Potato Flake Chicken

January 9, 2008 at 5:56 pm 4 comments


(Recipe from allrecipes.com | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

2/3 cup dry potato flakes
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon garlic salt (I used garlic powder)
1 (3 pound) chicken, skin removed, cut into pieces (I used 4 chicken breasts)
1/3 cup butter, melted

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Heat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease or line with foil a baking sheet or a 13 x 9 inch baking pan.
  • In a medium bowl, combine potato flakes, Parmesan cheese, and garlic salt. (I also added 1tsp rosemary and 1tsp thyme for more flavor.) Stir until well mixed.
  • Dip chicken pieces into melted butter or margarine, and roll in potato flake mixture to coat. Place in prepared pan.
  • Bake for 45 to 60 minutes, or until chicken is tender and golden brown.

[NOTES: I dipped each chicken breast in AP flour and egg before coating the chicken with the potato mixture. That trick always seems to keep the “coating” on better for me. I totally forgot the “butter” step but since I coated with flour+egg, I just drizzled the butter on top of the chicken before baking.]

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He raved the whole time he was eating.

Wifey rating: A+
The rosemary, thyme and potato flavors worked well together and the chicken was so juicy and tender. I paired it with brown rice, sauteed green beans and cauliflower. Very yummy!

Entry filed under: chicken, main dish, potato.

Frugal Foodie Challenge #1: [Mozzarella] Crockpot Salsa Chicken

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nikki57  |  January 9, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Mmmm looks good. I’m so proud that you actually add things to recipes on your own now. My little cook is growing up.

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  January 9, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Thanks MBNB. I felt so powerful adding stuff and “making it work”. You’ve taught me well. ;)

    Reply
  • 3. cakespy  |  January 9, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Ooh, how hearty! And damn girl, thanks for the tip on those cupcake tables! I could see myself resting my plate of potato flake chicken on my cupcake table…and trying to save room for dessert! Just kidding. This recipe seems great for these cold Seattle days!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  January 9, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    CAKESPY, haha. at first I was like “what the heck is she talking about? There’s no cupcake tables in my potato flake chicken recipe!” Sorry brain fart but I get it now. I think the tables are uber cute but did you get a load of that price tag?? OUCH! (thats what my wallet would say.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,712 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


