Honey and Lime Enchiladas

March 16, 2008 at 7:44 pm 11 comments

T’s best friend comes over at least once a month for dinner. He’s a typical single guy that lives on fast food so I always like to make him a home cooked meal when he comes to visit. I know his favorite food is Mexican and since I LURVE enchiladas I was gonna make my tried and true favorite enchilada recipe for us. When I first saw this recipe on My Kitchen Cafe, I admit I wasn’t sure about the honey, but after reading Melanie’s rave review I knew I had to try this one instead!


(Recipe from The Sisters’ Cafe | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

6 tablespoons honey
5 tablespoons lime juice (1 large lime)
1 tablespoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 pound chicken, cooked and shredded (I used pre-cooked chicken strips)
8-10 flour tortillas
1 pound monterey jack cheese, shredded
16 ounces green enchilada sauce (I used red enchilada sauce)
1 cup heavy cream

INSTRUCTIONS

Mix the first four ingredients and toss with shredded chicken. Let it marinate for at least 1/2 hour.

Pour about 1/2 cup enchilada sauce on the bottom of a 9X13 baking pan. Fill flour tortillas with chicken and shredded cheese, saving about 1 cup of cheese to sprinkle on top of enchiladas. Mix the remaining enchilada sauce with the cream and leftover marinade. Pour sauce on top of the enchiladas and sprinkle with cheese.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes until brown and crispy on top.

ENJOY! :)


Click image to enlarge

Husband rating: A+
He said it was the best enchilada recipe I’ve made so far.

Wifey rating: A+
omg. the honey, lime, chili powder combo is so freaking amazing! Definitely will make again!

Other rating: A+
T’s best friend raved the whole time.

Entry filed under: cheese, chicken, mexican.

Mozza Garlic Bread NFR: Who is more lame?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nikki57  |  March 16, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    mmm those look so yummy

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  March 16, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    NIKKI, oh they were! I wish my stomach was bigger so I could eat more than one! LOL

    Reply
  • 3. Melanie  |  March 16, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Yay! So glad you liked them…I am making them again soon.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  March 16, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    MELANIE, omg thanks for the recipe! They were SO good! :)

    Reply
  • 5. Racheypoo  |  March 16, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Looks great! I’ll have to try these one day soon. :D

    Reply
  • 6. Larissa  |  March 16, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Mmmm…this looks great. I’ve seen more than a few enchilada recipes in the foodie blog world recently…I might have to jump on board soon!

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  March 16, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    RACHEYPOO, definitely give them a try! Let me know what you think. I am a honey enchilada believer now!

    LARISSA, hey there! I am an enchilada freak! Definitely give it a try. You won’t be disappointed!

    Reply
  • 8. Kristina  |  March 17, 2008 at 9:09 am

    yum! I haven’t planned dinner tonight (bad bad) but I think I have most of these ingredients on hand. Do you think the chicken filling would work as a burrito filling without baking, or is it too runny?

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  March 17, 2008 at 9:12 am

    KRISTINA, its not runny at all. I bet it would be great in a burrito!

    Reply
  • 10. kate  |  March 17, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    wow—by description it sounds like it might not be so great, but i’ve found that strange combos end up being so good in the end. i’d like to try these!

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  March 17, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    KATE, i wasn’t too sure at first either but I was not disappointed! Definitely try it and let me know what you think! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


