TWD #33: “I could put it in her brownie.”

October 7, 2008 at 12:04 am 63 comments

If you can accurately quote who says that line (actor or character name) and what show, you get a cookie. Ok you won’t get a cookie but I’ll be really impressed and bow down to your TV watching greatness.

Hint: Stuff White People Like.

I am not a tv person but that show was like a train wreck (in a good comedic drama way) that you just couldn’t stop watching even though every instinct said you should turn away. That family puts the diss in dysfunctional! HAHA. Oh man I miss that show. Here’s hoping for a movie reunion soon. ::crossing fingers::

As you’ve probably kinda guessed from my title… The TWD-nators baked up some brownies this week. Not just any brownies though. In typical Dorie fashion, this one fused 2 types of decadent desserts together: brownie-cake. Not only was it a 2for dessert, it had caramel. To say that I am a caramel addict would be putting it politely. I love caramel. Love, love love it! So you can imagine that I was ecstatic when Tammy of Wee Treats by Tammy chose this as her recipe. You can find the original recipe on her blog.

What I learned this week:
Making caramel is a delicate process. If you don’t cook it enough, it doesn’t have much flavor. If you cook it too long you risk burning it. If you cook it just right, its a tongue-gasm in your mouth!


Caramel-Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake
(Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)

To make the brownie cake—


Ooops. I forgot the parchment paper. Getting the cake out was touch and go for a bit but it eventually came out ok. Whew!


My cake sank in the middle but Dorie said it would happen so its all good.

To make caramel—


For my first caramel attempt, I didn’t cook it long enough so after I added the cream and butter it was a soupy mess so the 2nd time I took Dorie’s sound advice (Why didn’t I do it the first time??) about dropping a small amount against a white plate to compare colors. I used my creme brulee dish b/c it was the closest thing within my reach. Isn’t it crazy the difference in color and small time frame between the 4th and 5th drops? Yes. I know. I am a big fat pocket-protector-wearing nerd.


I served the brownie-cake up with some vanilla bean ice cream. Talk about died and gone to sugar high heaven. ::drool::

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He’s not a caramel addict like me. He thought the caramel was a bit too chewy for his own taste but he loved the brownie cake.

Wifey rating: A
Ditto hubs but reverse it. I thought the brownie cake was good but I LOVED that caramel. The salty peanuts were such a great compliment to the sweet caramel.

Other rating: A
I brought this over to a friend’s house for a little impromptu dinner invite and there were nothing but raves. It was only 6 of us but there were no leftovers. Good thing I decided not to half it huh?

Next week: Lenox Almond Biscotti, pages 141-143

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Cooking Light Night Photo Week – Taste

63 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  October 7, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Okay, I love that you have little sugar drops at regular intervals – what can I say, it appeals to the enginerd in me :) It looks fantastic, and I agree – the caramel was the best part.

    Reply
  • 2. Kristina  |  October 7, 2008 at 2:26 am

    Your cake looks beautiful and delicious!
    And, I believe that quote is from Arrested Development (Uncle Oscar/Jeffrey Tambor) Lolz

    Reply
  • 3. nickki  |  October 7, 2008 at 2:55 am

    Your cake looks so delicious! I have been super busy lately, so I haven’t found any time to make this yet. I am determined to make this today! :)

    Reply
  • 4. Kimberly  |  October 7, 2008 at 4:43 am

    Your cake looks fabulous!

    Reply
  • 5. Marthe  |  October 7, 2008 at 4:47 am

    Your cake looks fabulous!! I’ll be making it tonight, I hope mine will look as good as yours!!

    Reply
  • 6. isabelle  |  October 7, 2008 at 4:55 am

    moi aussi, je suis une fan de caramel…j’aime quand ça dégouline comme sur ta photo :)

    Reply
  • 7. foodlibrarian  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:18 am

    fantastic! this is the first time i did the “caramel dots on plate” and that was brilliant. oh, dorie. you rock again.

    Reply
  • 8. chocolatechic  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:33 am

    I loved this recipe.

    I didn’t bother with the white plate test since I have made caramel many times before.

    Oh…so…good!

    Reply
  • 9. pamela  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:35 am

    I served mine the same way, with the ice cream on the side. Brownie + Caramel + Peanuts + Vanilla Ice Cream = Out of this freakin’ world! My caramel looked a bit like yours while cooking. I think I stirred it and should have left it alone. I’m going to try again for sure!

    Reply
  • 10. mybakingaddiction  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Looks delicious, I love the caramel visual aid! I also served mine with ice cream! :)

    Reply
  • 11. Amanda  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:48 am

    I’m making mine today (my first TWD!) and have had a lot of fun reading everyone’s results. Yours looks fabulous and I love your step by step photos, thanks!

