Foodie Question of the Day

March 12, 2008 at 10:47 am 19 comments

What dish have you made so many times you don’t need the recipe anymore?

Hands down… chicken nachos.

Its one of T’s favorite requests. I make them maybe once a week or at least every other week. EEP! Damn you April for showing me this recipe! Hmm… maybe this is why I can’t lose weight? haha

This may not seem like a big feat to some but its HUGE for me b/c I have a terrible memory! Just ask Nikki and she’ll tell you how many times I’ve forgotten things she’s told me within minutes. But in my defense I like to say that I am a good secret keeper b/c I end up forgetting anyways! hehe

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

TWD #3: An apple a day keeps the doctor away. NFR: Do you shop WS?

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mrsabybaby  |  March 12, 2008 at 11:27 am

    HA! Ah yes, the chicken nachos. So bad, but oh so incredibly good. I LOOOOVE them!

    I think mine is chicken nachos and chicken/potato pizza. That one is super easy. I’m also pretty good at Fancy Fast Chicken these days. : )

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 11:29 am

    APRIL, true! i forgot about the chicken & potato pizza. I make it on a regular basis too. I only made fancy chicken 1x but I really need to make it again. It was yum!

    Reply
  • 3. nikki57  |  March 12, 2008 at 11:30 am

    hahaha CB had the single worst memory of anyone I’ve ever met. But I wub you for it beech.

    Thinks I make without a recipe … any of my regular stuff, but in all honestly, when i cook, I tend to look at an ingredient list then wing it. I never really follow a recipe. Baking, on the other hand, I follow recipes and don’t really know any by heart

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 11:38 am

    NIKKI, haha i knew you’d agree. Oh yeah… no way I can bake without a recipe. Too many numbers to remember. Whats your name again?

    Reply
  • 5. Kristina  |  March 12, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Really, anything I’ve made more than 2X, I don’t really use a recipe for (other than baked goods!) some off the top of my head are baked ziti, alfredo, red beans and rice, shrimp n grits, chili, corn bread, dressing, sweet potato casserole, squash casserole….I really don’t like using recipes, but have learned to when baking!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 11:52 am

    KRISTINA, dang you’re good! It would take me more than 2x to remember a recipe.

    Reply
  • 7. slush  |  March 12, 2008 at 11:59 am

    I have a lot I make off the top of my head because our dinners are on a pretty tight rotation. We are creatures of habit.

    And I will agree your a good secret keeper, the best. (At least as far as I know) ;)

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    SLUSH, uh… have you told me a secret? haha. I hear you about habit. Same here. I think thats why it took me a while to “learn” to cook.

    Reply
  • 9. NinaBeth  |  March 12, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Recipe? What’s that? Is that the piece of paper that I’m suppossed to follow the directions on?

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    NINA, whatever with that shiz. You use recipes! haha

    Reply
  • 11. Alanna  |  March 12, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Chicken Parmesan, for sure. And Peanut Butter Noodles.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    ALANNA, chicken parm is an almost for me. I can bake it pretty well but not confident enough without a quick look at my handy recipe. teehee

    Reply
  • 13. Michelle  |  March 12, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Chicken parm!

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    MICHELLE, another chicken parm aficionado huh? Whats your recipe? I am always looking to try new ones!

    Reply
  • 15. kate  |  March 12, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    roast chicken and then chicken noodle soup after.
    comfort food!

    Reply
  • 16. zebe912  |  March 12, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Buttercream Icing. I’ve had that recipe memorized since high school. But, if you are asking about real food, then it gets tougher. For a while I had my naan recipe memorized & then got out of the habit of making it. Most other things I either cook infrequently enough to need a recipe, or I cook it so often that I just sort of toss things together and call it “close enough.” I do think that I have my bulgur pilaf recipe memorized now that I think of it.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    KATE, Mmmmm I can dig comfort food. Where can I find your roast chicken recipe? linky please!

    ZEBE, you are too cool for school. I still need my buttercream recipe and I know I’ve made it a zillion times. I get kinda neurotic that I am not measuring right…

    Reply
  • 18. Ashley  |  March 12, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    For me, it’s macaroni and cheese. Mmmm. Though I do love nachos too!

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  March 12, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    ASHLEY, Mmmm mac&cheese=comfort food. I assume you don’t mean from a box right? I would love your recipe please! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,067 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


