[Chicken] Peanut Butter Noodles

February 10, 2008 at 1:01 pm 8 comments

I feel like I haven’t cooked in ages…

This past week has been very busy with food-filled events so I didn’t have a chance to cook. I’ve been itching to make an Asian inspired noodle dish recommended by my good friend, Alanna, for many weeks so this afternoon I treated myself to a home cooked lunch-in.


(Recipe from allrecipes.com | photos from me!)

Makes 4 servings
Calories/serving = 330
WW pts/serving = 7

* FYI, calories/WW pt are for the original recipe. Any additions or substitutions could increase or decrease the numbers

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup chicken broth
1-1/2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger root
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1/4 cup chopped peanuts (I omitted b/c I didn’t have any)
3 tablespoons peanut butter
1-1/2 tablespoons honey
2 teaspoons hot chile paste, optional
3 cloves garlic, minced
8 ounces Udon noodles (I used pad thai flat rice noodles)
1/4 cup chopped green onions
2 cups pre-cooked chicken strips


I am trying to get better at mise en place when I cook.

INSTRUCTIONS

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add noodles and cook until tender according to package directions. Drain.

[NOTES: Per Alanna’s suggestion, I sauteed chicken with peanut oil and a splash soy sauce before adding to noodle/sauce mixture.]

Meanwhile, combine chicken broth, ginger, soy sauce, peanut butter, honey, chili paste, and garlic in a small saucepan. Cook over medium heat until peanut butter melts and is heated through. Add noodles, and toss to coat. Garnish with green onions and peanuts.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A/A-
He liked the chicken and the combination of flavors but I think it was kinda spicy for him. I’ll probably reduce the chili paste and ginger next time. What a wuss! LOL

Wifey rating: A+
This was SO freaking good. If you like spicy asian flavors, you have to try it!

Entry filed under: asian, chicken, main dish, peanut butter, weight watcher.

Frugal Foodie Challenge #2: [Apple] Erin’s Ultimate Sugar Cookies

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zebe912  |  February 10, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    B loves Thai food, but is very picky about his peanut sauces. Neither of us like them too sweet. It sounds like adjustments in honey quantity and using natural peanut butter might make finding a happy medium doable. What do you think about subbing shrimp in this sometimes too? I need to remember to get some chili paste…

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  February 10, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    ZEBE, definitely think shrimp would be AWESOME but I love shrimp. T isn’t as big of a fan though… buzzkill. LOL.

    Reply
  • 3. nikki57  |  February 10, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    mise en place shmise en place … It’s way more fun to fly by the seat of your pants.

    It looks very tasty!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  February 10, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    NIKKI, shmise en place! BAHAHAHA! but… I’ve been told that (*)(.) isn’t fun. just saying… ;)

    Reply
  • 5. zebe912  |  February 10, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Looks like you changed the layout so there isn’t such a weird gap down to the comments. That’s kind of nice. Oh, and you two ^^ are goofy!!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  February 10, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    ZEBE, dang! I *just* changed it. You must be my #1 fan huh? ;) Glad you like. I am still playing around with it so i tmight be changing again. haha.

    Reply
  • 7. Alanna  |  February 10, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Mike and I LOVE this recipe. :) I never even measure anymore…I just dump it all in there. :) Sometimes it ends up SO spicy that I sweat from it. (Mike likes it that spicy!) It’s good with chicken or shrimp, for sure. And one thing, about the peanuts, if you use the crunchy peanut butter, you really don’t even need to add the chopped peanuts! I heart this recipe. :) I’m so glad you liked it!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  February 10, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    ALANNA, You never measure? Its your Rachael Ray recipe huh? teehee. Seriously it was so yummy. I definitely wanna try shrimp next time. Good idea with the crunchy peanut butter! Thanks for recipe! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,698 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


