Foodie Question of the Day

March 13, 2008 at 9:47 am 13 comments

How important is “room temperature” ingredients when the recipe calls for it?

I admit that I really don’t do the “room temperature” all the time. I am a spontaneous baker. That doesn’t give me much room for preparing ahead of time. But I do cheat a little when it comes to eggs and butter.

EGGS: I fill a bowl with lukewarm water and let my eggs swim around for 5-10 minutes. (Don’t forget your floaties!)

BUTTER: I nuke it for about 5-15 seconds (depending on the amt) in the microwave.

TADA! Ready to get my bake on!

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Who’s your TC? Oldie but a goodie dinner

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  March 13, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I do the same for butter, but never thought about that for the eggs! Super tip, sensei!

    Reply
  • 2. Kristina  |  March 13, 2008 at 10:14 am

    If I know I’m going to be baking on a particular day I just take a stick of butter out of the fridge and set it on the counter. I don’t have a microwave, I’m sure if I did, I’d use that method. And, I don’t think I’ve ever made a recipe that called for room temp. eggs, or maybe I just ignore that part hehe

    Reply
  • 3. Alanna  |  March 13, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Hi. My name is Alanna. I am also a microwave butter softener.

    Reply
  • 4. BBKiddo  |  March 13, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I stick my butter on top of the oven while it’s preheating. It usally works pretty well.

    Reply
  • 5. zebe912  |  March 13, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    If I am thinking ahead I will pull ingredients out ahead of time. I do try to get my yeast up to room temp before I use it, because then it proofs better (so they say). On anything else, I will cheat if needed. I’ve been known to tell my hubby to hold onto an egg for me for a few minutes so it can warm up some. I have very few recipes that call for room temp though.

    Reply
  • 6. Gretchen Noelle  |  March 13, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Funny thing…here in Peru, we don’t refrigerate eggs. I never worry about making things room temp because they always are! And I have no microwave, so no ability to nuke the butter. I have been known to place a hot pan on top of the wrapped butter for a few minutes or if I start warming the oven, I just throw the while mixing bowl in with the butter for a few minutes to soften it. Those are my tricks of the trade.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  March 13, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    ANDREA, ::bowing::

    KRISTINA, no microwave? *gasp* I can’t live without my microwave. Granted I don’t use it for every meal like I use to but I still love having one. Its like my safety net. Maybe its just me but I feel like every recipe I bake says room temp. *shrugs

    ALANNA, ::group chants:: Hello Alanna

    BB, oh that’s a good one! Thanks for sharing!

    ZEBE, yeah I do that too. I’ll hold my eggs or put them in my apron pocket til I need them. Although I will admit I did have an egg casualty that way…oops!

    GRETCHEN, oh interesting! I wonder why we refrigerate our eggs over here. Might have to do a google search on that. ;)

    Reply
  • 8. Racheypoo  |  March 13, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    BB and I are twins! I use the preheating oven, also.

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  March 13, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    RACHEYPOO, butter twins! w00t!

    Reply
  • 10. Suzanne Langley  |  March 13, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Great read.
    Highly recommend this site – it is tops.
    It is early morning here in Aussie and I’m hungover from the Flu so will make further comment when I feel a little better up to it.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  March 13, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    SUZANNE, aawww wow. thanks! You poor thing. I hope you feel better soon. The flu is not fun.

    Reply
  • 12. mrsabybaby  |  March 14, 2008 at 5:34 am

    I admit it…if something calls for butter softened or room temp, I usually do the microwave method as well. I’m just usually in a hurry so…seems to work okay though!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  March 14, 2008 at 9:09 am

    MRSABY, i am totally a butter nuker. Proud of it! hehe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,203 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


