Foodie Question of the Day

February 6, 2008 at 6:29 am 16 comments

What is your fondest food memory from childhood?

When I was elementary age, every Friday was my dad’s day to pick me and my brother up from school and we’d head over to MickeyD’s for lunch. Its all about the Happy Meal baby! I ♥ McD fries. To this day, I always associate the golden arches with good memories of my dad.

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

NFR: 51-75 I.Randomness Frugal Foodie Challenge #2: [Apple]

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NinaBeth  |  February 6, 2008 at 6:47 am

    My most vivid food memory is when I had mono in First grade. I was at home and I would just sleep all day long becuase that’s what you do when you have mono. Well, my mom was making bread one day, and I really really wanted to punch it down after it rose the first time. I remember my mom coming into my room to wake me up. I got to punch the dough down, then I was immediatly asleep again. My mom says I could barely even keep my eyes open during it. Fun memories. :)

    Reply
  • 2. slush  |  February 6, 2008 at 6:51 am

    I would say learning how to cook and bake from my Grandmothers. They both took the time to teach me. And they always let me help with whatever they were making. My love for baking comes from them.

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  February 6, 2008 at 6:58 am

    NINA, aawwww you poor thing. I’ve never had mono but I heard its not fun.

    SLUSH, thats such a great bonding experience. I think thats why I really never got into baking or cooking before. My mom and I didn’t do that very often…

    Reply
  • 4. mrsabybaby  |  February 6, 2008 at 7:07 am

    I have a few actually – both of my grandmothers let me cook with them. My Granny taught me how to make things like homemade chicken and dumplings, boiled eggs (when I was really little), and toast. LOL My Grandma and I used to make marble cakes when I was little – I LOVED using the butter knife to make the swirls in the cake. We have pictures of that actually…I need to find those. And my mom and I always cooked together as well. I think that is why I make it such a point to always let the kids cook and bake with me – one, it’s important for them to learn, and two, I love having those memories of my own so I want them to have those someday as well. : )

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  February 6, 2008 at 7:10 am

    MRSABY, aawwww so awesome. I think you are totally right about including your kiddies in helping you in the kitchen. Kids love to help and be included, even if its the simplest thing and I think learning to cook and understand food at a young age is great knowledge into adulthood considering obesity is an exponential problem in US. Keep up the good work SMILF! ;)

    Reply
  • 6. Andrea  |  February 6, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Making pancakes when I was little. Pretending the batter was carvel icecream and singing the old song from the commercial “carvel aahh, ice cream…” while mixing it. I was a weird kid.

    Reply
  • 7. Dawn  |  February 6, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Goodness, this is a hard one. I have very few memories of my childhood overall, but this question brings up a ton. I guess food & cooking is a good association for me! One summer my mom & I attempted to make strawberry jam from wild strawberries that grew in our hedge row. She was letting me make up the recipe and we basically ended up with fruit leather instead. I can still remember that cooked strawberry & sugar smell. One grandmas used to always have Pepperidge farm cookies in her house when we came. As a kid we loved the gingerman cookies and then I grew into loving the Geneva ones. The gingerman ones made such an impact that they were included in our wedding favors. Lastly, my other grandma always used “Dream Whip” rather than cool whip or whipped cream. It had to be mixed with an egg beater or hand mixer and it was always a contest between my sisters and I as to who would get to whip it up each time. That grandma also made the best root beer floats ever!

    Reply
  • 8. Alanna  |  February 6, 2008 at 8:09 am

    I’m sure there are a lot. The ones that come to mind are the ones that you girls have reminded me of though. When I was young, every Friday night was family night to go out to eat. We always went to our favorite Mexican restaurant, Farmer’s Inn, or Pizza Hut. The other thing I remember loving (and has proven useful today!) is cooking and baking with my mom and sister.

    Reply
  • 9. BBKiddo  |  February 6, 2008 at 9:48 am

    I have so many too! I guess I really remember though trying to make pancakes with my bro and sis for my parents so they could have breakfast in bed. I burnt my hand on the stove and let out a cuss word for the frist time ever (the D word). Of course my bro and sis go running upstairs o tattle on me. I was so upset. I thought I would be in trouble for cussing, but worse, I could no longer suprise my parents with breakfast in bed! I was crying like a baby. My parents came down stairs and hugged me. I wasn’t in troule at all. They just told me how much they loved us all for trying so hard and we all made breakfast together. I’m getting kinda teary eyed again just thinking about it.

    Reply
  • 10. Alanna  |  February 6, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Aw, that is so cute, BB! :)

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  February 6, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    ANDREA, whats carvel ice cream?

    DAWN, root beer floats rule. Man, now I am craving one!

    ALANNA, aaawww friday family dinners is such a cute ritual. Love that.

    BB, Oh thats so cute. Such a sweet memory. ::trying to guess the D word:: dork? dick? damn?

    Reply
  • 12. BBKiddo  |  February 6, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    ding ding ding! Damn is correct! If my parents only heard the things that come out of my mouth these days :/ I could be on an Orbit comercial

    Reply
  • 13. Andrea  |  February 6, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Really CB? Carvel? Major ice cream store I guess only in NY or Northeast?

    Reply
  • 14. alan n  |  February 6, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    and unfortunately, i wasn’t born yet

    Reply
  • 15. zebe912  |  February 6, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    I remember trying to make surprise breakfasts for my parents! It never worked out the way it was supposed to. You aren’t the only one BB. At least you didn’t set off the smoke detectors. That fiasco is one my sisters love to remind me of.

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  February 6, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    ANDREA, that must be a eastie thang. We have coldstone, baskin robbins, ben&jerrys…

    ALAN, aaahhhh the good ol days. haha. I keed. ;)

    ZEBE, bahaha. good times involving smoke detector. I have many of those stories LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


