Foodie Question of the Day

March 6, 2008 at 3:27 pm 18 comments

What is the most extravagant food/food related item you’ve purchased in the last year?

One day, in the midst of a baking lesson from my fabulous friend, Nikki, I asked her about KA mixers and why everyone has them. After she explained that they are awesome to have if you bake a lot, I decided I wanted one too! LOL. She found me a fierce deal for an empire red KA mixer on Amazon.com (I got mine for even less than the link!) and my MIL provided the funds from a pre-wedding IOU gift.

I never thought I could love an inanimate object but I LOVE my KA mixer! :)

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

TWD#2 Fee Fi Faux Snickers Welcome to the Peep Show!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alanna  |  March 6, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    I’m seriously so jealous of your RED KA mixer. I want one so bad. At this point, I think the most extravagant thing I have in my kitchen is a steamer/pasta pot. It cost us $70…we bought it with wedding GCs. Someday…I WILL have a red KA!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  March 6, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    ALANNA, ooohhh steamer/pasta pot! Me want! haha.

    Reply
  • 3. zebe912  |  March 6, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    I think most of you know that I’m not a KA fan and specifically bought a non-KA mixer after my wedding, which I consider a significant upgrade, even if it isn’t red. It was definitely extravagant even though the price wasn’t much more than a KA. I think was my china probably was the other biggest expense, though. We got half of the set we registered for, which was just enough to be useless so I bought the rest. Overall, just the fact that I have just about every kitchen gadget & appliance in existence, and use most of them, says a lot.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  March 6, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    ZEBE, you have cuisinart mixer right? why do you like it better than KA?

    Reply
  • 5. beth  |  March 6, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    so fierce!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  March 6, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    BETH, you know it!

    Reply
  • 7. Kristina  |  March 6, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Some Pecorino Tartufo, it’s the most delicious thing ever. It’s a sheeps milk cheese laced with black truffles (which make my knees buckle on their own) My best friend and I nick named it “sex cheese” because, well, it could comfortably replace it lol It’s around $27 a lb., which is pretty extravagant for someone on a budget!

    Reply
  • 8. alan  |  March 6, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    yoo could ya please make some food for me before i come over tomorrow? pretty please? k cool sounds good. peace

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  March 6, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    KRISTINA, dang! $27!! That must be some darn good cheese!

    ALAN, preference? pizza? pasta?

    Reply
  • 10. alan  |  March 6, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    BOFE. (both)

    Reply
  • 11. mrsabybaby  |  March 7, 2008 at 6:26 am

    A stand up mixer IS pretty fierce but I can’t bring myself to buy one yet until I have more room. I haven’t really bought anything crazy for our kitchen in the past year since we got so many awesome wedding gifts – there are definitely some things I want though! :)

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  March 7, 2008 at 6:43 am

    MRSABY, well i think your wine cooler in your kitchen is pretty darn fierce. I’d buy one… if I drank! haha.

    Reply
  • 13. nikki57  |  March 7, 2008 at 8:03 am

    I think all of my kitchen appliances are extravagant. I have personally paid out of my own pocket (not wedding money) for a $700 set of All Clad, my professional series KA, a few of my Wusthof Culinar knives aka all my favorite things (well i could but I REALLLY don’t want to). They are all extravagant and they are all amazing

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  March 7, 2008 at 10:27 am

    NIKKI, good gawd woman! $700! and the wusthof knives! I am so jealous… I am in the market for better knives but I can’t afford that swanky wusthoff shiz. You’re just high class fierce.

    Reply
  • 15. nikki57  |  March 8, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    just get 1 or two nice knives …. not as expensive but they’re really all you NEED

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  March 8, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    ^ which 1-2 do you recommend?

    Reply
  • 17. zebe912  |  March 11, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    CB, I always knew I would get a 6 quart or bigger mixer for doing wedding cakes. I hate the bowl lift design of the KA-Pro. I much prefer being able to hinge the mixer head back.

    For the same price as the 6 qt KA pro, I was able to get a 7 qt Cuisinart. The head tilts back to lift the beater out, it has a more powerful motor, the gears are higher quality, it has a folding function, it has auto shut off so the motor can’t overheat, and the best part is that it has a built in timer!!! I can just tell it to knead for 10 minutes and walk away. If I forget about it, it just stops on its own & beeps at me to say it is done.

    Short of going up to a Viking or actual commercial grade mixer, this one had everything I wanted, plus the timer.

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  March 11, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    ZEBE, the timer is uber swank. i want that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,920 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


