Real Simple Ravioli Lasagna

December 17, 2008 at 8:36 pm 22 comments

Lord knows I need “simple” right now. Ya feel me?

I started my new job on Monday and its intense but exciting. There’s so much to learn that its a little overwhelming at times. I think my lack of enough hours in a day is compounded with the fact that its 8 days before Christmas and I still haven’t bought T’s gift yet. ::smacks head::

Since I am adjusting to my new work hours and my cooking creativity is sucked dry by the end of my shift, the last 2 days T and I ate fast food for dinner but tonight I was determined to make us a home cooked meal. There’s only so much grease you can pay for before you start craving something at home. Am I right? HAHA

But let’s just say that I can see the appeal of Rachael Ray 30 minute meals now. *avoiding EVOO thrown at me* I wasn’t sure what I could make in less than an hour on the fly to feed my hungry husband (if anyone has suggestions I am all ears!) until my semi-not-really photographic memory reminded me of a last minute lasagna in the recent issue of Real Simple Magazine.

…and I had all the ingredients in my frig.

SCORE!


Recipe from Real Simple January 2009

INGREDIENTS

1-24 to 26oz jar marinara sauce (I used 26oz can spaghetti sauce)
2-20oz packages refrigerated cheese ravioli (I used Buitoni 4 cheese ravioli)
1-10oz box frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed of excess liquid
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350F.

Spoon a thin layer of sauce into the bottom of a 9x13inch baking dish. On top of sauce, layer a third of the ravioli, half the spinach, half the mozzarella and a third of the sauce; repeat. Top with remaining third of the ravioli and sauce. Sprinkle with the Parmesan.

Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover and bake until bubbling, 5-10 minutes.

[NOTES: I like my cheese a little browned and crispy so I turned oven to broil and bake for another 5 minutes.]

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He raved and said between bites that this dish is definitely going on the rotation.

Wifey rating: A
Less than 15 minutes to prep, baked for about 40 minutes and tasted delish! How could anything with oozy oven melted mozzarella cheese be bad? Right? HAHA

Entry filed under: italian, Real Simple. Tags: , .

You say Blogi-, I say Blogga-! GIVEAWAY (The End!) [Note to self]

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. food librarian  |  December 17, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    What a fantastic idea for a great dinner! I love it!

    Reply
  • 2. chocolatechic  |  December 18, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Super idea.

    I love doing RR’s 30 minute meatloaf, which can actually be done quicker if you prep the meat earlier in the day or the night before.

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  December 18, 2008 at 6:02 am

    FOODLIBRARIAN, Thanks! It was yummier than I thought.

    CHOCOLATECHIC, Thanks for the RR suggestion. Bummer I am not a big meatloaf person but T likes meatloaf so maybe I’ll have to try it for him.

    Reply
  • 4. April  |  December 18, 2008 at 6:32 am

    In the Rachel Ray spirit…this looks yummo!!! (Sorry Nikki!)

    If you ever want quick meal ideas, look on my blog – I have tons. You know I cook nearly every night and I don’t get home until 5:30 or 6 so a lot of the things I throw together are easy. :)

    Reply
  • 5. Cristine  |  December 18, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Sounds great and looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 6. joelen  |  December 18, 2008 at 7:24 am

    I love this recipe purely for the fact that ravioli is more fun than a plain flat lasagna noodle. :) Looks delicious and hearty!

    Reply
  • 7. macduff  |  December 18, 2008 at 7:50 am

    I have to buy Jon’s gift too. I can’t believe I’ve slacked for so long! maybe he would appreciate some lasagne…

    Reply
  • 8. heather b  |  December 18, 2008 at 7:59 am

    It looks delicious! I love ravioli and lasagna so this would be a hit with me!

    I like Rachel Ray’s recipes for the most part. Ineed eady and quick during the weekk! As long as I don’t have to listen to her talk I’m good. ;)

    Reply
  • 9. zebe912  |  December 18, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    I’m so bummed that this recipe didn’t start popping up back when I could eat pasta all the time. I love ravioli and lasagna and would love to make this. But I’d pay for it nowadays.

