Homemade Vanilla Sugar

January 24, 2008 at 8:52 pm 12 comments

I have never “played” with vanilla beans before so I wasn’t sure what to expect when I opened the vacuum sealed package. Immediately you can smell a faint vanilla scent with a more overwhelming licorice-alcohol-y scent. I think I got a little buzzed! haha. I was all giddy to making something grandiose but I decided to start easy instead…

Vanilla Sugar
(Recipe from Alton Brown, foodnetwork.com)

INGREDIENTS

1 vanilla bean, whole or scraped
2 cups granulated sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

If vanilla bean is whole, slice down side of bean with back of knife and scrape seeds into airtight container with the sugar.


(Click image to enlarge)

Bury bean in sugar and seal tightly with lid. Let sit for 1 to 2 weeks. Use as regular, granulated sugar. Replace sugar as needed. Discard and replace vanilla bean after 1 year.


(Click image to enlarge)

Can’t get anymore simple than that. Now the vanilla sugar waiting game begins…

Entry filed under: dessert, random. Tags: .

Chicken & Asparagus Pasta NFR: TGIFun day

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. racheypoo  |  January 24, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I can’t wait for my ‘nilla beans to come! I am trying to remember the fancy cocktail that calls for vanilla sugar to rim the glass. Off to google to find it…

    Reply
  • 2. April  |  January 25, 2008 at 6:17 am

    Interesting! I was wondering what all you could use vanilla sugar for? Rachey…drinks?! Hmm…sounds good to me. : )

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  January 25, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    RACHEYPOO, must share alcoholic vanilla bean recipe!

    APRIL, you use it in any recipe that calls for granulated sugar. It gives it a vanilla-y flavor and suppose to be YUMYUMGOOD. :)

    Reply
  • 4. HowToEatACupcake  |  January 25, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I should probably buy some vanilla beans soon, because I fully plan on trying that triple vanilla cupcake recipe you suggested!!

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    HOWTOEAT, oh yes you must! haha. Not sure if you saw in my previous entry but I bought mine on ebay. 1/4lb (~25 vanilla beans) for $12. Such a killer deal. ebay seller= organic-vanilla. I am way happy with them and will definitely order again.

    Reply
  • 6. Courtney  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:18 am

    I also found vanilla beans at Costco–no less. For $11.99 for 10. Its a bit more than what you paid on eBay, but if you can’t wait for a shipment….this was the best deal I could find near me.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:21 am

    COURTNEY, costco? really!?! Oh thats awesome! Next time I go I’ll have to check. Do you remember what area you found them in?

    Reply
  • 8. Courtney  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:30 am

    It was by all the spices and baking supplies (you know..the 100 lb bags of flour LOL!) I have never seen them there before and I got REALLY giddy when I found them! My husband never knew all it took was a good deal on vanilla beans to make me happy :) But I will be checking Ebay next time! What a steal!

    They are from a company called Rodelle and I did look them up on their website when I got home so I expect them to be good quality. I will let you know how I like them as I plan to try your vanilla bean frosting this weekend. :) BTW–your latest cupcakes look great too!! Can’t wait to make vanilla sugar!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  May 21, 2008 at 9:26 am

    COURTNEY, haha 100lb of flour! I know exactly what you are talking about. Somedays I contemplate buying it b/c I know I’d use it eventually but where the heck would I store it?? Yes, definitely let me know what you think about the VB frosting! Thanks for the costo tip!

    Reply
  • 10. Courtney  |  May 21, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    No problem! I know, 100lbs of flour at a discount is tempting. :) I will let you know about the frosting.

    Where do you find your mini cup cake papers? I scoured google and didnt come up with what I was looking for.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  May 21, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    COURTNEY, The cupcake liners I use are actually called “party nut cups” or “souffle cups” depending on where you buy them. I buy mine from Smart&Final – 3.25 or 2oz souffle cups. I love it b/c its 250 for $5. Its great for my wallet since I bake SO many cupcakes. HTH!

    Reply
  • 12. Courtney  |  May 21, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    hmm…not sure if we have Smart&Final, but now that I know what they are ‘called’ I am certain I can find them now! Thanks…and yes..you know me. I love a bargain too. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,044 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


