Peppery Brown Sugar Salmon

September 22, 2008 at 5:49 pm 6 comments

I had every intention of making spaghetti for dinner tonight.

Simple. Tasty. Boring…

But I guess one good thing about getting a new frig is it forced me to clean out my old frig. Its almost like xmas when you find food in the back of your freezer that you didn’t realize you had. I made sure when I restocked my new freezer, I put those forgotten salmon filets front and center so I could find them again.

After seeing fellow TWD baker, Rebecca of Ezra Pound Cake‘s recent salmon dish and reading her rave reviews, I quickly made a mental supper switch!

Before I committed I had to make sure I had all the ingredients though.

Salmon. Check.
Brown sugar. Check.
Onion powder. Check.
Black pepper. Check.
Butta. Check.
Lemon pepper seasoning. Ah crap.

But leave it to my wiki-tastic friend, Nikki, to find me a lemon pepper substitute solution. Instead of lemon pepper seasoning, I used zest from 1 lemon and rubbed it into 1/2 tsp pepper with my fingers. I am not a huge pepper fan so I omitted the other 1/4 tsp pepper. If you dont have lemon pepper seasoning, don’t let it stop you from making this salmon dish. Give my substitution a try!

Oh man. That homemade lemon pepper smelled so good. Something about lemon zest that makes me all happy. Its like sunshine in my kitchen.

Peppery Brown Sugar Salmon


(Recipe from Ezra Pound Cake | photos from me!)

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS

1-1/2 pounds salmon fillets (bones removed)
3 tablespoons brown sugar, packed
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper seasoning
1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper (I omitted)
1 tablespoon butter, melted

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Pat the salmon fillets dry. Brush with melted butter. Combine the seasonings in a small bowl and mix. Sprinkle the seasonings over the salmon, and press down gently.

On a lightly greased baking sheet, bake for 20-25 minutes. Line the sheet with foil for easy cleanup. (I served with parmesan asparagus and brown rice.)

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A+
My hubs isn’t a salmon fan (maybe thats why it was hidden in the freezer abyss huh?) but he raved the whole time. Its definitely going on the must-make-again-soon list.

Wifey rating: A+
Ohmygod. I admit I had reservations about lemon and brown sugar but trust me. Try it. You’ll be eating your words (literally!) and droooling for more. That brown sugar caramelization is FREAKING yumtastic!

Entry filed under: seafood. Tags: .

Bunday Monday TWD #31: “A child is a curly, dimpled lunatic.”

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nikki  |  September 22, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    I don’t like salmon, but that lemon pepper sounds delish! What would you do without me?

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  September 22, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    NIKKI, you and your seafood hating palate! Whats wrong with you?? How can we be friends if you hate seafood? It aint right…

    Reply
  • 3. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  September 22, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    I just book marked this to try. I am a seafood hater too, but I want to learn to like it. Looks great! I never have lemon pepper, but I think I would rather have your sub anyway! Way to go Alice! ;)

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  September 22, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    HOLLY, you too?? Nooooo… I might try it with lemon pepper seasoning next time but my sub was fun to make too. Do try it! You might change your seafood hating ways. For me, Bella?? ;)

    Reply
  • 5. Suze  |  September 23, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Salmon is my favorite..but I’ve yet to be able to cook it at home well. I saw this recipe on EP yesterday and printed it out! Can’t wait to make it!!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  September 23, 2008 at 9:43 am

    SUZE, Oh definitely try it! That brown sugar caramelization is so gooooooood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 219,238 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