    My favorite quick recipes are steak (use grill mates rub and broil in just a few minutes), hamburger stew, and 123 skillet. Email if you want further info.

    Reply
  • 10. Kristen  |  December 18, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    A crock pot can be your new best friend. there is one night a week if we don’t want to eat at midnight, I do a crock pot meal. They are so simple. My favorite is chicken tacos. Throw some boneless skinless chicken breasts in the crock pot. Take a can of chicken broth and pour it in a bowl. Add a packet of taco seasoning. Stir it up and pour it over the chicken. Cook all day on low. Serve with your favorite sides and fixin’s.

    Reply
  • 11. Mary  |  December 18, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    oh DELISH! (hee hee hee!) Yeah, I can’t talk. This week we had spaghetti twice, Stouffer’s frozen lasagna, an assload of cookies, and leftovers. I think I’m going to go the whole day with no tomatoes tomorrow. Well, if we get a snow day anyway. :)

    Reply
  • 12. Gretchen Noelle  |  December 20, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Too funny….a friend of mine just told me about this yesterday since I was telling her I was making lasagna. Now I see this here. Maybe it’s a sign. :)

    Reply
  • 13. Shira  |  December 21, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Looks delicious! I love Real Simple recipes–haven’t been disappointed yet! Good luck with your new job!

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  December 21, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    APRIL, LOL @ yummo! Definitely will check out your blog for some quick fixins. Thanks chicky!

    CRISTINE, Thanks!

    JOELEN, Exactly! Thats exactly what I loved about this recipe.

    MACDUFF, ::high five for fellow gift buying slacking::

    HEATHERB, RR is ok. I have to admit some of the her recipes I’ve tried aren’t that tasty so I am kinda skeptical. I can dig her quirky personality though. She must be doing something right. Highest paid food network personality (including endorsements).

    ZEBE, Ooohhh… I bet T would be down for some steak recipes. Thanks!

    KRISTEN, Yeah I have started looking into more crockpot recipes lately. Can’t beat that smell when you come home from a long day of work. Thanks for chicken taco recipe! I’ll have to try it!

    MARY, Assload huh? Define “assload”? HAHA

    GRETCHEN, Definitely a sign! Make it and let me know what you think!

    SHIRA, Thanks for GL!

    Reply
  • 15. Shari  |  December 21, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    This sounds quick, easy and delicious! Good luck with your new job!!

    Reply
  • 16. Jan  |  January 26, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    My daughter fixed this for a family dinner last weekend. I have to say Yummmmmmmmm ! It was great. And I got to take any leftovers home.

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  January 26, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    SHARI, Thank you!

    JAN, How cute! Glad you and the family enjoyed the recipe :)

    Reply
  • 18. Teresa  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:31 am

    I’ve tried this recipe with cheese and meat ravioli and it was great, too! I’ve also thrown in some Boca Crumbles and no one knew it wasn’t real beef! Tricked ‘em all!

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  February 10, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    TERESA, Ooohh I bet the meat and cheese rav was fabulous. Boca crumbles huh? Might have to see if I can find me some of that to taste test.

    Reply
  • 20. Last-minute Lasagna « jess and reed brubaker  |  March 12, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    [...] definitely make a healthier little meal. Looking around on the Internet it looked like a lot of other people had tried the recipe and had good success. Needless to say, I was excited to give it a [...]

    Reply
  • 21. Pat  |  April 21, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Do you layer the ravioli FROZEN or do you cook for 6 min. in another recipe I saw of yours, I believe. Would like to make this tomorrow night — could you please reply? 4/21/09

    Reply
  • 22. CB  |  April 21, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    PAT, For this recipe I used the refrigerated buitoni ravioli (not frozen). I did not cook it before I baked in oven. Hope that helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 219,615 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

