Pastitsio

February 29, 2008 at 7:20 pm 15 comments

I think its pronounce pas-tee-tee-see-o but don’t quote me!

This Greek baked pasta dish is from my new cookbook – Weight Watchers, Takeout Tonight! On the cover it promises 150+ restaurant favorites to make at home under 8 points or less. I am always skeptical with converting restaurant recipes to healthy revisions but I decided to take a chance with this one since I had all the ingredients on hand and enter it for the Master Baker Challenge. Its got cinnamon and its baked. It works right?

WRONG! Apparently the Master Baker herself denied my entry, claiming it wasn’t a baked good. Uh.. hello? You “bake” it and it tastes “good”. I don’t understand. What’s there to misinterpret? Can I get a little casserole support over here? Maybe if all my readers leave a comment or better yet… email her and tell her that I should be allowed to enter my pastitsio, she’ll recant her former rejection. Don’t make me beg…

::making a sad pouty rejected face::

Doesn’t it look tasty??


(Recipe from WW-Takeout Tonight | photos from me!)

Makes 8 servings
Calories/serving = 319
WW points/serving = 7

INGREDIENTS

3 cups reduced fat (2%) milk
1/4 cup cornstarch
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
8 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground pepper
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 lb spaghetti
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
1 onion, chopped
3/4 lb lean ground sirloin (10% or less fat)
1 lb plum tomatoes, chopped (about 2 cups)
2 garlic cloves, minced
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray a 7×11 inch baking dish with nonstick spray; set aside.

To make the white sauce, combine milk, cornstarch and eggs in a large saucepan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until thickened, about 7-9 minutes. Remove from heat an stir in 6 tbsp of parmesan, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp pepper and nutmeg; cover and set aside.

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add spaghetti and cook according to package directions. Drain and set aside.

To make filling, heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Swirl in the oil, then add the onion. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion is softened, about 4-6 minutes. Add the sirloin and cook, breaking up the meat with a wooden spoon, until browned, about 5-6 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes, garlic, cinnamon and the remaining 1/2 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp pepper. Cook, stirring often, until liquid from the tomatoes evaporates, about 4-5 minutes.

Arrange half of the cooked spaghetti in an even layer on the bottom of the baking pan. Top with filling, then top with remaining spaghetti. Spread the white sauce evenly over the spaghetti. Sprinkle with the remaining 2 tbsp parmesan cheese.

Bake until top golden, 30-35 minutes. Cool at least 5 minutes before serving.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A-
He liked it but there was too much pasta and not very much filling for him. If I make it again I’d probably reduce the amt of pasta to 3/4-1/2 lb.

Wifey rating: B
It wasn’t my favorite. I am not use to the cinnamon/nutmeg flavor in pasta. I really wanted to drown it in melted mozzarella but I think that would defeat the WW purpose though. hehe.

Entry filed under: beef, greek, pasta, weight watcher.

Daring Bakers #2: [Julie Childs French Bread] Creamy Pesto Garlic Shrimp Pasta

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nikki57  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    omg I’m laughing so hard I’m crying. And to think you’re this bitter about something you didn’t even love. haha omg can’t stop laughing

    Reply
  • 2. slush  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    First, I am going to say gently, it doesnt look that good CB. And your rating kind of defeats your purpose. With that said, I take “almost” anyone in CH, all kinds. To the point of being barked at about it. I do not discriminate. I agree with you, it is baked…but you lost the “good” by your own rating. Too f’n funny. You 2 should have your own TV show. Maybe Nikki needs to make her rules for Master Baker a little more clear. :P

    Reply
  • 3. nikki57  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Apparently I do, but then again, the 27 entries that have come in so far have all seemed to understand what a baked good is.

    And like I said CB when you make a casserole are you cooking or baking … you’re cooking, thus it’s not a baked good

    Reply
  • 4. nikki57  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    ohh and a TV show yes, that’s a fab idea. We can call it Fierce TV. Omg C the next time I see you we are going to film an “episode”

    Reply
  • 5. zebe912  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    This reminds me of my sister’s friend from Greece who calls cinnamon “ginamint.” Reading recipes from her cracks me up every time. I would love to hear how she pronounces it. I agree, CB that this is baked, but I don’t know if I’d call it a “baked good.” Would you sell it at a bake sale? Eek.

    Reply
  • 6. nikki57  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    haha thank you Dawn!

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    ok seriously ppl. You actually read my BU and use my words against me. what about the part that says “leave a comment and tell her that I should be allowed to enter my pastitsio” huh? fug you, fug you and fug you… that is all.

    Reply
  • 8. slush  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Love you CB. **Muah!

    Reply
  • 9. Racheypoo  |  February 29, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I’m laughing my arse off right now! You guys are awesome!

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  February 29, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    RACHEYPOO, please tell me that I have one ally. You agree with me right?

    Reply
  • 11. nikki57  |  February 29, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    No RP doesn’t … I’ll answer for her

    Reply
  • 12. Racheypoo  |  February 29, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    I plead the 5th and take no sides.

    Reply
  • 13. nikki57  |  February 29, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    It’s ok you don’t have to I answered for you remember?

    Reply
  • 14. lemontartlet  |  March 1, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    You could always enter it in a contest for “Baked Eh”‘s! What about “Baked S’okay”s?

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  March 1, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    LT, you are just too smart. Now that is a food challenge that I would be good at. LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,861 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