    Reply
  • 12. LyB  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:54 am

    I am so with you on the caramel, I LOVE IT! Drippy caramel pics are my favorites! :)

    Reply
  • 13. Melissa  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:01 am

    I had the same experience with the caramel – it took me about 15 minutes to get it to the right color. Yours looks perfect… mouthwatering, actually!

    Reply
  • 14. Mary Ann  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:13 am

    Yum! Yours looks so decadent and delicious! Wasn’t this a great one to share? Definitely a crowd pleaser!

    Reply
  • 15. nikki57  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Why must you torture me. I had read your whole post before that stupid link loaded and I could see that you were talking about Arrested Development. You know my internet at work is sucktastical. Geeze. Oh ya your brownie cake looks delish. Almost good enough for me to want to eat it even though it has the dreaded caramel on it

    Reply
  • 16. Michelle  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:31 am

    Your cake looks wonderful. I thought it tasted the best with ice cream!

    Reply
  • 17. Andrea  |  October 7, 2008 at 7:03 am

    Great job! Your cake looks perfect, and I love your caramel timing drops :) I’m glad this was such a hit for you and your hubby and friends!

    Reply
  • 18. Piggy  |  October 7, 2008 at 7:22 am

    I can imagine how delicious it is, chocolate cake with caramel and a scoop of vanilla ice cream! ;-)

    Reply
  • 19. Di  |  October 7, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Great job on the cake! I love that you actually tested the color of the caramel. =)

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  October 7, 2008 at 7:49 am

    KRISTINA, DING DING DING! Was that the funniest situation ever?? T and I were going around for days after that episode saying “I could put it in her brownie”. HAHA

    Reply
  • 21. Cathy  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:23 am

    I LOVE all of your step by step pictures! I sure could have used this caramel tutorial before diving into it myself and creating quite the train wreck. So glad that this cake was a big hit for you all! It seems like a lot of people thought this cake was dry (I sure did) — since you loved the topping, maybe you can find a chocolate cake you like better next time to top! Great post!

    Reply
  • 22. Amy (Sing for your supper)  |  October 7, 2008 at 9:00 am

    Wow – this looks great!!! *sigh* I’m so upset that mine didn’t turn out better – I should be raving about this recipe with everyone else!! Waaaaaaahh!! There’s always next time, I guess. :-)

    Reply
  • 23. rainbowbrown  |  October 7, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Dude. Arrested Development was FREAKING awesome. I feel no shame in being engulfingly enamored with that show. What were we talking about? Oh yeah, brownie cake. It was tasty, your looks superb!

    Reply
  • 24. Karen  |  October 7, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Looks delicious! I love your photos!

    Reply
  • 25. Jodie  |  October 7, 2008 at 9:36 am

    haha- my husband loves that show. Your cake looks good- much more brownie-like than mine!

    Reply
  • 26. macduff  |  October 7, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Oh good lord we are internet sisters. I watched a whole DVD of AD this weekend. Such good stuff. I love the mother.

    And I used to think that if they would make a retainer out of caramel, children would be less likely to lose them. Can’t get enough of that stuff.

    Your brownies look amazing. I need an insulin shot just looking at them.

    Reply
  • 27. Vibi  |  October 7, 2008 at 10:37 am

    WOW! What work you put into your page making… with all those pictures, must take you an eternity!
    The cake obviously look great (it was a bit too sweet for me) and I’m sure your bunnies enjoyed it! …oops, hubby! LOL
    Bravissimo!

    Reply
  • 28. Erin  |  October 7, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Yours looks great! I bet it was delicious with ice cream :) I love all the pictures you included in your post.

    Reply
  • 29. Jessica  |  October 7, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Your cake is beautiful.

    I too hope for a movie because “It’s anillusion, Michael! Tricks are what whores do for money!”

    Reply
  • 30. CB  |  October 7, 2008 at 11:57 am

    MACDUFF, I told you! Sistas from another mutha! The mother is a riot but I think my fav is Gob. I love that segway! HAHA. Now retainer made of caramel. I could totally get behind that but I have a feeling my dentist wouldn’t. What a buzzkill.

    JESSICA, HAHAHA. Its so true. Gob is genius.

    Reply
  • 31. Rachel  |  October 7, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Cake looks fab and I don’t need a hint. The show is Arrested Development, a fave in the Tangerine-Tart home. xoxo

    Reply
  • 32. Rachel  |  October 7, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    OOPS! The charactor was Tobias. Where’s my cookie prize?

    Reply
  • 33. CB  |  October 7, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    RACHEL, it SO was NOT Tobias. No cookie for you!

    Reply
  • 34. Rachel  |  October 7, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Oh boo. I was wrong. Just read the comments and now I remember! Doh.

    Reply
  • 35. 27susans  |  October 7, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Best in show – your cake and Arrested Development.

    I think that phrase probably originated on All in the Family when Edith served dry brownies to Meat Head.

