I ♥ Caramel French Toast

January 27, 2008 at 9:35 am 22 comments

I usually don’t make time consuming breakfasts even though breakfast is my favorite meal. Most of the time its cereal or oatmeal (and coffee for the hubs) but today I decided to take advantage of my cancelled Sunday morning cake decorating class and my love of caramel to make us a yummy healthy calorie-excessive breakfast! haha.

While preparing the french toast I suddenly got inspired by my friend, Nina’s, eggs in a basket, to make my french toast eligible for fellow foodie friend, Zorra’s, Valentine Blog Event.


(Recipe from TasteofHome.com | photos from me!)

Makes 6 servings (2 french toast=1 serving)
Calories/serving = 571*
WW pts/serving = 13*

* Calories/WW pts are for the original recipe. My changes might make it higher or lower. Just FYI.

INGREDIENTS

1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
12 slices bread
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, divided
6 eggs (I reduced to 5 eggs)
1-1/2 cup milk (I reduced to 1 cup milk)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

[NOTES: I reduced to 5 eggs and 1 cup of milk per reviews to avoid soggy toast. Maybe if you are using thicker bread or baguette slices you might wanna keep the recipe the same though?]

INSTRUCTIONS

In a small saucepan, bring the brown sugar, butter and corn syrup to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Remove from the heat.

Pour into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. baking dish. Top with six slices of bread. Combine sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon; sprinkle half over the bread. Place remaining bread on top. Sprinkle with remaining cinnamon-sugar; set aside.

[NOTES: I used a heart cookie cutter for each slice of bread *before* assembling and baking but didn’t cut all the way through. Just enough so it would be easy to cut out after baking.]

In a large bowl, beat the eggs, milk, vanilla and remaining cinnamon. Pour over bread. Cover and refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight.

Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 30-35 minutes. (I served with low fat whipped cream and side of strawberries.)

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He finished his first plate and was happily eating his second before I finished my first! I guess he liked it? haha.

Wifey rating: A/A+
I love that I could prepare this dish the night before. Caramel is one of my favorite food groups (besides pizza. haha) so I knew it would be yummers and it didn’t disappoint!

Entry filed under: bread, breakfast, weight watcher. Tags: .

NFR: TGIFun day 4 things…

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. racheypoo  |  January 27, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Yum! Must try this one. Check out my BU later. (I made eggs in a hole this morning!)

    Reply
  • 2. zorra  |  January 27, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Yummie, just another great and delicious idea!

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  January 27, 2008 at 10:02 am

    RACHEYPOO, you made eggs in a basket too? awesome!! GMTA!

    ZORRA, omg. it was UBER yummy and delish! Thanks for hosting! :)

    Reply
  • 4. BBKiddo  |  January 27, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Those looks so yummy! I’m not really a breakfast fan but I would so order this if dining at Casa de CB :)

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  January 27, 2008 at 10:08 am

    BB, you don’t like breakfast? wtf? you’re nuts! omelets, waffles, pancakes, french toast, hashbrowns? Its all good! When I can finally afford a home (CA needs a housing market crash first!)… BB is definitely welcome to mi casa for breakfast. :)

    Reply
  • 6. Ninabeth  |  January 27, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Aww, I inspired the hearts. :) I think I’m going to suprise J with the heart eggs in a basket on V-day… then I can also enter it in Zorra’s contest. woo hoo!

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  January 27, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    NINA, copycat!! haha. just teasing.

    Reply
  • 8. Andrea  |  January 27, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    yummmmmmy!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  January 27, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    ANIG#1!!! ::boob high five::

    Reply
  • 10. NinaBeth  |  January 28, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Me the copycat? hmph, I don’t think so. That was actually the first thing I thought about making when I first heard the challenge. I didn’t think I could use the previous post about it though… :)

    Reply
  • 11. Pixie  |  January 31, 2008 at 8:39 am

    I adore this fabulous idea, think I’ll show it to my husband and force him to make me heart toasts for Valentine’s day!!!

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  January 31, 2008 at 8:47 am

    PIXIE, aawww thanks! I got an epiphany while making it. I love my heart shaped cookie cutter. haha.

    Reply
  • 13. Coco  |  February 9, 2008 at 7:11 am

    These look so pretty!

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  February 9, 2008 at 11:50 am

    COCO, thanky! ps. Nice to “meet” me!

    Reply
  • 15. Tina  |  February 11, 2008 at 11:21 am

    omg!!…carmel…french toast…heaven? wow what a combo. Will so have to try that out. They look Soo tasty!!!

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  February 11, 2008 at 11:30 am

    TINA, thanks! They were quite heavenly I must say ;)

    Reply
  • 17. Angel  |  February 11, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Now that sounds like the breakfast of champions. I adore caramel, and I adore French toast.

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  February 12, 2008 at 8:49 am

    ANGEL, haha. We were definitely champions… “How many french toasts can you stuff your face with” champions!

    Reply
  • 19. Maki  |  February 15, 2008 at 8:16 am

    I’m not one for soggy toast either :)

    Great idea!

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  February 15, 2008 at 8:18 am

    MAKI, soggy toast = no bueno! ;)

    Reply
  • 21. Jessie  |  March 31, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Just prepped these…can’t wait to try them in the morning…I may just eat all 12 MYSELF!!! Mmmm!

    Reply
  • 22. CB  |  March 31, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    JESSIE, awesome! Let me know what you think! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,044 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


