Foodie Question of the Day

January 28, 2008 at 7:12 pm 17 comments

What kind of grocery shopper are you?

A. The list maker
B. The walking aimlessly down every aisle-er
C. The run in and grab a shopping basket for a few items-er
D. other… describe!

I am a combination of A and B. I always make lists but thats not to say that I don’t stray from my list… ALOT. I usually start at the produce section and work my way up and down each aisle until I reach the HABA (health and beauty aids) section for shampoos, soaps, lotion etc at the other end of the grocery store. Actually I probably should be doing that in reverse (so the veggies stay fresher) huh?

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Daring Bakers #1: [Lemon Meringue] And the award goes to…

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. racheypoo  |  January 28, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I’m also an A/B mix. I always make a list but I stray from it if something is on sale that I like or a recipe inspiration strikes me. I do use coupons and I also do veggies, then frozen stuff last!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  January 28, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    RACHEYPOO, I try to use coupons too but I also tend to forget! I need to get more coupon-organized. I bought a little accordian file on your rec but its been sitting on my kitchen counter for weeks. haha.

    Reply
  • 3. racheypoo  |  January 28, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    WTH! Use the filing thing! I <3 mine! I seriously use it every week and save mucho dinero!

    Reply
  • 4. Kat  |  January 29, 2008 at 3:35 am

    I try to be a type A- but I ALWAYS forget my list which will then make me a Type B. I will wander up and down looking at everything- I easily get sucked into new products which will always make my estimated grocery list go from $110 to $200+. So basically I suck at shopping!

    Reply
  • 5. KRMWV  |  January 29, 2008 at 5:26 am

    D – All of the above. I usually have a list, but I’ve been known to wander. I have also done the mad dash in and out thing, especially when DH is with me. He LOATHES grocery shopping.

    Reply
  • 6. Jessi  |  January 29, 2008 at 5:38 am

    I’m definitely a list maker, but I usually forget something, or my list is so vague (i.e. lunch stuff) b/c we can’t decide what we want that we do a lot of wandering. I do remember my coupons though.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:34 am

    KAT, oh man. I hear ya. Esp if there are samples. I get sucked in so fast its not even funny.

    KRMWV, that must be a hubbie thing. T hates grocery shopping too. I rarely go with him b/c he makes me nervous! He’s like a little kid “are we done yet….?” So I leave his whiney ass at home! haha.

    JESSI, same here! I always make a list but I do forget things (most of the time its b/c I forgot to put it on my list!) LOL.

    Reply
  • 8. BBKiddo  |  January 29, 2008 at 8:48 am

    I am C/B? I go in for a few things, I make at least two full circles in the store because I always forget something. This causes me to buy more than what I came for :)

    Reply
  • 9. Alanna  |  January 29, 2008 at 11:34 am

    I’m also an A/B. I’m like you, Kat. I seriously LOVE grocery shopping. I love it more than shopping for clothes. I have a detailed list, but I linger down every aisle looking at new and bright, shiny things. Seriously, ask Mike. I take forever at the grocery store. You should have seen me last night. I did my shopping at the big, new Ralphs by my new house. It was my first full grocery shopping trip there, so I was there for SO long. I wanted to try everything, but alas, I had to limit myself. I can’t wait for my next grocery trip…

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  January 29, 2008 at 11:41 am

    BB, seriously. i wanna go grocery shopping with you. LOL

    ALANNA, haha. I don’t think I like grocery shopping that much! You should be a personal grocer. I’d let you shop for me!

    Reply
  • 11. zebe912  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Hmm ABD. I usually take a list, or have one in my head. But as I go, I see things that I wouldn’t have thought to put on the list, so I end up with more than I planned. My big bad habit is that I go in for just a few things, so I don’t grab a cart. By the end of my trip I end up with my arms jam packed with things to the point that one wrong step and it will all tumble to the floor. I do this ALL the time. My mom does it too. You’d think we’d learn.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    ZEBE, sorry to laugh but I can totally picture you in my head! haha.

    Reply
  • 13. zebe912  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    I bet you can. I look like an idiot. How hard is it to just grab a cart just in case?! I really should know what is going to happen by now.

    Reply
  • 14. JennDZ_The LeftoverQueen  |  January 30, 2008 at 8:48 am

    I am an A – all the way, I think that is probably because I have type A personality tendencies in some ways! LOL!
    Anyway, I stick to the list unless it is for one item that is either on sale that I wanted to try, or for an exotic ingredient that I can’t pass up.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  January 30, 2008 at 9:18 am

    JENN, oh yes, I am a sucker for sales. Its bad…

    Reply
  • 16. Dolores  |  January 30, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    I’m actually all three, depending upon the occasion. Given the luxury of time, I LOVE wandering up and down ever aisle discovering new things. That part of me that wants to retire someday and therefore looks at the budget likes the list approach. And I appreciate getting home and knowing I have *everything* I need to work on a recipe. But I’ll also dash in to the grocery store or fresh market on the way home from work for ingredients that beg for same day freshness: most often seafood and salad greens.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  January 30, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    DOLORES, I hear ya! I always tend to forget a specific spice or vegetable. Then I have to start thinking if the recipe is worth making or putting off for another day. haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