    Reply
  • 36. Erin  |  October 7, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    I love all the step by step, plus the caramel droplets. It is amazing the difference between a huge minutes. I love making caramel and it always comes out a little different. This is the first time I made one that was so chewy-I want to use it for candy making over the holidays.

    Reply
  • 37. pinkstripes  |  October 7, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I love Arrested Development. Too bad it got cancelled. :(

    Your caramel looks perfect. Overall, I thought this recipe was so-so. Not throw away in the garbage, but not over the top ecstasy.

    Reply
  • 38. Rebecca  |  October 7, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Arrested Development, and that looks awesome. Yessss to the caramel drips.

    Reply
  • 39. lemontartlet  |  October 7, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    How do you make your pics look just like the ones Dorie has? You a re a food pron genius woman. *holds up her butterscotch sauce to keep away the caramel sauce*

    Reply
  • 40. Carol Peterman  |  October 7, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Great illustration on how caramel can change in the matter of one minute. Can’t walk away during this task.

    Reply
  • 41. Tammy  |  October 7, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    I had to make my caramel twice as well. your cake looks great!! I am so pleased you enjoyed my pick!

    Reply
  • 42. Fit Chick  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Sorry I got you mixed up with Tammy, LOL. Your cake looks delicious, great pictures. I always make my own caramel and yours looks very good!

    Reply
  • 43. Isa  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    No idea who said that quote! Anyway, the cake looks delicious, specially with the ice cream on the side!! =)

    Reply
  • 44. kamaile  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Another fabulous looking Dorie recipe. Looks kind of like snickers in cake form. The photo with the caramel at different stages was very educational. :)

    Reply
  • 45. Mike  |  October 7, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Well it looks like I’m not the only nerd here who understands the glory of Arrested Development. I’m intrigued by the idea of having a tongue-gasm in my mouth, btw.

    Reply
  • 46. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Looks perfect! I wish mine had tasted yummy. BTW, I finished Breaking Dawn (but didn’t even start Host).

    Reply
  • 47. CB  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    HOLLY, …and?? What did you think?? Did you just love it or what?? Team Edward baby!

    Reply
  • 48. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    i love AD. i have had a ginormous crush on jason bateman for pretty much most of my life.

    looks delicious, and i love the sugar to caramel side-by-side!

    Reply
  • 49. Lady Baker  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:22 am

    I missed out on this weeks concoction–but hope to circle back to it soon–and I appreciate that “caramel-meter” you made on the brulee dish! I am going to need it, that whole process seems very tricky from what I’m reading this week!

    Reply
  • 50. Lady Baker  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:25 am

    PS: I posted too soon–forgot to add the most important part–Arrested Development is one of MY VERY FAVORITE shows!!!
    “There is money in the banana stand!!”

    Reply
  • 51. Mari  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:48 am

    I’m glad that I’m not the only one who finds making caramel an intimidating process! You did a fab job, though! Well done!

    Reply
  • 52. Teanna  |  October 8, 2008 at 7:23 am

    The caramel was SO good, wasn’t it?? I love your visual of the time testing! It looks great!

    Reply
  • 53. Laura  |  October 8, 2008 at 7:26 am

    OMG – your cake looks soooo good in that bowl with the ice cream! Beautiful job!

    Reply
  • 54. kim  |  October 8, 2008 at 8:54 am

    your cake looks so delicious!! man, that picture with the ice cream is just over the top :)

    Reply
  • 55. Liliana  |  October 8, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Your cake looks amazing! Great photos! Hope I have better luck making the caramel than I had making the cake!

    Reply
  • 56. Kelly D  |  October 8, 2008 at 11:17 am

    CB – I can’t believe you managed to get all those photos of the caramel. I was too stressed out by that. Looks great.

    Reply
  • 57. Heather Peskin  |  October 8, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    That’s a beautiful even looking cake. Great job and good for you for doing the caramel twice. I too loved the caramel best. It’s fantastic how many things one learns with this TWD group.

    Reply
  • 58. Heather B  |  October 8, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    I love your step by steps! I needed them before I made mine!

    Reply
  • 59. Jaime  |  October 8, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    mmmm i am a caramel lover too!! great job w/the cake – i love the drops on the creme brulee dish :)

    Reply
  • 60. Gretchen Noelle  |  October 9, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Very nice job with this cake! I love your caramel drops!

    Reply
  • 61. Shari  |  October 10, 2008 at 10:31 am

    I love your photo of the sugar syrup at different stages!! You rock!

    Reply
  • 62. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  October 11, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Great step-by-steps! Your cake is perfection. Glad you loved it. Wasn’t that caramel amazing? I ate it by the spoonful for days.

    Reply
  • [...] whose blog I took this from has another blog, and she had some tips and pictures there as well. Here you [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 220,077 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

