NFR: Let’s talk moisturizer

January 18, 2008 at 12:47 pm 12 comments

NFR = Not Food Related

Lately I’ve been more conscious of my aging face. I am 29 going on 40. Not good. I don’t wear makeup (unless you count chapstick) so I am a dweeb when it comes to cosmetics and other dermatological products. I started using cetaphil as my moisturizer everyday for the last 2 weeks and I do feel a difference but… its kinda greasy… Is that just me? So I am looking to make a change. 

Any recommendations?  What moisturizer do you use? Whats your daily skin regiment?

(Let’s also keep in mind that I do not have the bank account of Oprah.  thanks!)

Entry filed under: Not Food Related. Tags: .

Foodie Question of the Day Roast Beef & Avocado Wrap

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Racheypoo  |  January 18, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I really like Aveeno. I’ve also used Mary Kay in the past but it can get a little pricey. When I am rich I love Clinique and Benefit.

    Reply
  • 2. NinaBeth  |  January 18, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    My grandma swears my Clinique.

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  January 18, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    RACHEYPOO, I’ve heard good things about aveeno and clinique. I guess its aveeno until I win the lottery though.

    NINA, another clinique rec. awesome, but… does your grandma look like a grandma? thats the question ;)

    Reply
  • 4. NinaBeth  |  January 18, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Nope, she’s a hot grandma. :) http://lovesweetlove.wordpress.com/2007/11/28/happy-birthday/ She’s 75, but I don’t think she looks it. She always gets compliments on her skin. Her advice is “Stay out of the sun and those silly tanning beds and mosturive every morning and evening.”

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  January 18, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    WOW. your grammy has gorgeous skin… you call her RoRo? aawwww so cute. You aren’t too bad looking yourself – sexy bride! :)

    Reply
  • 6. BBKiddo  |  January 18, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    I really like my Arbonne intelligence line. I hate dealing with Arbonne people though because they are always trying to drag you into selling it :/

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  January 18, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    BB, thanks for reminding me! T’s friend’s sister sells Arbonne. Maybe I can ask for a sample or something.

    Reply
  • 8. Alanna  |  January 18, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    I change mine often. I’ve found that if I use the same thing for too long, my skin just zits right up like a teenager or dries out. So, I usually end up switching every few months. I used L’Oreal for a while (their verson of Proactiv), then before the wedding I switched to Mary Kay. My face was getting really bad though, so now I use the medicated Clean & Clear Moisturizer. I hear ya on the 29 going on 40. Everyone seems to think I’m only like 21 somehow, but really, I look in the mirror and all I see is an old woman!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  January 18, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    ALANNA, ditto! I still get carded but when I look up close in the mirror I see all the wrinkles. no bueno!

    Reply
  • 10. Jen  |  January 20, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Clara,

    I LOVE Origins “A Perfect World” moisturizer. It makes my skin look so great, and it’s one of the only moisturizers I’ve tried that doesn’t make me break out.

    http://www.origins.com/templates/products/sp_nonshaded.tmpl?CATEGORY_ID=CATEGORY5978&PRODUCT_ID=PROD7704

    Reply
  • 11. zebe912  |  January 20, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I use the pink, oil free, Clinique Moisture surge. They often include it in the “free gift” packages, and a little goes a long way. One jar lasts me a very long time.

    I used to use the clinique three step system, but now I use a clean & clear for sensitive skin, and then the clinique purple toner and pink moisturizer. It seems to work for me.

    But then I’ve also been told that if you over moisturize, your face will stop doing its natural moisturizing, so you shouldn’t use it unless you really have to. That, obviously, is the opposite advice than Nina’s grandma gives.

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  January 20, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    JEN, hey girlie!! thanks for the rec. A couple of my other gfs rec. origins too and since my closet is more full b/c of your blog recs I have a feeling I’ll be heading to origins soon ;)

    ZEBE, another clinique rec. Hmmm… seems like I’ll have to check it out! Its so interesting that some ppl say you should moisturize everyday while other say opposite. Maybe I’ll do it every other day and see how my face feels?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,044 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


