Happy Birthday Pizza

February 28, 2008 at 7:32 pm 13 comments

Today is my Dear Husband’s 29th birthday and instead of going out to dinner, he requested to eat in. He specifically asked for Cream Cheese Chicken. What!!? Who are you? and what have you done to my husband? Usually its Chicken Parmesan that he requests for any given occasion so after I got over the initial shock, I got to thinking that I wanted to try something kinda fun with his request.

Me and T both LOVE pizza. Anything tastes good topped on a pizza crust pilled high with mozzarella cheese. Am I right? (Well… I have to say that I am not a fan of pineapple on pizza though.) Since I still had the other 1/2 of the homemade dough that I made the other night, I decided to make a new pizza creation – Cream Cheese Chicken and Asparagus Pizza. Now I know what you are thinking (Nikki)… That sounds disgusting. But au contraire. It was scrumdiddlyumptious!


(Recipe and photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

3 chicken breasts, cut into strips or chunks
1 can chicken broth, separated
4-8 cloves garlic, to taste
red pepper flakes, to taste
4 oz cream cheese
1-1/2 tbsp flour
2 tsp white wine
10-12 asparagus stalks, chopped into 1″ pieces
pre-made pizza dough
1/2-1 cup mozzarella cheese, to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

Put chicken in large pan with a little bit of olive oil. Add red pepper flakes and garlic. After 1-2 min, add 3/4 can chicken broth and white wine.

Bring to a boil then simmer 20-25 min until chicken is cooked. Remove chicken and place in a covered dish; cover with foil to keep warm.

Mix flour with remaining broth and add to pan; mix. Add cream cheese, mix until thick and bubbly. Add asparagus and stir for about 4-5 minutes or heated through. Return chicken to pan; toss to coat chicken and asparagus with sauce.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Spoon 1/3 cream cheese sauce onto pizza dough and top with all the chicken and asparagus. Sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top. Bake pizza in preheated oven, until the cheese and crust are golden brown, about 15-20 minutes.

Served with a salad and Baskin Robbins ice cream birthday cake. :)

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He loved it! Let’s just say there were no leftovers…

Wifey rating: A/A+
I am quite proud of myself. Another yummy pizza creation. Definitely will make again!

Entry filed under: cheese, chicken, pizza, veggie.

Foodie Question of the Day Daring Bakers #2: [Julie Childs French Bread]

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. slush  |  February 28, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    It does not sound up my alley, but I am so glad you and your hubs both loved it. Its always awesome when something new comes out fantastic. Props to you!

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  February 28, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    This sounds good! I love pizza, love cream cheese and chicken. And Happy Birthday to your hubs! Mine’s is tomorrow (Mr. Leap Year) :)

    Reply
  • 3. BBKiddo  |  February 28, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Yum! That sounds great. I love unique pizzas. My hubbies B-Day is Sunday, I think you should come make me him pizza ;)

    Reply
  • 4. Racheypoo  |  February 28, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    The kudos for this post are three fold.
    ONE – you made up your own recipe.
    ::raising roof::
    TWO – You used items you already had available (that were homemade!).
    ::raising it higher::
    Three- You agree that pineapple does not belong on pizza!
    ::raises roof even higher, burns it down, and booty bumps while singing “We don’t need no water, let the &(%$#(^% burn!”::

    Reply
  • 5. zebe912  |  February 28, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Uh oh, I might have to disown you now. Cream cheese should not be anywhere near pizza, much less with asparagus mixed in. Give me ham & pineapple any day! Pineapple DOES belong on pizza, but only when combined with ham and/or bacon. Happy Bday to T!

    Reply
  • 6. kmeadows  |  February 29, 2008 at 5:26 am

    Happy Birthday to T!!! This pizza looks yummy to me – now if I could get hubby to eat asparagus, but that will never happen.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  February 29, 2008 at 6:44 am

    SLUSH, its ok chica. Is it the asparagus or the whole combo?

    MICHELLE, thanks! This pizza definitely has cream cheese and chicken. Of course I think you could trade out any veggie for the asparagus but I think asparagus goes well with cream sauces… Happy bday to your hubbie too! How many years young?

    BB, J’s bday is March 2nd? Happy bday to him!! Lots of hubbie bdays around this time! w00t! I’ll glad come over and make him pizza when you some engineer invents teleportation. I love you but I hate driving!

    RACHEYPOO, ::hip bumping all night long::

    ZEBE, pineapple on pizza? EEEWWWW! Sorry we can’t be friends anymore. That just crossed the line. ;)

    K, I guess I am lucky in that department. T will eat anything I cook. He’s not very picky so I know if he doesn’t like something it really must suck. haha.

    Reply
  • 8. nikki57  |  February 29, 2008 at 6:49 am

    You lost me at not liking pineapple on your pizza, then had me at cream cheese pizza, then lost me again at asparagus. 2 out of three wrong answers means you FAILED!! :P

    Happy bday to T, happy bday to T happy Bday to T happy Bday to T. And many moreeeeeeeeeeee

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  February 29, 2008 at 6:59 am

    NIKKI, wait wait. You like mushrooms right? oh maybe you don’t. What vegetable do you like? You could probably replace the asparagus with about any veggie. Ah who am I fooling? I knew it would be a loser recipe with you. The cheese to veggie ratio was about 1:1. You wouldn’t have that. LOL

    Reply
  • 10. mrsabybaby  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Happy birthday to T!!! I think he should send you to Chicago for his birthday present! Oh wait, er, I mean…. ;)

    Hmm…this is an interesting combo. Not sure I would like it (even though you know I love pizza more than almost anything) but I’m glad you guys did! Good job on experimenting!

    Reply
  • 11. nikki57  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:27 am

    That is not a good cheese to veggie ratio.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  February 29, 2008 at 8:26 am

    MRSABY, I told him that too! But for some reason he didn’t think that was a good bday gift? go figure! haha.

    NIKKI, you really need to eat more veggies. seriously.

    Reply
  • 13. Racheypoo  |  February 29, 2008 at 10:14 am

    I’m scared of Nikki’s colon. ::shudders::

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,315 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


