TWD #88: Ms. Engineer’s Cocoa Volcano Cookies

January 12, 2010 at 1:27 am 9 comments

I know you’re probably confused.

You’re probably thinking… CB, I read your blog word for word every day and you said this week would be Mrs. Vogel’s Scherben? Who’s Ms. Engineer?

Ok maybe you don’t read word-for-word or even everyday but you are right. This week should be Mrs. Vogel’s Scherben. Side note: Am I the only one that has no idea what a “scherben” actually is? It’s not even in the dictionary! (Yes, I looked it up. No, I’m not offended that you said NERD under your breath.) Apparently Scherben is German for shard. It’s deep fried dough that is sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. Sounds like a funnel cake to me. I love funnel cake. Slap on gobs of strawberries and powdered sugar and OH BABY it’s better than a cupcake. Yeah I said it!

But I have a confession. I suck at frying. It makes me nervous. It’s gonna take me a little more time to get the courage to deep fry anything in my new house. I have this neurosis that I’ll burn my new house down. *knock on wood*

So my sincere apologies to Teanna of Spork of Foon, our Tuesdays with Dorie host this week, but it’s not you. You’re the coolest foodie on the block. It’s me. You still love me right? Don’t leave me hanging… I feel so guilty already.

Instead I decided to do a TWD rewind. I was bumming that I didn’t get a chance to make my foodie friend, McDuff of Lonely Side Car‘s pick last month. You can find the recipe on her blog. Even though I’ve been bad on the blog commenting and email corresponding (I “just” found out that she’s engaged! *squeal*), me and McDuff are like this. *crossing index and middle fingers* Hmmm… maybe more like index+ring finger. Tight but hard to reach sometimes. She’s my second favorite Bostonian. (Nikki of Crazy Delicious Food is my Number 1. And she’ll hurt me if I don’t say that. I’m not kidding. Save me.)


This picture is dedicated to Mike of Ugly Dude Food who explained that my mental health would improve if I just took the pictures where they lay. No props, no artificial lighting, no digital enhancement. Aaahhhh… I can feel my stress level decreasing already although it’s driving me a tad crazy that the saturation needs to be bumped down a notch. I know. I have issues.

So to make a long story short. (Too late for that, CB.) I baked up the Cafe Volcano Cookies instead. Why the homage to Ms. Engineer? Well… Caitlin of Engineer Baker (Get it??) inspired me to switch out the espresso powder for double the cocoa powder. And also special thanks to Nancy of The Dogs Eat The Crumbs, Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures and Margaret of Tea And Scones for confirming my nut(ty) substitution. True to my unprepared form. I realized I had no walnuts or almonds at the last minute. So instead opted for double the pecans instead.

What I learned this week:
This are the EASIEST cookies I’ve ever made. No joke. Five minutes + baking time.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
It’s not his favorite cookie (he’s more of a PB cookie man) but he said that it would be awesome dunked in a cup of coffee.

Wife rating: A
I can’t believe that this turned out. There are only 4 ingredients: nuts, espresso powder (or cocoa), egg white and sugar. I remember thinking before I baked them there was no way this could turn out any kind of cookie. But once again The Great Dorie Greenspan proves me wrong. This cookie is oh so right. I agree with hubs. Would be yummy with a hot drink. Next time I might cut down on the baking time so it’s not as crunchy though.

Next week: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars pages 114-115

Stay tuned tomorrow for the winner of Studio JK Vinyls! (and you thought I forgot didn’t you!?)

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

TWD #Ilostcount: All the world is birthday cake, so take a piece, but not too much. ~George Harrison Un-New Years Resolution Giveaway **WINNER**

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clivia  |  January 12, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Glad you had a chance to make these. They were delicious. Love your shoot-it-where-it-lays photo!

    Reply
  • 2. chocolatechic  |  January 12, 2010 at 6:26 am

    So glad you participated.

    I like your picture.

    Reply
  • 3. Alanna  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Very interesting! At this point in my pregnancy, pretty much any cookie looks amazing to me!!! Yum, yum….

    I gave you an award over at my blog. :)

    http://alannasvanillabean.blogspot.com/2010/01/ive-been-awarded.html

    Reply
  • 4. Tracey  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I should do a rewind and try these again sometime because mine were a bit of a disaster the first go-round. Yours, however, look perfect and I love the “take the picture where it lay” attitude!

    The scherben really are delicious so when you work up the courage to fry, give them a shot!

    Reply
  • 5. Karen  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Glad you got to make these. My hubbs LOVED these!

    Reply
  • 6. Jules  |  January 12, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Loved this one as well. No scherben at my house, either. I made cake instead.

    Reply
  • 7. carolina  |  January 12, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    I am intrigued. I have got to try these out! Way to go.

    Reply
  • 8. Suzy  |  January 13, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    4 ingredients, 5 minutes, crunchy good coffee cookie…uh..yes please! (btw I haven’t forgotten about your care package, i promise!)

    Reply
  • 9. Mike  |  January 14, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Hahaha, glad I could provide some inspiration

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 220,216 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

