TWD #Ilostcount: All the world is birthday cake, so take a piece, but not too much. ~George Harrison

January 5, 2010 at 5:22 pm 10 comments

Like my subject line implies…

I can’t remember what number Tuesdays with Dorie recipe I am on now. I wanna say in the high 80s maybe? Then again my memory aint what it use to be back in my 20s now that I’m in my 30s so I could be WAY off on the count. All I know is it feels like FOREVER AND A DAY since I last participated. Anyone that tells you that you can buy a house, move into your house, unpack all the boxes, celebrate the holidays *AND* keep up with any other activities is Super Woman. I certainly couldn’t so unfortunately my little ol blog lacked any Tuesday with Dorie goodness lately.

Do I still have any readers hanging around? *echo echo*

But I knew I had to come back come hell or high water for TWD’s 2 year anniversary!

Psst… Come closer. Can I tell you a secret? I’m a little bitter that my campaign for the White Chocolate Brownies for TWD’s 2nd anniversary recipe got axed. Frick Da Man?!? The Cocoa Buttermilk Cake got picked b/c everyone likes cake. The Tarte Tatin got picked b/c every one likes frenchy frou frou stuff. What about the brownie? Show some love for the brownie! Ok I’m done with my vent.

Since my brownies didn’t get picked (AGAIN!!) I decided to go with the Cocoa Buttermilk Cake. Because like I said. Everyone likes cakes. Esp when I can make them into cupcakes so that I can give away to neighbors easily. Transportable desserts are the way to go for me. Just saying.

What I learned this week:
I am getting better at judging the ratio of ingredients when I bake now. I halved the recipe to make 12 cupcakes but when I was measuring out the amount of buttermilk I realized before it was too late that I forgot to half it. Whew! That would have been some runny cake batter. Runny cake batter just aint right.

Happy 2nd Anniversary Tuesdays With Dorie baking group!

It’s been a fun ride!! I’m looking forward to the next years and beyond… *MUAH*

Cocoa Buttermilk {Cup}Cake
You can find the recipe on Laurie’s blog or page 256-257 of Baking: From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan

ENJOY!

Wifey rating: A
I really like this “cake” recipe. It’s moist and full of chocolate flavor. Adding the melted bittersweet chocolate was optional but don’t skip it! I honestly thought it brought out a great chocolate flavor. I didn’t make the malted buttercream frosting though. I opted for a cream cheese frosting instead. My Hubby isn’t a fan of “malt” and since he’d be the one eating it I figured I better substitute his favorite.

Husband rating: A
He liked the “cake” but loves the cream cheese frosting. There’s just something about cream cheese.

Next week: Mrs. Vogel’s Scherben pages 157-159

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Un-New Year’s Resolution 2010 **GIVEAWAY** TWD #88: Ms. Engineer’s Cocoa Volcano Cookies

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LW  |  January 5, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Lots of love for you CB. So glad you are back. Thanks so much for listening to all my heming and hawing over the past 2 years. Its been a commitment to stay in TWD and I appreciate you sticking it out with me. xoxoxox

    Reply
  • 2. chocolatechic  |  January 5, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    I have missed you.

    I made the tarte because I like French frou frou stuff.

    Reply
  • 3. Tracey  |  January 5, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    I made cupcakes too and thought they were terrific with some peanut butter frosting. Sorry about your brownies – hopefully someone will pick them soon :)

    Reply
  • 4. Karen  |  January 5, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Glad you are back! We have missed you! Cupcakes are yummy!

    Reply
  • 5. Gretchen Noelle  |  January 5, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Glad to see you back around these parts as well. I thought the 2 year celebration was worth it too.

    Reply
  • 6. Keri  |  January 6, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Just because I actually laughed out loud while reading your campaign on the voting page, I’m going to make those brownies! Whenever I get rid of the cake. You put up a good fight!

    Reply
  • 7. food librarian  |  January 6, 2010 at 9:38 am

    CB, I wrote about your heavy lobby effort for them brownies on my post…it was fierce babe. :) – mary

    Reply
  • 8. Carol Peterman  |  January 6, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    I’ve been gone for a while to and happy to be back checking out what everyone’s baking. I made the cake mostly motivated by the fact that I like cake and I had buttermilk in the fridge that needed to be used. The malt in the frosting was very subtle.

    Reply
  • 9. Margaret  |  January 7, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    I wanted the brownies, but got voted off the island.

    sounds like you liked the cake and that’s good.

    Reply
  • 10. cakes  |  March 28, 2010 at 6:35 am

    Hi, you have interesting post! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is birthday cakes site/blog. It pretty much covers “cakes” related stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 220,106 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

