed. ::chanting:: gas gas gas!

    NIKKI, red you say? oh thats uber sexy. Me want red sexy gas stove! Wouldn’t that be fab with my red KA mixer? ;)

    KRISTINA, interesting about the oven vs stove. I wonder if thats universal b/c I’d rather have a good oven than stove since I love to bake more.

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  March 28, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    MICHELLE, another vote for gas! w00t.

    Reply
  • 11. Michelle  |  March 28, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Oh we also looked into the dual ranges – gas stove and electric oven but we didn’t want to have to pay for the extra lines to be run, but it’s a really sweet concept.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  March 28, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    MICHELLE, does your gas oven take a while to warm up like Kristina said? Maybe I am rethinking my answer to my own question. haha.

    Reply
  • 13. Michelle  |  March 28, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    It does. Plus I think the preheating indicator is off because since I’ve gotten an oven thermometer I realize that it beeps that it’s preheated waaaaaaaaay before it’s actually at the correct temperature. Stupid – it’s not even 2 years old either!

    Reply
  • 14. Gretchen Noelle  |  March 28, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    I have a gas stove. I love it. But I would switch from a propane tank on the side to regular gas that comes out of the wall if I could. But, I can’t. so I wont. :)

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  March 28, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    GRETCHEN, can you elaborate and tell me why? I am obviously a gas stove novice since I didn’t realize all this other info was pertinent! haha.

    Reply
  • 16. nikki57  |  March 28, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    My dream stove (that I got to try out at my cooking class)…. http://www.aga-ranges.com/_store/Scripts/prodview.asp?idproduct=76

    It’s gas and the oven never needs to be preheated. Omg when we buy a house this will be our first purchase. Screw curtains and a kitchen table, I’m buying an AGA!!!!

    Reply
  • 17. noskos  |  March 29, 2008 at 1:56 am

    I use gas right now, and we are shopping for a new oven/stove and it will definitely be gas again.
    Looking into smeg, boretti or a simular brand.

    Reply
  • 18. noskos  |  March 29, 2008 at 1:57 am

    Forgot to mention that I like gas better since it’s “moister”, a by-product of burning natural gas is water, so it’s not as dry as using electric heat.

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  March 29, 2008 at 6:29 am

    NIKKI, wow. That aga oven looks fabulous! Me want! I bet its expensive huh? damn.

    NOSKOS, that is so true. My parents’ house never seemed to be as hot while cooking. Yet another perk of gas.

    Reply
  • 20. beth  |  March 29, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    i grew up with gas stove and moved to a home with a gas stove. I wouldn’t switch if you paid me! I have serious trouble with electric! (i.e. my grandma’s)

    Reply
  • 21. mrsabybaby  |  March 29, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Wow, I’m so glad that you asked this question considering I will be buying a new stove in a couple of years for the new house! I had no idea about all of these things either. We just bought a stove and it is electric. Interesting reading all of this though!

    Reply
  • 22. hornedfroggy  |  March 29, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    I have electric and I’d GLADLY switch to gas. Like you, I believe the heat’s distributed more evenly. That and the fact that the stove is about 27 years old. :)

    Reply
  • 23. Kristina  |  March 29, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I really need to get an over thermometer too! Mine doesn’t even have a preheat light! When I get one I’ll be able to update and let you know exactly how long it takes to heat up.

    Reply
  • 24. CB  |  March 29, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    BETH, Can you tell me what your issues are with using electric? Just curious if its the same as me.

    MRSABYBABY, didn’t you just buy a new stove? Damn girl. haha

    KRISTINA, I have an oven thermometer. My oven is a little off so I always have to adjust my oven temp from a recipe. Stupid oven.

    Reply
  • 25. beth  |  March 30, 2008 at 9:45 am

    CB-My issues are pretty much the same as you. My biggest issue with electric is I feel like I can’t control the heat. Therefore my food doesn’t cook evenly.
    There is also the cost side: gas is cheaper than electricity.
    Though a child should never go near a stove. A gas stove is much more obvious that it is on than an electric stove.

    Reply
  • 26. Judy  |  March 30, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Good question. When I remodeled my kitchen, I put a lot of research into this. The end result was a gas cook top (best control) and an electric double oven (more even and consistent heat). It’s turned out to be the perfect, winning combination.

    Reply
  • 27. CB  |  March 30, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    JUDY, I am thinking this is the way to go. Note to self for when I can afford to remodel my kitchen someday. (First I need a house. haha)

    Reply
  • 28. CB  |  March 31, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    HORNEDFROGGY, so sorry again that your comment got tied up in moderation. what the heck?? anywhoo… 27 years old? damn! I think its time for a new one hun. haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


