Foodie Question of the Day

February 12, 2008 at 3:15 pm 17 comments

How often do you eat out?

Before we got married and I was still undomesticated (ok I still microwave so maybe I am semi-domesticated), I’d say we would eat out 4-5x a week (that includes fast food too). YIKES! Now that I cook more, I’d say we eat out maybe 1-2x a week. I think for me eating out is a very social activity so I thought I’d miss it more but T is very happy to eat at home anytime all the time. (I think its probably because hes a cheap ass frugal about food rather than my cooking though. haha)

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Erin’s Ultimate Sugar Cookies [Chicken] Spinach & Mushroom Lasagna

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alanna  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    We usually eat out 0-1 times a week, I guess. Sometimes 2, on busy weeks. Usually Friday or Saturday nights, we often go out somewhere with friends. When money is tight though, we don’t eat out at all. I buy a LOT of groceries, so we usually eat at home. I love eating out though (NOT fast food – going to an actual restaurant). It was always a special family event when I was growing up.

    Reply
  • 2. BBKiddo  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I am super bad (an not in a good way). I would say we eat at home 0-1 times a week so every other meal is out. I hate it. I would be so much happier eating at home all the time and out 0-1 night a week. Than it would actually be speacil when we go out. Plus, I just like to be home at the end of a long day at work. I just need to really change my habits and either force J to cook more or force him to eat my cooking ;)

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    ALANNA, yeah same here. Its mostly weekends that we would eat out if we did.

    BB, “not in a good way” LOL. suuuuuure! damn girl. Time to learn how to cook! Get Nikki to help you. She’s done wonders with me. T even says its a miracle! haha.

    Reply
  • 4. nikki57  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Yes BB, my services are available if you want to learn from the master teacher

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    ^ and it only took you a couple tries to bake some DELISH cupcakes. I am sure you could expand to cooking dinners too ;)

    Reply
  • 6. BBKiddo  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Thanks ladies! Tonight I’m making chicken burritos or something. We’ll see how it goes. I am not a picky eater and will eat whatever for dinner, the problem is the hubby literally begs me not to cook and won’t eat what I make. I think I’m just going to put my foot down and say he either eats what I make or cooks something himself.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    You tell him BB! I guess I am lucky with T. He will eat whatever I cook but I always know he doesn’t like it when he gives me “suggestions” to make it better next time. haha.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    You tell him BB! I guess I am lucky with T. He will eat whatever I cook but I always know he doesn’t like it when he gives me “suggestions” to make it better next time. haha.

    Reply
  • 9. NinaBeth  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    In a normal week we eat out 1x. Sunday after church we go out to eat with John’s dad and stepmom and the girls. Now, if you woulda asked me this before January 1, I woulda had to say 8-10x a week!! Yikes, I know. We both feel sooo much better not eating all that grease and stuff, our checkbook is bigger too. :)

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    NINA, 8-10x!??! daayyyum! I think my heart just clogged reading that. I bet your heart appreciates you eating healthier at home now. Keep it up!

    Reply
  • 11. Beth  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Before we were married, we ate out 1-2 a week, usually on the weekends because that was the only time we saw each other! Now that we have out own kitchen and no life, we eat out 2-3 a month and that includes when we order take-out! :)

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    BETH, dang! You win! but…but…but where are said foods that you claim to cook/eat in your blog? Hmmm… LOL.

    Reply
  • 13. zebe912  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    I think we tend to eat out 1-2 times per week, although more if things are really nuts. I wish that eating out were more social, but we don’t have any friends here so it is usually just the two of us. We’re getting sick of the restaurants here in town, so we may cut down on the eating out even more. I just wish B would take over the cooking duty once in a while. I get tired of it.

    Reply
  • 14. slush  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    We get take out once a week on average. Normally in the shape of a pizza delivered to the house. I cook the rest of the time.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  February 12, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    ZEBE, See?! I think eating out is a very social thing. We use to eat out alot but now that more of our single friends are in relationships or married or have kids, we don’t seem to get together as often. Thats probably another reason why it hasn’t been as hard to eat at home as I thought.

    SLUSH, delivery pizza is the 5th food group so its all good ;)

    Reply
  • 16. KRMWV  |  February 13, 2008 at 5:58 am

    We eat out about 2x a month. Usually R works late during the week so I try to have something cooked when he gets home for dinner. We’re also watching the money really tightly right now so that’s another reason.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  February 13, 2008 at 7:14 am

    KRMWV, a month? and I thought my 1-2x/week was good. Way to keep it home made. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,059 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


